News

WTF Was He Thinking? Bugatti Owner Swaps Veyron For Corvette ZR1

I’ll never understand rich folks, but I guess when you have all the money in the world, you can do whatever you like and it doesn’t matter if it makes sense or not. Some mega-rich like traveling around the world in a hot air balloon, while others buy tickets to the moon, but here’s one rich dude who has just traded in his US$1.6million “fastest-car-in-the-world” Veyron for a much lesser machine – the US$100,000 Corvette ZR1. A move that has baffled car fans around the world.

Now if you’re not a car nut, then the swap would make sense to you, sell of fthe more expensive machine for something cheaper and just as fast. But the problem is, the Vette is not just as fast as a Veyron, nothing on four-wheels is just as fast as a Veyron. The ZR1 may be the fiercest of all the Vette’s and is more than capable of tearing apart a number of today’s supercars apart when it comes to power and speed but to pick one over a Bugatti seems a little, far-fetched. Why not just keep the Bugatti and buy a Vette? I’m sure the owner is more than capable of that.

Just for comparison, the Vette ZR1 does the century sprint in 3.3 seconds and tops off at 330km/h, the Veyron in the other hand demolishes the 100km/h mark in a stunning 2.4 seconds and doesn’t stop till it reaches it’s 407km/h top speed. But maintaining a Veyron costs equally as much as maintaining a private jet so the swap does kind of make sense. More over, the owner has already owned other greats like a Diablo and a Mclaren F1 so I guess it makes sense to sample something more savage than the usual lot. Swap a Veyron for a ZR1, the idea is still hard to comprehend.

Source: Jalopnik

P
Do you always write a story like that whenever anyone buys a slower car than the previous one was? You got to be kidding. At first it even made me think that the rich guy literally SWAPPED a Veyron for a Vette, but actually I guess he got all of his money back and probably more.
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 25, 2010
Maybe he simply sold off his Veyron (normal behaviour) and then bought the ZR1 (normal behaviour) because he likes Vettes like all his other various toys of varying value.

The timing of both, construed as 'swapping' Veyron for Vette which to other people seems an abnormal behaviour.

Rich people don't always buy the most expensive, quickest, loudest, rarest [add further superlatives]...

Sometimes they just buy things they like.
Z
  • Z
    zeke
  • Feb 25, 2010
if its true..the guy is mad. i got a kelisa for swap. ooh that is just too much veyron and velisa.
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Feb 25, 2010
The story was sourced from jalopnik, all details there dont need to even make speculations haha.
K
  • K
    KS
  • Feb 25, 2010
please write better story than this.
H
  • H
    Hero
  • Feb 25, 2010
duno the owner intersted wira anot?? swap wif my wira XD
?
  • ?
  • Feb 25, 2010
haha..maybe something happen behind all this..but for us its seem that guy are completely stupid..more than 3 billion people on earth wants that Veyron and very few are rich enough to buy that car..and he?..just swap..What the!..
Z
  • Z
    zse
  • Feb 25, 2010
the veyron was a toy, so swapping with a real vette is ok....
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Feb 25, 2010
i swap my civic with a honda ex5 too
L
  • L
    Look
  • Feb 25, 2010
"Yesterday, a West Texas oil magnate traded in his $1.6 million Bugatti Veyron for a Corvette ZR1 (and some cash). Today, we want to know: what would you trade in a Bugatti Veyron for?"

some cash = USD 1.5M

maybe.......
D
  • D
    dawg
  • Feb 25, 2010
Well truth is that the costs of running a Veyron is astronomical.
It was said that a Veyron owner once transported his Veyron by truck and flew over in his private jet to an intended destination where he wanted to drive the Veyron.

Just to give you an idea, the tyres on those suckers last 4,000km before they need to be replaced, and they are one sized custom made Michelins, costing RM34,000 a pop (not a set mind you).
Not only that, those rims need to be replaced after every few tyre changes also and at an astronomical cost.

That is before you get onto the servicing costs, which starts at RM74,000 and upwards after that.

So if you look at it this way, the owner has experienced the fastest car in the world, now its time for something a little more sensible.
I
  • I
    izso
  • Feb 26, 2010
dawg dude, you are one smart man. I like and agree with your response.

