News

Team Mercedes GP Petronas Reveals New 2010 Drivers and Car Livery

Mercedes GP unveiled its new livery for the 2010 season at its museum in Stuttgart just hours ago at an event attended by its two drivers Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg.

The 2010 car won’t be seen by the public until the first day of testing in Valencia on February 1, but the German car maker used the occasion to show off its new silver colour scheme on a year-old Brawn. Schumacher, who is making his F1 return after three years in retirement, said he felt as excited about driving in F1 now as he did when he first started with Mercedes’ junior programme in sports car racing in 1990.

Mercedes GP Petronas (1)Mercedes GP Petronas (5)Mercedes GP PetronasMercedes GP Petronas (3)Mercedes GP Petronas (4)

“Finally the 2010 Formula One season is firing up,” he said. “I have to say that I am totally committed to this new challenge. This season feels like a re-start for me and I am so motivated. We have a very exciting combination at Mercedes GP Petronas. I cannot wait to get into the car for the first time in Valencia. I am convinced that Mercedes will be in a very good position to fight for the championships this season and I will definitely give it a go. Driving for Mercedes-Benz again is like the closing of a circle for me as I started my racing driver career with the three-pointed star on my helmet. This is another reason why I cannot wait for the competition to get underway.”

Ross Brawn, who worked with Schumacher at Ferrari and was instrumental to his decision to return to F1, will remain as team principal after selling the Brackley-based outfit to Mercedes over the winter. He said he was eagerly anticipating the new season and working with Schumacher again.

“It is a great thing, working with Michael again is a very special treat and something I didn’t think would happen again,” he said. “It’s so exciting and so motivational for me and the team to be involved. Nico is a very exciting prospect who will make a wonderful partner for Michael. Nico has been racing for a number of years but he will enjoy working with Michael and seeing how a seven-time champion operates. But also the final thing is being the part of a rebirth of a racing brand as iconic as Mercedes. It’s been 55 years since Mercedes had its own racing team. I have been very privileged in my career to be involved in special things but this is very exciting to be involved in.”

Rosberg said he was also excited to be part of the new team, and after denying rumours that he would be the No.2 driver last week, said he is expecting to score some good results over the coming season.

“You can really feel the successful motorsport history of Mercedes-Benz here at the Museum in Stuttgart and to be part of the new Silver Arrows team and that racing heritage makes me feel extremely proud and motivated,” he said. “I have seen how hard the team is working on the new car and I really can’t wait for the opportunity to drive it for the first time in Valencia next week. I am looking forward to working with everyone at Mercedes and will give it my all to reward their fantastic efforts with good on-track results this season.”

Source: ESPNF1
Image Credits: Sutton Images

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
I
  • I
    iskett
  • Jan 26, 2010
Petronas here, petronas there! Very good branding effort done by our national oil co.!
But my money still on Hammy! Can't wait for the season.
J
  • J
    jin89
  • Jan 26, 2010
omg ! schu with petronas !!
A
  • A
    anonymous user
  • Jan 26, 2010
my dreams came true !!!

Schummy in Petronas livery !
C
  • C
    cheapshot
  • Jan 26, 2010
schumi wearing petronas..110% agreed good branding effort..! now lets kick hammy's arse..waharharhar
X
  • X
    Xand
  • Jan 26, 2010
dat's why it is called Mercedes GP Petronas! even the team's name got Petronas.
A
Was hoping to see their new car and observe how they approached the regs for 2010. A little dissapointed to see them unveil livery using the 2009 Brawn car. Nevertheless they're unveiling their new car next week in Valencia and though it will receive further iterations before Bahrain I'm sure the photos released will reveal as minimal as possible the details of the rear aero work
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Jan 27, 2010
this year F1 GP gonna be really AWESOME!!!
P
  • P
    PeTroL
  • Jan 28, 2010
So cool...i cant wait to see them in action....but, i cant see any Petronas guys in that event. Are they not invited??
H
NOw.... if only mika hakkinen were to come back from retirement also...
A
  • A
    anonymous user
  • Jan 28, 2010
heavencloud !!!

i superly AGREE !!!

Mika n Schummy are on the best F1 Rivals !!
A
I like Senna vs Prost
A