Formula 1News

“S**t, My Mistake … ” – Kovolainen Introduces Lotus F1 To Its First Crash

Heikki Kovalainen ended Lotus’ second ever test day on Thursday by crashing the newly launched T127 car.

The Finn, making his return to a F1 cockpit in the wake of his McLaren career, lost control of the green and yellow car on the exit of turn 3 on the wet Jerez track.

The impact damaged the car’s front nose and wing, and the Malaysian team does not have a spare on hand.

“Had a crash and damaged front wing, session over for us,” the 28-year-old confessed via Twitter in the early afternoon.

“S..t! My mistake, tomorrow we go again,” he added.

Kovalainen is indeed scheduled to return to the cockpit on Friday, before Jarno Trulli takes over on the last of the four-day session.

Source: GMM

B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Feb 19, 2010
doesnt have spare?

hahahahahhahahaha
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Feb 19, 2010
to get spare part :

"AirAsia 20% fare discount will be revised until further notice."
F
  • F
    fizzy
  • Feb 19, 2010
now they learn something..starting from crash to win the first podium
C
  • C
    camshaft
  • Feb 19, 2010
speechless...
H
  • H
    Hannah
  • Feb 19, 2010
OwhhHh MaNNnnn
I
  • I
    ijan
  • Feb 19, 2010
haih...so bad....
A
The crash itself was not a biggie and is not that unusual to see during testing sessions.

However the half a days track time lost especially when the weather was getting drier, is the big issue. What a waste.

Heiki should know better. It's only Day 2 of their test programme and certainly not the time to push the car close to the limit. Unbecoming of a driver of his experience.
B
  • B
    Bodyguard007
  • Feb 19, 2010
Hallo to all big brothers..pls give a big support lerrrr......if u are Malaysia.TQ. Malaysia Boleh.....
G
  • G
    gtr
  • Feb 19, 2010
yes..malaysia boleh....boleh accident juga...
F
  • F
    Fwhat
  • Feb 19, 2010
wanna play in the big pond.. pay the big price
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Feb 19, 2010
Damn! Heiki is also a statistic in Ops Sikap. hahaha
R
  • R
    race fan
  • Feb 19, 2010
Yes support Malaysia. I will do so via Mercedes GP Petronas
A
  • A
    advan
  • Feb 19, 2010
no spare parts on hand? go mun lee half cut shop to get back the front nose lor..hahaha
N
  • N
    NeuroOne
  • Feb 19, 2010
Fairuz tested without accident, then an F1 otai crashed it? huhu..
R
  • R
    red_ke
  • Feb 19, 2010
accident? needed spare parts?

Come visit malaysia.....We got many kereta potong shops here.....Even have "laysing" barang inside....
R
  • R
    racist
  • Feb 19, 2010
hahahahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

noob
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Feb 20, 2010
aaaaaaaaaaahahahahhahahahah...malaysia boleh!
I
Ouch! But normal la crash, if we drive pun not out of pit already crash and killed alex yoong ... (maybe).
T
  • T
    TakDeSpare
  • Feb 20, 2010
haha.. don't have spare! Apa Malaysia ada???

1Malaysia = 1SparePart

Lepas crash... takde lah sparepart sebab 1Malaysia concept!
R
  • R
    RocK
  • Feb 20, 2010
"Fairuz tested without accident"
how many sec was he off the pace??
A
  • A
    atukKau
  • Feb 20, 2010
That's why la, hire lagi rejected driver .... oops
A
  • A
    aQum
  • Feb 20, 2010
belum apa2...suda eksiden...hahhahaha
C
  • C
    corona_ice
  • Feb 21, 2010
hehehe....i think the car needs a gt wing from abang's to get better grip
P
  • P
    PetronasGoodJob
  • Feb 21, 2010
First they said the LotusF1 is a 100% private funded initiative, but with Petronas sticking to their original plan with Mercedes, now they said the Govt is "partially" funding it !

Did the Govt tell us exactly HOW MUCH of our tax money has or will be used and for what duration to sponsor this team ? Sadly a team which many think little of, though we wish them the best.

Thank GOD Petronas did not bow to pressure - now they got Schuey racing for PETRONAS ! Clearly a tough but right decision by Hassan Merican - hope thats not the reason they did not renew your contract as Petronas President

So why no more money to subsidise our petrol, sugar and flour ? but instead billions of our tax money funnelled to buy shares owned by individuals like Maxis ? and now to subsidise selected individuals HOBBIES, like those in AirAsia and NAZA for their self glory and fame ! TanSri for Tony soon ?

The Govt should be more sensitive in this trying times by channelling what limited resources left to the right sectors- when we already have Petronas F1 who by the way is doing a great job !

Many learned Malaysians already migrated or migrating like hoards of birds out of Malaysia..

Seriously, do you see countries like China or Singapore spending such tax money to sponsor a TEAM in F1 - when their GDP and per capital income far exceeds us in Malaysia

Seems like 1Malaysia is on a self-glorification track now
T
  • T
    toyotarian
  • Feb 21, 2010
actually all of this wasting money which is that is our money. why dont they spread out the money to people who need it. or give it to us as subsidize for fuel. all people will feel it not only them. if u want to join race use ur really own money like what some people from west did it. like toyota they use thier own company money with some sponser. if u all want to know the only malaysia use gov money (without approval from rakyat malaysia. suke suke pakai) to operate this race some money from air asia, naza etc.
O
agree with toyotarian,really waste money larr malaysia go join F1..better use the money build better roads,invest something benefit to malaysian rather than invest on F1...Dulu,cakap pakai buatan malaysia ..now what happen..
M
  • M
    Muflis
  • Feb 21, 2010
Govt henti subsidi susu and tepung, kerana wang subsidi untuk ini ? Benci betul ! Ingat jangan jadi miskin macam saya !
A
  • A
    Az
  • Feb 22, 2010
no spare !
G
  • G
    Guy
  • Mar 16, 2010
I operate with these dogs and as far as animal behavior goes, I'm a solid believer in nurture and exercising. I've met Jack Russell Terriers that I wouldn't go close to again, but have in no way had a bad practical knowledge with an American Staffordshire Terrier. If you're speaking about their owners- well, that's a various story. People are creatures as well, and we often every have our personal concepts about "moral concepts".
G