And to the others, don't diss the ZTH article writer. He's just doing his job. Besides, if he didn't write this article noobies like me wouldn't have known there were such people in this world with big money enough to swap out a dream car for a lesser car.
H
  • H
    hayashi
  • Feb 26, 2010
mayb the bugatti veyron lost in a race?! downhill battle or something?! (initial d meh?!! ^^" )
A
  • A
    armandd
  • Feb 26, 2010
i wonder why didn't he just sell the veyron and buy several corvettes? not very brilliant i think..
N
  • N
    Netz
  • Feb 26, 2010
all I can say is this guy is pretty stupid.
Swapping wan ugly car for another (keeping the money out of the equation).
G
  • G
    gtr
  • Feb 26, 2010
swap for gtr lor
T
  • T
    td
  • Feb 26, 2010
id swap the veyron for jessica alba anytime
L
  • L
    Lew
  • Feb 26, 2010
come on... obviously he is paying the other guy in different way... god know what deal behind the scene! under table now become under car deal lo...
J
  • J
    Joesof
  • Feb 27, 2010
The headline highlights the level of intelligence possessed by the writer. Whose problem is it but the owner's if he wishes to swap his car for whatever car he fancies? What makes you think he cant buy another Veyron whenever he wants to? It's his money; let him do whatever he wants. Since when has downgrading become a crime?
Like the title.. Click on it and read.. Don't like the title.. Don't read it.. Simple.. Don't like the other stories.. Buy a magazine and quit sourcing for free news..
Z
  • Z
    Z
  • Feb 27, 2010
Publicity and nothing more.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 27, 2010
Hey did anyone remember the Veyron that went diving some time ago? I think this swapped car was that lemon. Now to the future owner, good luck in not finding dead fish and seaweed under the carpets. hahaha. The ZR1 is probably better because it demands more driver attention than the Veyron.
T
  • T
    Tom
  • Feb 28, 2010
What an idiot you are........... keshy
woo-hoo .. let the Keshy banging begin...
Z
  • Z
    zoker
  • Mar 1, 2010
Even Tom says ur an idiot now rofl.. U better get ur act right man.. Ur comments are getting imbecilic every day.. Nobody wants to hear your opinions; keep them to yourself. This is not your personal forum, we only want news!
L
  • L
    Lancewood
  • Mar 1, 2010
'He' has spoken :P
M
  • M
    molala
  • Mar 1, 2010
Great moves. Me also will do the same thing.
K
  • K
    K_Takuya
  • Mar 1, 2010
People said what people think... nothing wrong with the title..If anyone think of anything else, feel free to open a thread in relevant forum and write what you think..simple....
K
  • K
    keshybasher
  • Mar 1, 2010
what an idiot u are keshy.. Haha..

But love your articles..

i visit zth for your news.. Dont care what people say.. Boss or no boss... its simple for people to say something when they're hiding behind nicknames... Pussies...
D
  • D
    dominic
  • Mar 1, 2010
who care this?non my business.
F
  • F
    Francis
  • Mar 2, 2010
downgrade to skip earning-tax? possible?
K
  • K
    Kev
  • Mar 4, 2010
After having owned a few so called "performance cars", i did a similar change myself. Altough cars are much cheaper than a veyron.

I used to own a fairlady but realised its too fast to actually enjoy it. Step a bit and u are way past legal limits. Pretty frustrating to drive.

Made the change to a smart roadster. 120hp on 790kg is a bliss. Handles like a dream, since its so low, 60kph feels like 60mph. Cars like the roadster and elise makes fairlady feels like a lorry. Power to weight rules.

Yes. Fairlady is faster, but roadsters are more fun.

Same logic, Veyron is faster. But Corvettes are more fun.

So is it a downgrade when some1 wants a car that is more fun to drive?
S
  • S
    Steve
  • Apr 18, 2010
agreed to what Kev said...I'll trade my veyron away for some other cars that are more fun...faster doesnt mean its better...I'll change a Audi for a Mazda Roadster..
D
  • D
  • Aug 11, 2010
Ok, Nobody swapped a veyron for a ZR1 here! The guy sold his Veyron and then bought a ZR1. Let'ds look at this. yes the veyron is THE supercar rightnow (will be passed by the Henessy Venom GT soon for top spped) or the SSC Aero will reclaim that spot. BUt that aside you can't drive a veyron around without fear of damage as it is toolow to drive onmost streets and where are you goign to park it? I have never even seen on on the road. So the owner went with the much more practical 200MPH ZR1 that in any conversation is a more than capable supercar! and the guy can drive it everyday!!! The ZR1 and the Z06's or for that matter the new GS's are crazy fast and without a doubt a great invesment as they wil onloy appreciate in value. They are also capable of beating th elike of ferrari and lambo. the ZR1 has dispatched with most of the world supercars on the track where it sets lap records wherevver it goes. Do I sound like a Corvette fan (yup ) my father has owned 18 of them. I own a Pontiac Formula with a transplanted LS9 ZR1 motor in it. the title is misleading.
D