Government To Phase-out Import Of Used Car Parts & Components Starting June 1

I don't understand why they want to get rid of old cars to make the road safer. It's not the car, it's the driver. Also, the G don't understand the awesomeness of 80's and 90's cars.

tyres... i go TTH tyre buy used...
brake lining... go buy steel braided new...
battery... who cheapskate wanna buy used?
brake pad... ma hai... wear & tear oso buy used?

All for safety wear & tear, OK i have no problem. But can see already tyre, brake pad, battery manufacturer taikor jumping happily now.

As long later don't hike the price: because demand increase. Chia lat.

Because they buy cars, G pays for it. they even have subsidised RON97 for their cars, each and every single one of them. If they fill up by themselves, they can claim. Unlike us, we buy, we pay. we fill, also we pay. claimable? they said now the G have no money to cater claims. what about high-ranked officers? they get everything because they said it's their right to claim.

Come back to the soon-to-be-enforced policy, on the other hand, it's considered a good move if they say they want to strengthen the local automotive industry. But then again, like some people have already mentioned in this forum, the policy should be backed up by the strong display by the local automotive producer i.e Proton & Perodua, not just only the quality, but also the price. If they say 50k for a decent car is affordable, I say slash the price even more, like 10k.

Of course, there's a business proverb saying "Pay More for Better Services". But in Malaysia's context, minta gaji naik is a hell of efforts. Plus expensive petrol price which also bring up sub-sequential price hike-ups, which means another suffocation. Everything is going up, except rakyat's pocket.

Just like I mentioned earlier, in the end, who are the high-earners in the so-called negara berpendapatan tinggi? Rakyat? Petrol stations tauke? Grocers? night market hawkers? street marketeers? or those who sit in 50' x 50' glass boxes with all-day full-blown air-cond, who travel expenses paid by the G, drive on the road accompanied by the white high-end motorcycles with blue blinkers and claim that they care for rakyat's well-being? No need to answer, not because I don't have the answer, but because everyone knows the answer damn well.

the items that should be banned in the phase one sound fair enough to me but i think used-tyres is a big industry...is this going to work? and never mention anything on phase 2 , 3 and tightening the lisence and stuff..

it is like - no workshop within commercial area but tyre shop okay..so all tyre shop fix car and nobody cares....

epic failure

Who cares about the ban. Drugs, guns, foreign prostitutes, foreign workers are some of the things which are controlled / banned. Are they difficult to source in Malaysia?

HAHAHAHA :rofl:... This is true... Nice one...

ahkahakhakhakha...
reasonable n acceptable enuff... :driver:

as usual la, wanna force citizens to use made in malaysia products that are useless i guess...gotta grab all dat i can get then

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:40 PM ----------

True true...they can try but it will backfire, hehehe...more crime rates again!!!

the more they banned, the more they suffer. because we modifiers will only choose the true goverment who allow us to mod cars! election is near, vote the right party to stop the anti-car modders goverment from banning us!

Government made a wrong move, they not aware that there's millions of car die hard players.................

Phase 1 ban item for sure will not effect most car drivers like us,
but it's a big issue for commercial vehicles/truck/bus user...
Tyre is a big issue because replacement part for truck are expensive.
Example, New tubeless tyre cost RM1000++ while used imported is just nearly half the price,
imagine a truck with 6 tyre or trailer with 14 tyre. And new set of clutch from as low as RM700.
So be prepare for another season of 'Barang Naik' because of increase in transport charges...
And soon Phase 2, 3, 4 and so on dunno what will happen.

After this no more turbo,vtec,classic category in motorsports....just campro vs compact...so boring!!!!!

its a good opportunity for the local automotive parts manufacturer/engineering firm to start producing good quality parts for imported cars ..

just grab watever u can starts frm now:biggrin
no matter wat happen i will not let go my eg8:biggrin:
stop me if u can:burnout:

crappppppppp....... My diesel parts for my land cruiser is gonna be expensive like S**T... U petrol heads might nt feel the burden, bt the diesel heads here in Sabah is gonna suffer alright... -.-