Volkswagen bags the 2014 WRC Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles!


Back in 2013, the dynamic duo of Sebastien Ogier and his co-driver Julien Ingrassia ended Sebastien Loeb’s nine-title reign in the World Rally Championship and at the same time grabbing the 2013 Drivers’ Champion. And certainly did not disappoint for 2014 as they have not only secured the 2014 World Rally Championship Drivers’ title, the overall standings is also for them to take home.

Although there is another round left for this season, Ogier and Ingrassia have stretched the lead with 242 points in the Drivers’ championship and the VW Motorsport team had dominated 11 of the 12 events held so far. The only setback they suffered was in Rally Germany where two of the cars fielded by VW retired, allowing Hyundai to take the win. The final round will take place in Wales in mid-November.


“It’s a fantastic feeling to become world champion for a second time. I’m over the moon, it was a real battle to defend the title,” said Ogier after finishing the Rally Spain.

The car Ogier is driving for this season is pretty much the same as the one he drove last year. The VW Polo R WRC is powered by a 1.6-liter four-cylinder engine, equipped with direct-injection and turbocharging technologies to produce an output of 300-horsepower.