Review: Introducing the Hon-takdak. Err.. I mean the hondata.

yes s300j.

since ure already ahead, i got few questions wanna ask you in the parameters section :

(a) Gear Comp : how do u set the fuel and ignition compensation based on the gearing?

(b) TPS : can i run map for primary map and secondary for tps ? or both has to be map or tps only?

(c) Fuel Trim : what does that mean in cylinder fuel trim? to add/deduct in a lump sum?

yes s300j.

since ure already ahead, i got few questions wanna ask you in the parameters section :

(a) Gear Comp : how do u set the fuel and ignition compensation based on the gearing?

(b) TPS : can i run map for primary map and secondary for tps ? or both has to be map or tps only?

(c) Fuel Trim : what does that mean in cylinder fuel trim? to add/deduct in a lump sum?

The Gear Comp means that after you set your ratios in the SManager, you can have bigger retard or advance or more fuel or less depending on gear ratio. The gear ratio is calculated by hondata from the VSS and RPM. I leave it as stock. I believe it's for us to set aggresive settings for our fuel and ignition, then as knock occurs depending on gear load, we can retard or add fuel to our needs. Obviously, since I'm relying on Innovate's MTS to observe my changes, it's a bit time consuming, which is why I'm leaving this for last.

As for the cylinder fuel trim, I'm leaving it as stock because I cannot measure individual cylinder AFR. My 2nd cylinder is running slightly leaner than the other 3, but I think it's because of my injectors being old. Probably going to have to change them soon.

What it does it remove fuel from certain cylinders that may be running richer than the others, due to slight differences in flow capacities of each cylinder, depending on % of blowby that happens on each cylinder due to various factors including cylinder sealing.

I'm not sure at the moment if positive is removing fuel or not, I'm planning to ask in the hondata forums when I have the ability to measure individual cylinder AFRs. Another way is by using the EGT sensor, but I have only one probe, and Auxbox allows only 1 channel ATM, and my thermocouple isn't long enough to measure the other cyclinders other than the one closes to where I wire it out to from the firewall (in this case, cyclinder one).

I'm running with higher EGTs, since it seems like I'm getting better performance out of it.. around 850C. I believe I can go up to 900C or more, with the risk of heating up the head, inducing knock, but so far 1 hour + of running doesn't seem to affect anything adversely, other than higher underhood temps... My IAT measures about 57c in the hondata, which I don't believe is that accurate (innovate manuals mentions why this is so) but it gives a ballpark number.

The only setting I think you should play with is the IAT temp compensation, as I find that for mine, the temp compensation retards my ignition a bit early on really hot days, which is not really good for performance (I think it's due to the weather there, the stock settings starts to retard about 3 degs around 40-50C (based on the IAT sensor), which is roughly the norm here. Currently I'm still tuning it bit by bit, observing changes and results, but I'm currently using it to retard my ignition on really hot days to prevent excessive knock, so I can have bigger advances on cold days for better performance without worrying about hot days. So far, it seems to work. My ignition advance numbers can't be relied on though, as I omitted the initial timing setup, so I can quote numbers, but I think it'll probably be off by 1-2 degs. But at this particular moment in time, with the stock B16A, I'm running about 28 degs advance at full throttle at 8K, with a AFR of 12.8.

It's a work in progress, so it will change as I learn more about it.

shiroi,

thats what i thought. they could be using the additional aux box to measure each cylinder since innovate do use daisy chain connection instead of using 1 box only.

on the OPTION bar, SETTINGS, WIDEBAND LAMDA, did u set to INNOVATE /voltage lambda conversion setting since ure using LM1 or ure using innovate software to datalog? how does the datalog looks like for the AFR if u happen to calibrate both hondata and innovate? i have not seen any screenshots before for that kind of calibration.

What it does it remove fuel from certain cylinders that may be running richer than the others, due to slight differences in flow capacities of each cylinder, depending on % of blowby that happens on each cylinder due to various factors including cylinder sealing.

