How To Launch??

type_one

All Drag seefu's..

What is the right way of "launching" a car?
I understand that launch technique may vary from one car to another, and it also might be a "secret" some of you may not want to share.. But for the benefit of us who knows little about this, and may want to improve our driving skills a little bit more.....Care to share??
i.e. ideal rpm for diff engines, some may use the handbrake, clutch dumping.etc... HELP!!

car weight, tyres, clutch..its all variable from car to car...the best way is try and error ur own car ....

i'm not a sifu but just wanna share...
actually it depen on few factor such as ur clutch, tyre, displacement.
for normal clutch u can play with half-clutch technique.. but not recommended for those using super single.
if ur traction is very good u can launch at high rpm.
different engine require different launch rpm. but u can control the spin by not simply full throtle during the launching...
n actually u can feel when ur car din have any traction, u can release a bit ur throtle n floor it again when u can feel the traction.. aisey... its very hard to describe laaa....
frequent practise is required....

My launching skills also very bad.. but sharing what I learnt from more 'experienced' people.

But this is for cars not using racing clutch, I think..

1) Pull handbrake.
2) Rev up to desired launch RPM,
3) Let off the clutch until you feel the rear springs compressing to the limits of your traction. (you're trying to make sure the rear springs are preloaded for some extra push, I think) I think this is the half-clutch technique hatttech mentioned.
4) Let go the clutch and handbrake to launch.

From what I've tried.. the speed you let go of the clutch and how well you control the throttle will ensure you get the most out of your tires grip.

Easier said than done so far, I'm still practicing when I get the chance. My launching skills is very very bad.. (O_o)

Oh.. from what I've tried, lower tire pressures gets me more grip, and overheating the tires will also reduce traction.

what RPM will be the best launching point for standard B16A??? TQ!

All Drag seefu's..

What is the right way of "launching" a car?
I understand that launch technique may vary from one car to another, and it also might be a "secret" some of you may not want to share.. But for the benefit of us who knows little about this, and may want to improve our driving skills a little bit more.....Care to share??
i.e. ideal rpm for diff engines, some may use the handbrake, clutch dumping.etc... HELP!!

bro... preparing 4 sepang i c. haha! anyway thanks 2 bro shiro 4 always providing good info. but i agree... it's hard to describe actually.

Haha.. Sepang?? no lah.. severely unskilled for any sort of racing...!! But if there's anyone who wants to race trolleys at the supermarket, bring it on!! HEHE...
Thanks everybody for the tips..will try whenever possible.. but now clutch needs replacing, tires need replacing... Sigh.......

Shiro, Hattech : Then how different would it be to launch if i'm running a racing clutch?? TQ TQ!!

therotically is not advisable, but if u need practically u can call hattech for training n marking purpose!!! muaa ha haa haa please remember, practice make perfect!!!!

Good point avan... practice until u can beat hattech, then u graduated loh...

woit... making funny again aaa...
i'm agent only... agensi cari jodoh... but some kind of charity job... haha

after reading this thread... sure ramai will practice 2nite. don't miss gear tho. hehehe! bro shiro... provide some info of shift point plz. =)

Haha.. Sepang?? no lah.. severely unskilled for any sort of racing...!! But if there's anyone who wants to race trolleys at the supermarket, bring it on!! HEHE...
Thanks everybody for the tips..will try whenever possible.. but now clutch needs replacing, tires need replacing... Sigh.......

Shiro, Hattech : Then how different would it be to launch if i'm running a racing clutch?? TQ TQ!!

I dunno how hattech does it.. but from my experiencelah..

If using racing clutch.. you will need to rev up to the point where your torque is enough to overcome the tires grip a bit, so they spin a bit and then you use your throttle to regain traction.. Or else, letting off the clutch resulted in a lag as the engine become bogs a bit before going of. Remember racing clutch doesn't grip gradually like organics or normal clutches.. it's either all, or nothing, so if you launch at too low an RPM, it will be slower than you simply waiting for the green light and whacking full throttle.

The launch RPM is subjective due to certain factors like your engine torque, and your tires grip.

Higher grip tires means you can launch at higher rpm, where the engine torque is usually higher.

after reading this thread... sure ramai will practice 2nite. don't miss gear tho. hehehe! bro shiro... provide some info of shift point plz. =)
Hmm.. shift points ah.. got what to say ah? you shift too fast, you will misshift or sometimes get excessive wheelspin on 2nd, if you car very 'powderful', then you notice that your competitor has caught up to you while you spun your tires in 2nd, even though you had a better launch than him..

The use of a lighter flywheel helps in terms of making the rev drops faster to the beginning rev of each gear.. that enables you to shift faster (without needing to wait for the rev to drop to the correct rpm to reduce wheelspin. (If your tires is very grippy, then this is not a problem)...

I just noticed this fact, that with a lightweight flywheel, I can simply clutch, shift, declutch very quickly with a lightweight flywheel than a stock one.

For example of a stock Y21 G/box,

1st gear will result in a rev drop to 5K shifting into 2nd when shifting at 8K.
2nd to 3rd gear will result in a rev drop to 5.5K,
3rd to 4th will result in a rev drop to 6K,

5th? Wah.. your car so powderful till you need to use fifth ah?? :P

th_400m.jpg
Hehehe.. fear my bad launching skills.. I even forgot to turn off the aircond for this one. Click for video.. lol... fun stuff.. on a newly constructed road that's not opened to public yet. I think the people who know me know where this is.

Stock clutch slipping already.. lol... no more 2nd gear wheelspin.

lol.. photobucket maintainance.. relax for a while first lah.. 16+ second car.. no need to be worried onelah.. :P