it wont kill the protons lar... u see the savvys... increasing on the road nowadays....reason is it is damn cheap... low interest rate and with a bit more than RM200++ per month ...you can own it... almost like paying for a kancil but a bit bigger in size... even the new Saga only RM260++ a month... price is always the big killer...
Ya sure its increasing,but the main thing is they are making total loss and the figure is getting bigger each day,look at the news:
Proton incurs net loss in Q3
PETALING JAYA: Proton Holdings Bhd has reported a net loss of RM281.5mil in its third quarter (Q3) ended Dec 31, compared with a net profit of RM86.5mil in the previous corresponding quarter.
The loss resulted from a drop in its revenue to RM962.3mil in Q3 from RM2.15bil before.
Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir
The results reflected the biggest contraction in domestic car sales in almost a decade.
There was intense competition, discounting by other marques, sluggish secondary market conditions as well as higher fuel prices and interest rates, Proton said in a statement yesterday.
Those conditions led to only 21,248 Proton cars being sold in Q3, and a total of 83,000 units for the first nine months of this financial year.
“While the results are indicative of the challenges we are facing, we believe we will emerge stronger in the next 12 months,” managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir said in the statement.
Proton is executing initiatives, which include the introduction of enhanced and new models, in the next 12 months.
In the longer term, with the potential announcement of a strategic alliance with a global player, Proton would be able to further strengthen its position through economies of scale by sharing resources, and saving on operating costs and development expenditure, the company said.
“I am confident that the next 12 months will see a better Proton, one that is able to meet the challenges of a continuously evolving and changing marketplace with the right products for the right market at the right time and at the right price,” Syed Zainal Abidin said.