FerrariNews

Ferrari boss shoots down producing 4-door saloon: “As Enzo would say, we will never do four doors”

The car market has been strange ever since the inception of the Porsche Cayenne. The fact that a Porsche had suddenly grown into a ugly four-door SUV was hard to swallow but it sold in the millions and Porsche raked in the money. Other carmakers, taking note of this also followed suit with Maserati currently working on its own version of a SUV dubbed the Kubang, Aston Martin is set to officially introduce Rapide and Lamborghini is toying with the idea of commercialising the Estoque. If you haven’t noticed, all these car makers are also makers of some of the world’s most desirable supercars.

One supercar marque that still hasn’t jumped on the money-wavering bandwagon is Ferrari. But over the years there have been reports of the Italian supercar makers toying with the idea of a SUV or a four-door saloon, but we are yet to hear any confirmation on this. And if a recent report is to be believed, we may never see a four-door Ferrari.

Ferrari boss Amedeo Felisa has said the firm will ”never” follow rivals Aston Martin and Porsche into making a four-door sports saloon.

“As Enzo would say, we will never do four doors,” said Felisa. “And we will keep this tradition.”

When it was put to Felisa that once upon a time Ferrari would not have made a hybrid vehicle or had fuel-saving stop-start technology on its cars – two things it is working on now – he said: “Hybrid was forced on us by regulation, there is no regulation forcing us to do four doors.

“Frankly speaking no-one is asking for a four-door Ferrari. If you want a four door Ferrari we have a Maserati.

“We stand 60 years and we never needed four doors. What never means, I don’t know, but one of the strong points of Ferrari is to keep the product in the right way. I’m not saying four doors is not right for the image, but it’s not part of our heritage.”

Source: Autocar

H
  • H
    h4dRi
  • May 4, 2010
LOL at masserati kubang..
I
  • I
    iskett
  • May 4, 2010
Kubang! Haha!
"Hey man, nice car! Krete ape ni?"
"Thanks! Aku bawak kubang!"
P
  • P
    pelams
  • May 5, 2010
macam lembu berkubang
H
  • H
    Hafidz Moro
  • May 5, 2010
mari berkubang di sawah bersama maserati 'kubang'...ahaha even europe car manufacturers making jokes nowdays..
E
  • E
    eamran
  • May 5, 2010
Paint the Kubang purple & you'll get Kubang Kundang...
J
  • J
    Jon Toc
  • May 5, 2010
As a matter of fact! People has been saying that a four door Ferrari is always referring to Alfa Romeo bella.
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • May 6, 2010
Ferrari is a LIAR! a BIG LIAR!! They did made 1 4 door Ferrari for Sultan of Brunei. Even if that is a custom one off model, they still did make it. And that too when Enzo was alive. What LIARS they are.
V
  • V
    Vroom
  • May 6, 2010
How about a 4 door station wagon

http://www.globalmotors.net/four-door-ferrari-456-venice-station-wagon/
E
  • E
    Epy
  • May 6, 2010
Masserati Kubang made from Kubang Kerian i think..
haha!
E