Safer in Espace or Discovery ?

MeraBoy

Make a wild guess- is it safer in Espace or Discovery ?
Watch the vid below where Fifth Gear is staging a crash test between a Land Rover Discovery, and a Renault Espace to see how safe you are in both vehicle.
[youtube]GEBC9PbjPv4[/youtube]
*quality is a bit blur-can't help it.

Must watch--Megane real crash test by real man:
[youtube]S6DHokMIhWo[/youtube]
no wonder, it earned 5 stars rating!

come on maann...

we cant come here and jot something after seeing a 2 year old clips?

we can do better that that, can we?

but, again, the espace like said last nite, is a 5 star NCAAP rating vehicle.

i saw tat also on tv but it's only applicable for new espace. they crash old espace into the new espace, the old one did far worse...

In real life, there's no such thing as which car is safer. Its which driver is less reckless. Remember Lady D? she was in a most safest (as claim by mercedes) mercedes car but yet what have happen. You can give a Humvee to reckless driver and yet he can get himself kill by an instant.

Lopot,

If you talk of extreme situations such as that, then of course it will be non-survivable in any car, for example, a big trailer ramming into your car.

But all things being equal, I would rather be in a Merc than a Proton. I have seen plenty of instances of Mercs being involved in bad accidents which would have severely injured or possibly killed the occupants had it been a lesser car.

Heck I was in a Merc once when some idiot in a Saga rear-ended us at the lights. The fool was on the handphone. We got out to check the damage. The Saga's front is crumpled and his radiator leaking. As for the Merc...just a 5 inch crack on the rear bumper. I still have a copy of the police report.

I also saw a kid who totalled his dad's Merc near my house when he lost control and ram a tree. Left front tyre was dislodged (he ram the tree on at the Left-Front). Front suspension parts everywhere. The engine was lying to one side, complete write-off but the cockpit was intact. As for the kid (some idiot probably about 18 years old), he was shit scared and had bruises from seatbelt burn but otherwise OK.

There's a reason why people pay more to have cars like Mercs and Volvos.

Lopot,
But all things being equal, I would rather be in a Merc than a Proton. ...
There's a reason why people pay more to have cars like Mercs and Volvos.
agreed...we do need some benchmark/datum when comparing 2 cars, that's why EuroNCAP, IIHS of US & JNCAP get into the picture. Of course, in real life, things may not be the same as in the lab. Over the years, fr. the feed back of the tests, cars are generally safer than b4.

come on maann...
we cant come here and jot something after seeing a 2 year old clips?
we can do better that that, can we?
but, again, the espace like said last nite, is a 5 star NCAAP rating vehicle.
if the info is useful, not 2 yrs, even 5 yrs also is relevant, i dun find this info in ZTH, even "ravingill" just watched it few days ago on 78.
For comparison: Espace 2003-5 stars; Discovery 3 2006-4 stars--> see the point.
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/woqvwc0/EuroNCAPEspace2003.jpg

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/tukj0etw/EuroNCAPLRD32006.jpg

Noticed that lack of emphasis on safety issue in the car industry here. If not at least ABS and/or Airbags shld be Standard rather than Optional in the package. Like Taiwan (where the car mag editor commented), generally the emphasis is on the accessory as compared to Europe. Hope that we all take safety items into consideration when getting our next car.
That's why i would prefer to get a 2nd hand car within my budget which have at least 2 airbags & ABS.
Nissan Primera wagon 1998:
http://imageshock.eu/img/L4-2007-06-03_31.jpg
EuroNCAP : 3 stars only.
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/2w1u32nb/EuroNCAPP111997.jpg

come on....the Disco was the 1st model and not the latest one. the reason they comducted the test is to see whether buying an old 7 seater SUV is better or is it worth to buyi a newer MPV.

you all didnt listen to the presenter kah? haiyoo...

come on....the Disco was the 1st model and not the latest one. the reason they comducted the test is to see whether buying an old 7 seater SUV is better or is it worth to buyi a newer MPV.
you all didnt listen to the presenter kah? haiyoo...
yes, zan u r right-- comparison of old suv and new mpv.
since they dun crash using the Disco 3, actual result is not available; but "in relative", we can compare using the individual EuroNCAP results as in the belows, cos all of the cars are subject to the same crash condition, which means the result is more objective rather subjective: (personnal choice :i prefer Espace than Disco 3)
For comparison: Espace 2003-5 stars; Discovery 3 2006-4 stars--> see the point.
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/woqvwc0/EuroNCAPEspace2003.jpg

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/tukj0etw/EuroNCAPLRD32006.jpg