I'm not sure at the moment if positive is removing fuel or not, I'm planning to ask in the hondata forums when I have the ability to measure individual cylinder AFRs. Another way is by using the EGT sensor, but I have only one probe, and Auxbox allows only 1 channel ATM, and my thermocouple isn't long enough to measure the other cyclinders other than the one closes to where I wire it out to from the firewall (in this case, cyclinder one).

It's a work in progress, so it will change as I learn more about it.

shiroi,

thats what i thought. they could be using the additional aux box to measure each cylinder since innovate do use daisy chain connection instead of using 1 box only.

on the OPTION bar, SETTINGS, WIDEBAND LAMDA, did u set to INNOVATE /voltage lambda conversion setting since ure using LM1 or ure using innovate software to datalog? how does the datalog looks like for the AFR if u happen to calibrate both hondata and innovate? i have not seen any screenshots before for that kind of calibration.

It's not an Auxbox, but a thermistor amplifier.. since the thermistor outputs in milivolts. The four thermistor box is called the TC-4. Thinking about getting it, but well, still a lot of other things to do with the car for now, and for me at least, reading the plugs and compression leakdown test probably is enough to find out which cylinder is giving problems. (thought at this point in time, I think that I'm rapidly approaching to limits of a B16A stock engine output).. at least without resorting to any parts mods. I think the TC4 will be the only way I can log four EGTs in one go, because the longest thermistor wire seems to be like 6' only... and unless you fancy wires running though your engine bay and looking like a rats nest, I think the TC-4 will be a required upgrade, as it can be mounted on the firewall, and it will be closer to the headers.

Currently I'm using innovate datalog for AFR.. though I am wiring the D14 pin as well. One thing that hondata lacks is proper navigation for their datalog. For an hour long datalog, trying to track down the exact rpm where the knock spike occurs isn't so friendly.. for short runs, this is not a problem, as the graph isn't compressed tightly. The LM-1 will show a knock spike as a lean reading, but it could be a misfire, so that's where the P30 knock board comes in handy.. though I'm going to get a headphone amp sometime to try and identify the sound with a DIY microphone knock amp... I'm not sure if it'll even work, but I'm going to try anyway. heh.

Well, this is software issue, so maybe they'll come out with a new version or something for better userfriendly datalog GUI. So far, I'm getting around that by using the export to CSV, then reading it in MS Excel. For all intents and purposes though.. the RPM readout is reliable, and you can compare hondata RPM readout with innovate, as they are 100% same. So you can read the AFR from LM-1, and not worry that 7500rpm does not equate to hondata's 7500rpm. They don't read voltages, rather they read frequency, so it's spot on. The D14 pin AFR reference will come in handy when you do part throttle tune. For full throttle, since I'm using the Innovate MTS to measure power output differences, I don't connect the D14pin, and use hondata to monitor for knock and other parameters not logged by the Auxbox.

If you use the D14pin, you will need to set the voltage reference from the pull down list, and if you plugged the wideband o2 sensor into the narrowband sensor bung (AND REMOVE THE NARROWBAND completely), you will need to disable 02 heater circuit option so it doesn't throw a heater open CEL. I'm using the exhaust clamp, so obviously I retained my narrowband sensor. There is an article about it in Honda Tuning, but they neglected to mention that if you retain your narrowband sensor, then you have a bit more work in wiring the D14, and you will need to have a bullet connector so you can disable the signal from the narrowband input. In that article, they removed the narrowband completely, so they did not have to use use a bullet connector on the jumper harness because there is no voltage coming form the narrowband sensor signal wire.

