how many of you do charity here?

normality78

bros,

In this new begining of the year, how many of u do thought of doing charity? Or how many of u does charity in the past (not talking once in a lifetime those) or contribute to some charity bodies?

Everyday read on newspaper, saw those unfortunated one, really makes my heart sour. Sometimes i wonder, maybe I can help in anyway. But how many of us actually forgotten the unfortunated one?

I sympathize too. However, in this country, we won't really know where our donations go to, since cheaters are all over the place now. No doubt all I should think of is that I would do my deed by giving, and not thinking about whether it'll reach the intended recipient or not, I'm one who MUST know that it has reached the recipient. So since I don't trust those who collect donation, I opted not to donate anymore unless there is a very reliable source.

i plan to stop my monthly donation to Makna, coz

01. They will have 2 mil flow in to their account very soon.
02. I dunno how they utilise the money

I make monthly donations to Makna as well. I hope they put it to good use or at least I like to think that they do. It feels better to tell yourself that there is still some good in this land.

they divert it to proton.. and make hyundai look expensive

Well i do thought about how the money will be utilise and also where will the money goes. Hence i was thinking how about donating direct to the who needed?

for xample, Rumah orang cacat. We can get thier acct no (which they surely do have) and contribute monthly to thm. may our figure is not big but whn comes to volumes, it can make a little diff. Perhaps a Giro system to thier acct every month. Perhaps RM10?

Howvie >> Holy cow, cancel my donation tomoro!!

normality78 >> if we have a campaign in zth, "Stop modding your car for a month save the money and donate it to those who need it", sure can get big bucks from here. :)

Not if someone like me is involved. My car is as stock as a don't know what.

actually this is wat i have in mind. perhaps we, ZTH can came up a donation or contribution to those unfortunate one. i mean we can every month donate up a certain amount to this fund and get it to the needed one. Maybe we dun donate to those organization as most plp dun feel safe about. But maybe to those publish in newspaper saying needed fund for operation, skool fees or meeting daily need.

By doing so, everyone has done a good deed and ZTH will become a healthy club and aknowledge by Gov or watsoever.

Perhaps we could get away summons or capture for mod more easily. whahahahaha (this part is a joke)

It's good to hear that people on here contribute to those less fortunate. I'm not great contributer unfortunately. All I do is give money to organisations who's representatives come to my office or approach me on the street. I usually give them RM 10 each time. Of course I have no real idea if the proceeds actually go to those in need and even if they do, exactly how much. I seek solace in the fact that I gave money with good intentions. If those that collect the money have something else on their agenda, it is their provocative. I have done my part. Again I would like to stress that I'm not angel but this is my meagre contribution. Oh yeah, I also contribute a lot of old clothing which my grandmother gives away.

As u all like to convoy n all , y not do a convoy to TT at those charity home, bring along stuffs tat want to donate or pool up some cash from other forumers and pass to the homes and posting up the official receipts.

Would suggest orphanage where we can educate them how not to be a rempiteer. Anyway, just a suggestions though.

Old folks' home in Jelapang, Ipoh.

This home is set up by the Barang Naik govt and then left to fend for themselves. What's provided is only the HUGE land and some dilipated quarters. And, I think I know why - they don't have malays there, mar. Aiyooo....

I've been donating, MONTHLY, to them, directly, for the last 5+ years. Since, I've retired and without incum, I do a decent amount, once a year and my name is on the board there.

Just last year, I sold myself in E-bay. It attracted a lot of attention as the press did a couple of highlights about it. Most of it are good but there are sceptics that question my intent. Oh, well... if they don't do their homework to check out that place, it's their loss, not mine. Some did question whether I take a commission. Aiyoyo... the details are all there and a quick phone call can verify that I take ZERO, lar. Bottomline, I did raise about RM4K for the home. Just a couple of days ago, I took a cheque of RM300, from a Nigel Tan, for this home.
All donations are tax-exempt.

For further details, please cum to this forum website. Picutures of this home, the tax-exempt receipts, my nemesis, etc... are all there.

http://www.ipoh.com.my/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=000160;p=11

HAPPY DONATING!!!

HidSeller said:
Just start with blood donation it cost u nothing ...
sperma better still, so that we have zthian cucu-cici all over malaysia after 20 years. Muahahah. All fast driver, Fuiyo.

Well i remmeber once ZTH does the Tsunami donation effort rite? Perhaps we could do the samething. Only this time we will choose a few dedicated needed one. We will hold up another Donation Charity, thn we get our member to donate as much as we can, thn we will do as per wannabe, TT over to the places and invite some press to posting up the official receipts.

Tom's,
should you be reading this, do u think this can be done?

Don't mean to be a pessimist but think about this. Let's say y'all do your part and do a good deed by donating. As long as you knew you donated, you've done your part. But if those cheaters use your money else where, then your donations would've went to waste. Although, yes, judgment from Above awaits them, but the unfortunate probably would've done a lot better with the donations, won't it? That's why I'm skeptical about donating cos if I did donate, I want to ensure that it DOES go to the rightful people. Personally, it's about the donation reaching the rightfully needy people that gives the satisfaction. Ah well, that's just my personal opinion anyway.

Here you go. Bump this up again. Want to do charity? Then just be a stupid arsehole (to a certain extent, that is) and donate on.
============
Sunday April 15, 2007

Worrying trend as charity turns big business

By FOONG PEK YEE and NG CHENG YEE

KUALA LUMPUR: Fund-raising for charity has turned into a booming business, with huge chunks of public donations ending up in the pockets of people who least need help.

These days, professional fund-raisers team up with charitable bodies and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) – all in the name of charity – and split the collections.

There are private firms offering management or marketing services to raise funds on behalf of NGOs who only seem all too happy to “pass the buck” to these “professionals.”

For example, if a particular charity home needed RM10,000 a month to sustain itself, then the order to the firm would be for it to raise at least RM20,000.

This was the deal involving one home for children with special needs and a professional fund-raiser, which had been handed a six-month collection “contract”.

What makes it more lucrative is that, apart from certain guidelines, there seems to be no written laws governing the way funds can be raised.

It could be through the sale of greeting cards, car stickers, badges or cookies, or even via organising huge fund-raising events.

Many of these charitable bodies raise funds in the name of the terminally-ill, those afflicted with chronic diseases and the handicapped.

But such collaborations are bad practices as far as Health Ministry parliamentary secretary Datuk Lee Kah Choon is concerned.

Urging the people to donate wisely, he said private firms which raised charity for a profit should be exposed.

He had also turned down people who approached him for such collaborations.

Women, Family and Community Development Ministry parliamentary secretary Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun said she was aware that several NGOs registered under her ministry had engaged professional fund-raisers.

She affirmed that there were no laws to regulate such fund-raising but said the NGOs registered under the ministry which wanted to raise funds for charity could seek a letter of verification.

“However, such letters will not be issued to professional fund-raisers,” she added.

Deputy Internal Security Minister Datuk Fu Ah Kiow said those soliciting donations from door to door needed a police permit to do so.

“However, to me, getting a cut from charity does not make sense, besides short-changing the donors.”

Deputy Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Wong Kam Hoong summed it up this way: “Charity is no longer a culture of sharing and caring for the needy, once the cause is commercialised.”

Calling for laws to check fund-raising, Wong, an accountant by training, said it should be made mandatory for NGOs and fund-raisers to reveal the breakdown of monies collected.
===================================
Want to donate? Go directly to the charity place to do it. Bah.... those bunch of idiot malaysians.

Write your reply...