News

F1: Tyre Rule Change For 2010 – Top 10 Drivers To Start Race With Qualifying Tyres

Formula One teams have agreed to change the tyre rules for 2010, by making the top ten drivers on the grid start the race on the same tyres they qualified on.

With the absence of refuelling, the amendment has been introduced to maintain a strategic element in the sport. It has been proposed by F1’s Sporting Working Group (SWG) in order to improve the show, but will have to be rubber-stamped by the F1 Commission and the FIA‘s World Motor Sport Council.

The idea is that team’s will have to decide between running a soft tyre compound, which should give a better lap time in qualifying but will wear out quickly during the race, or a hard compound, which will give a slower time over one-lap but should last longer. The addition of a heavy fuel load at the start of the race will mean that driver’s who choose the softer, better qualifying tyre will have to be very careful in the early stages.

However, it has not been announced what will happen if the track is wet or damp on race day. It is most likely the teams will be allowed to change to the appropriate tyres, but those who qualifyied on the harder compound will lose the long first-stint advantage they would have gained in the dry. Ultimately weather forecasting will become even more important to the weekend’s strategy.

It is the second last-minute change to the 2010 rules proposed by the SWG, after the group submitted a new points system for approval on Monday.

Source: ESPNF1

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Jan 28, 2010
f1 is becoming sooo complicated !!!
C
  • C
    cheapshot
  • Jan 28, 2010
can check at Jobstreet lah for new position: Virgin's Weather Man..lol
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Jan 28, 2010
these kind of moves, really degrade the supposely biggest motoring circus, F1, to a competition where the best ones will be retarded in some ways. this stupid, ridiculous move is exactly in the same bracket to the suggestion made to add more weight/burden Schumacher's car at one point during his all conquering years.

just to make him slow a bit while the other catch up. thank god that suggestion never made it to the rubber stamp. i know it sound stupid but with stupid people mosley ran office, it only take a stupid to call a stupid move very clever.

i have always maintain about the same level need to be accorded to all drivers, regardless of what kind of performance they put it. entirely it is up to the drivers and how the team plan. sometime u may need to slow a bit during the qualifying period in order to put u in a good position during the race. sometime some plans just ruined by some stupid reckless hotheads. not to mention the weather.

these are the romantics of F1. those are the things made F1 in the past so special and very different to other motoring sports.

however, not all decisions are rubbish. next season's no refuelling is a quite good call and worth a try. putting stone on someone car isnt.

i'd like to see F1 adopt the americans in term of the rolling start. yes it wont make F1 no different than the american sport but by starting this way, ALL cars will be starting the race. no more chocking on the grid and with smoke coming out with no visibility at all, theres a great chance of a blind, cocky german to hit u in the back. and suddenly we got red flag. just after starting the race!
A
I don't have anything specifically against the suggested tyre rule but the main issue for me is the thinking behind all these rule changes. They need to be a clear on what they want F1 to be rather than tweaking rules then and again to 'fix' things short term. I don't think the management are clear what F1 should be all about in these times.

I have watched F1 during pre refuelling days and the refuelling days that followed. Both have pros and cons and it's hard for to say which one I like better and I don't think such steps alone is enough to make F1 more interesting or less interesting. I may sway toward refuel for the benefit of the average spectator but I like the high stakes, sub 4second, very 'slick' tyre change operation that was common pre refuel days. No refuel also puts more weight on subtle fuel conservation strategies which the average spectator will not understand. They won't understand why 70% into the race a car is suddenly faster while his rival drops in pace. They will immediately think it's all the driver.

Likewise with standing starts and rolling starts. Though I prefer standing starts, rolling starts translate to higher entry speeds into the first corner and thus more dangerous especially at smaller circuits. In A1GP we have both formats and when safety was a concern standing start was enforced. Both were good to watch. In fact in the last A1GP race at Sepang it was the rolling start that caused a 2-3 car pile up just before the start which necessitated a red flag.

F1 is confused these day and its very confusing for fans. They need to decide what their core values are. I have my opinions on this but I have to believe that FOM knows better and see the problems which I can't. Or maybe simply they're just all getting senile. You won't believe how something that looks so complicated is actually very simple sometimes.
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Jan 28, 2010
very good points there A1Diablo,

would it be very different if the management of F1 is headed by someone with previous involvement with the sport?

i've always support the idea of certain organizations need to be run by some experience guys in the activity they are doing. for sport ministry should be run by someone who know sports. really know sports. better still, he/she was an athlete or a coach or has direct connection to sports.

sorry to run away from F1, but when that spekie minister spoke about national football team should never be disbanded and players only play for national team instead of their respective states. that statement should how the lack of connection between him the minister and the sports.

the same applies to F1. jean todt supposely the guy with loads of experience in F1. and i hope he wont be approving these kind of changes.
F
  • F
    FVel
  • Jan 28, 2010
deeewww ! Is this a race or a circus ? Why stop there ? Might as well make the top 10 drivers compete with one hand tied behind their back and one tied around their balls.
F