You will use the analogue output from the innovate wideband to output the voltage.. one is a narrowband sensor simulator (in case you are running piggyback but removed your stock 02 sensor) and the other is a 0-2V, which the hondata already has a chart for, and it will read the full range of LM-1 AFR correctly. You can even wire the analogue output to an AFR meter (there's two analogue outs, so obviously you need to program one for the meter so that it reads the full range AFR.. (so that even the normal AFR meters can actually read the full range)
There will be no difference in readouts, but since these are electrical voltage referenced, you just need to make sure that the wiring isn't done too poorly that the voltage that hondata gets from the D14 pin is significantly less than what LM-1 outputs out. If the LM-1 outputs out 1V, but hondata D14 pin gets 0.84V, obviously there will be differences in the readout of the AFR on the Hondata. Since I solder my connections, obviously this is not a problem for me, and I did check the resistance before turning everything on, my readings are spot on.

Well.. if you need futher help, I can post photoes if you're stuck, but it'll take a while, since I'm using my backup PC, as my other PC is out, and I'll need to install the camera drivers, etc. etc. to get it working.

If you want the datalogs.. yeah.. I have them but not with the AFR graph, and I'll post them this weekend, once I do a run and log the AFR through the D14 pin.

oh yeah.. running open loop gets more throttle response at low rpms.. but fuel consumption goes to hell. :P

shiroi
im actually digesting eveything that you have written since page 1 and do my own googling. paragraph 2 talking abt knock is something im very much aware. im not sure if by doing a DIY amplifier would help detecting knock but it would be best if you can get a mini monitor or light indicator which i believe they do sell on the net. u might want to compare your EGT if you reckoned u can detect the knock spike and see the comparison. (yes if u have pic of this i would be glad to see it)

i got a quotation the other day on the innovate products regarding the exhaust bung and exhaust clamp. arent they both the same? around rm420ish

i got a question (based on p30 ecu), if you go to tables and do a high-speed comparison with ignition and fuel, both high-speed, click duty cycle, notice the high speed ignition table map, they are very low compared to the high speed fuel map estimate duty cycle. why is that?

at the moment i cant share anything real-life since i cant fool around and comment on any setting. im trying to get all the terms and terminology right before venturing into it when the day comes. i have seen some basic what-to-do in HT, it helps or rather and gave me some idea on what to do. :hmmmm:

shiroi
im actually digesting eveything that you have written since page 1 and do my own googling. paragraph 2 talking abt knock is something im very much aware. im not sure if by doing a DIY amplifier would help detecting knock but it would be best if you can get a mini monitor or light indicator which i believe they do sell on the net. u might want to compare your EGT if you reckoned u can detect the knock spike and see the comparison. (yes if u have pic of this i would be glad to see it)

i got a quotation the other day on the innovate products regarding the exhaust bung and exhaust clamp. arent they both the same? around rm420ish

i got a question (based on p30 ecu), if you go to tables and do a high-speed comparison with ignition and fuel, both high-speed, click duty cycle, notice the high speed ignition table map, they are very low compared to the high speed fuel map estimate duty cycle. why is that?

at the moment i cant share anything real-life since i cant fool around and comment on any setting. im trying to get all the terms and terminology right before venturing into it when the day comes. i have seen some basic what-to-do in HT, it helps or rather and gave me some idea on what to do. :hmmmm:

The thing is, the P30 knock board seems to do this a lott better, so much so I'm tempted to turn it off. It keeps retarding my ignition the moment the knock sensor detects knock (or what it thinks to be knock).

What do you mean you can't fool around and comment on any setting? You're doing it as work, or hobby? Well, if you can't share with me, then it going to hamper understanding of the hondata unit. There's so much function and it would be easier if findings are shared rather than not.

The high speed ignition map has the low speed tables so that you can engage the vtec earlier, and the map will have mapping for them even if vtec doesn't disengage past that point.. because you can also have a variable vtec point in hondata, so those mapping do have it's uses, because when running variable vtec point, the vtec may not be turned off even after rev ranges fall past the vtec engagement point, so instead of referring to the low cam map, it refers the high cam map.

mine, I just deleted it and used it for finer resolution for the higher end of the map. Although my mapping is up to 10K, I'm still limited my rev limit to 8.. :P

Well... the exhaust clamp I got from the prev LM-1 unit (when they still made them white).

