Formula 1NewsVideos

Fierce Rivalry in F1: Ferrari Pit Crew Block Spying Mclaren Engineers and Vice Versa

Rivalry in Formula One is traditionally fierce, there are such examples as Senna punching Eddie Irwine, Schumacher going after David Coulthard in the pits, Alonso and Hamilton, the list can go on and on, but there is no rivalry more intense than the rivalry between Ferrari and Mclaren and this video and the one after the jump proves it. In the first video a group of Mclaren engineers try and take a closer look at the Ferrari’s diffuser when the latter’s pit crew block their view with screens. In the second after the jump, its quite the opposite and rather funny actually. A Ferrari engineer is blocked from spying on the Mclaren, by a Macca engineer who seems to be an entire foot shorter. You have to watch it.

Source: Axis of Oversteer

A
  • A
    achelone
  • Mar 4, 2010
More like a drama queen. Y don't they record it with hidden camera and examine it later? Same result
D
  • D
    devious17
  • Mar 4, 2010
Childish of Ferrari to act in such a manner, no sportsmanship. Ferrari should be honoured that the McLaren boys are looking up to them.
M
devious17, the way u talk so easy.. your the man!! btw, they spend millions of dollars just to R&D their cars. and McLaren will just just copy in 5mins.. izzit worth it? btw, if ur selling the most famous and delicious Laksa in Penang, would u let me copy your recipe so i can sell beside your stall? i think normal people think before they talk.. but u crap before u talk =)
S
  • S
    Sean
  • Mar 4, 2010
Laksa !!!
X
  • X
    xenith
  • Mar 5, 2010
Wait a second! The video of the Ferrari engineer 'spying' is old and it's in Sepang.
S
  • S
    skinny
  • Mar 5, 2010
haha wat a joke.. i don't think ferrari crew pwned da mclaren engineer though... lets see hw many screens they can put... haha
B
  • B
    BlackSamurai
  • Mar 5, 2010
FIA should

1. fine those crew spying the rival race car, or
2. give a 15 sec stop during race, or
3. both cars drop 10 positions

for the action McLaren done in the video. \
this is close to plug-in rival computer and peek at their test data.
V
  • V
    vtecyo
  • Mar 5, 2010
This is the epitome of racing...penalty of such things will make (F1) racing a childish sport..embrace the laughters, fights and competz between teams.

And yes, please don't come up with some mickey mouse crap about un-sportmanship like coz when you have such high stakes at hand...every mother son will do whatever it takes to win...and in racing, ppl strive to win...1st runners-up is the first loser..=)
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Mar 5, 2010
I peek at your car, you peek at my car.

Old tradition lar.

It's part of the F1 landscape ever since the competition started and very much forms part of the spectacle of the sport that gives it so much color and flavour. All part of the great show that is F1.

The teams have been playing this cat & mouse game for more than 50 years of F1 and now suddenly all you 'accountants' feel a need to levy fines and penalties for this sort of thing ?

LOL Honestly guys. Some of your self-righteousness would be hilarious if it wasn't so misguided.
?
  • ?
  • Mar 5, 2010
haha..funny..if i were they, i throw the tire to them..haha..thats normal behavior when u try to beat each other..hey~!WORKING people stop spying lor..hehe
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Mar 5, 2010
Why la they employ so many pit side girls for what? Let them do a lot of poses between the pit garages, then we see la what is more interesting. hahaha.
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Mar 6, 2010
Ferrari are just jokers when it comes to flexing it's influences and power.

Just look at the 2007 fiasco and got McLaren into deep shit.
But when they "accidentally" run an aerodynamic part out of spec in Sepang years ago, FIA said it's ok.
When F1 was trying to encourage new comers into the sport they tried to prevent them from joining the club...

I support Ferrari as racers and their flamboyance on the track.
But their off track nonsense is so unsportsmanlike.

Now i would love to see how Alonso feels like in Ferrari.
Hope he goes through the same crap with Ferrari just like when he was in McLaren.
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Mar 6, 2010
I just can't stop laughing at the video.

Ferrari should be glad they are getting so much sponsorship time....

If they don't want people see their cars they should have just tested underground like in Need For Speed underground track.

I do wish them all the best and i do hope Massa gives the championship a good fight.

Plus also i do hope the big talk / hype of Ferrari's diffuser doesn't change Ferrari into an Italian Tank,

1 Forward gear and 7 Reverse gears (7 to reflect the times) lol...
O
everybody likes to copy since the birth of automotive industry..not surprise at all...mercedes company are more $$$ than ferrari ..because ferrari just make supercars and hypercars,and mercedes have luxury coupe,sedan,lorries,truck,hypercars,supercars..bla bla..even other automotive company using mercedes engine like pagani zonda,AMG,mclaren..
O