>The thing is, the P30 knock board seems to do this a lott better, so much >so I'm tempted to turn it off. It keeps retarding my ignition the moment the >knock sensor detects knock (or what it thinks to be knock).
what did u do when that happens? increase the ignition maps or reduce fueling?

>What do you mean you can't fool around and comment on any setting? >You're doing it as work, or hobby? Well, if you can't share with me, then it >going to hamper understanding of the hondata unit. There's so much >function and it would be easier if findings are shared rather than not.
i cant share real life settings koz like i said that day, i havent got the hondata unit yet. he he. im fooling around offline lar bro. yours is realtime now. dun worry le, i sure share..heh

>The high speed ignition map has the low speed tables so that you can >engage the vtec earlier, and the map will have mapping for them even if >vtec doesn't disengage past that point.. because you can also have a >variable vtec point in hondata, so those mapping do have it's uses, because >when running variable vtec point, the vtec may not be turned off even after >rev ranges fall past the vtec engagement point, so instead of referring to >the low cam map, it refers the high cam map.
brilliant. now i see the difference.

>Well... the exhaust clamp I got from the prev LM-1 unit (when they still
> made them white.
i need to ask them again, prolly they wrote it twice for the exhaust clamp/bung.

Well, I am a bit busy today, so didn't log with the D14 yet, but here's one from my last tune on thursday in the LM-1, 2nd gear pull for the AFR readout, power readout usually I do in third, This is my final setting for now, until I mod some more things in.

>The thing is, the P30 knock board seems to do this a lot better, so much so I'm tempted to turn it off. It keeps retarding my ignition the moment the knock sensor detects knock (or what it thinks to be knock).
what did u do when that happens? increase the ignition maps or reduce fueling?

Well, if it's just a bit.. I ignore it.. kind of depends on the ambient temp I'm getting.. if it's a hot day, maybe retard it one to two degrees, depending on the amount of knock. My AFR graph is really straight, so I just mess with the ignition to get the power I want. So far I'm still not satisfied with the 7-8K power at WOT, but I think I might have some issues that needs looking into.. see those tiny spikes at those points while the others are smooth? Hmm.. still figuring out what causes it. My friend says maybe one (or more) of my injectors is suffering blockage, so probably going to get them cleaned and flow tested by the end of this month, and then do a last tune that's slightly more aggresive before throwing it on a dyno and seeing the gains (or loss... haha) over from my baseline run with my stock B16A. I know there's probably deviation, but one thing's for sure, I want to see if my torque has been substantially increased on the lower end by running aggresive timings.

>What do you mean you can't fool around and comment on any setting? >You're doing it as work, or hobby? Well, if you can't share with me, then it >going to hamper understanding of the hondata unit. There's so much >function and it would be easier if findings are shared rather than not.
i cant share real life settings koz like i said that day, i havent got the hondata unit yet. he he. im fooling around offline lar bro. yours is realtime now. dun worry le, i sure share..heh

Okay.. There's so much to play with, I'm not even sure how long it will take. Having another guy to share findings with will make things so much faster.

The ignition and fuel compensation will be a useful feature, as on hot days, we can actually specify changes throughout the maps without resorting to loading a new map. It will take ages to set, but I see the potential in having an aggresive tune even for a daily driver.

>The high speed ignition map has the low speed tables so that you can >engage the vtec earlier, and the map will have mapping for them even if >vtec doesn't disengage past that point.. because you can also have a >variable vtec point in hondata, so those mapping do have it's uses, because >when running variable vtec point, the vtec may not be turned off even after >rev ranges fall past the vtec engagement point, so instead of referring to >the low cam map, it refers the high cam map.
brilliant. now i see the difference.
Well.. still figuring out what function the variable vtec point plays.. I think it's for track cars, so that in the event they drop move revs during braking than they should, the car won't drop out of vtec, but well.. it's still a gray area for me.. I stick with a static vtec point.

>Well... the exhaust clamp I got from the prev LM-1 unit (when they still
> made them white.
i need to ask them again, prolly they wrote it twice for the exhaust clamp/bung.
But the exhaust clamp isn't such a good purchase, unless you're tuning other cars as well.
just get one of those straight pipe cat replacements with the bung already on it. it's probably cheaper too. Or replace the narrowband 02 with the wideband straightaway.

*the log I'll post later.. it's in the notebook and I'm on the desktop now.. and I can't seem to remember where I put my pendrive.

as promised, here are the logs.......

hope you find them helpful J101.. it does show pretty interesting things though.. like what my 0-100 acceleration looks like.. heh.

Stock Y21 g/box, in case you want to use the LM-1 math calcs.

Actually there's more things you can do with hondata.

I did a few test applications and even recorded some vids.. but they're like 35MB.. going to convert it to something smaller. Let's just say in involves bluetooth and remote tuning. heh. Imagine if I can get around to having a radio transmitter.. hehe.. F1 telemetry, watch out!

Remember that hondata can be tuned in realtime :P

Also the video overlay function is being worked on.

Fun stuff to play with.

[youtube]xeAh_v7DF-A[/youtube]

Well.. finally played with the video overlay.. here is the result...

Heh.. couldn't resist but experiment with the video editing program.

Oh.. Launch control update..
http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j260/5H1R01T3N5H1/8f8bb07d.jpg

nice post. u haven't post the graph if vtec engage too early & too late one....

Ok.. as requested, an update.

Hondata has released the new version of SManager.
Version 1.3.0
New features
1) Lean protection (Used with a permanent Wideband 02 sensor setup)
Safeguards against injector failures, lean readings will cause the engine check light and limp mode (which can be set to whatever rpm you like)

2) Overheating protection
Kind of lame, because in most cases, by the time the overheating is apparent, the damage has been done (most of the time anyway)

3) Wideband AFRs settings are now appended into hondata internal datalogging,
or something like that, so you can datalog with different AFR meters and still compare readings (as I understand it.)

Still waiting for that speed correction based on tire sizes. I requested it, but they said it'll take time.

Seems like the originator/proponent of crome/uberdata has some issues with hondata. Mike Blundar or something, I think his name was.

Something about hondata code being present in crome/uberdata... not sure of the details though, so I could be wrong on this.

That's it for today.. sambung tido.

What gear based correction setting should be used? (or what are you using) - 1st & 2nd gear WOT AFR should be leaner that 3rd gear, assumming the engine is tuned in 3rd gear. And how does the S300 setting for this work anyway?

sorry never noticed the question

From what I can understand from it.
the gear correction setting has no apparent use for adjusting WOT AFR for NA setups, because the load on each gear will reflect on the Manifold Air Pressure. What it is useful for is to enable the tuner to run a slightly richer AFR for third gear when running boost, or when using the two-step/staged boost control.

So, instead of having only MAP sensor reading from the load indexes, you can use the gearing as a factor in controlling the fuelling too. It's just an added flexibility, but I don't think it's really necessary to adjust them unless you're having issue of knocking or lean AFRs on that gearing only (I've never encountered this, so I'm not sure how it can occur for you)

Another Hondata Tip
Another addition, for those who installed Wideband in their car full time, and connecting it to the hondata, the D14 input can accept 5V, so instead of having the analog output outputting only 2V max (innovate LM-1) you can use 5V analog output emulation (use LM-1 programmer) for better resolution when reading AFR on the lambda trace.

using the 2V usually results in a not so accurate AFR due to sub 1V fluctuations.

I think this should work on crome setups as well, as they're quite similar, except for the video output datalog, and also Lean and overheat protection.. and probably some other features I haven't tested past version 1.3.0.

I also made a display for the new hondata display (the latest version is 1.3.8, still haven't messed with all the new features yet)

Still haven't fully finished with it, but love the new digital display feature they made. now with actual gauges.. :P

nice article bro.. i like this hondata on my 2 litre setup...
hope my mech can done it for me...
love to read ur article....

thanx man...