APRCFeaturesMotorsportsProtonVideos

‘(00) gets a ride in the Proton Satria Neo S2000 rally car

We were recently invited by Proton to take a ride in the Satria Neo S2000 rally car and to interview the teams two drivers – Chris Atkinson and Alister McRae, the duo are considered as the strongest pairing for the APRC season for 2010. Heeding the call to attend the event, I was also scheduled for another photoshoot at the same time but there was absolutely no way I was going to give up an opportunity to take a ride in Proton’s most extreme rally car to date. So I skipped the interview but pulled on a helmet for a ride and the video after the jump is from the adrenalin pumped 5-minutes that I got to spend pretending to be a rally co-driver.

After a few minutes of waiting, my turn finally arrived and this was going to be my first time in a professional competition spec rally car, but getting in is not easy, after you twist and turn your body around the roll-cage, you have to position yourself just right and drop into the ultra-low slung FIA spec full bucket seats, do it wrong and it’s going to be one very uncomfortable ride because trust me, you’re in for one hell of a ride and “kahuna comfort” is essential. The first thing you notice is how low you are actually sitting because your line of visibility sits right at the edge where the dash meets the windscreen, me in my excitement questioned Chris Atkinson about this and the answer was pretty embarrassingly obvious, “because in a race you want to see 100 meters in front of you, not what’s right ahead of the car.”

The next thing you notice is the presence of three buttons right at your feet, from the left the first button is the horn, then its wash button to clean the windscreen then its the trip button, I did question the use of this button but all I heard was the sound of the 2.0-liter Waja derived engine screaming to put down its 278horses on gravel, Chris’s explanation was hardly audible, but with the engine screaming at a glorious 7000rpm, I wasn’t exactly paying attention.

Then there’s the ride itself. See I’m a track junkie, I look for apex’s, vanishing point, braking points, and I stay away from the dirty side of the track, a little of everything from quite a few “driving for idiots” books. But in rallying, all these points are embedded into a driver’s head and his reflexes to taken on these points are promptly activated by the co-drivers notes and heads up. It was quite hard to guess when Chris was going to turn as there were countless trees lining up on either sides scarily close to each other so it was more a matter of choosing a tree to turn around but that’s not quite it in a race situation because everything is marked, but apparently the drivers see quite clearly which trees are marked but for me all I saw was a potentially very painful tree. There certainly was new found respect for rally drivers, co-drivers and the team.

The ride consisted of two rounds around the short gravel track in Sepang and two rounds may seem like a lot but when you’re holding your breath and trying to register the synergy between the driver, car and track, it’s almost a surreal experience where everything just darts past you and the only thing that you are able to capture is the sound, the speed, and the feedback of the car. The Satria Neo is something that I have driven a lot, but the Satria Neo S2000 is a completely different animal and shares almost nothing in common but the design of the headlights and some curvature. If there ever is a perfect Proton for me, the S2000 is it, pity it’s a rally car that costs slightly above the RM1million mark and will never feel the hands of a regular driver and the tarmac of a regular road but with the right amount of noise from fans, who knows? Read on below for official information on the Satria Neo S2000 rally car.

Making Strides on and off the track

Famously known as Proton’s sportiest product to date, the Satria Neo won an award for its sleek and sporty design. Likewise, the Satria Neo has been successful in domestic racing, as well as regionally; having triumphed in it’s class at the Merdeka Millenium Endurance Race 2008. It also secured the Championships for both Driver and Team in the 2008 AFOS ATCS1500Max Championship. At the 2009 Intercontinental Rally Challenge, the Proton Satria Neo S2000 achieved a 4th overall finish in the Rally of Russia, and it’s best result to date, a 2nd overall in the Rally of Scotland.

The new Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car raises performance bar for the rapidly expanding FIA Super 200 rally series. Based on the Proton Satria Neo, the MEM Proton Super 2000 Rally Car has been constructed by MEM to conform with the latest FIA homologation specifications. The car can be supplied to either tarmac or gravel specification as required.

Proton partner Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM), has designed the new Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 rally car has just raised the performance bar for the rapidly expanding FIA Super 2000 rally series.

The concept was developed by using a combination of innovative engineering designs, the 25 years of experience of the teams technical staff but, crucially, also the input from the teams owner and extremely successful driver, Chris Mellors. The result is an astonishingly small and agile car which from the very outset was designed for the driver.

With an attractive and aerodynamic package for the front bumper, wings, rear bumper and rear spoiler complimenting the eye-catching Satria design, the Proton S2000 can achieve in full rally trim the smallest frontal area and the lowest roof height in its class even at rally ride height settings. Driver and Co-driver seat positions are fixed at the rearmost possible mounting points to maximize the car’s weight distribution but with the pedal box and steering column both adjustable to suit different pilots. The rollcage design uses 35 metres of lightweight Chrome Moly tube together with strategic body strengthening resulting in vastly improved torsional bodyshell stiffness and a no-compromise safety cell for the crew. The cleverly designed side crash protection bars are uniquely shaped to aid driver and co-driver access into and out of the car.

The 2-litre Proton Super 2000 engine is derived from the 1. 8 litre engine fitted to Proton’s Waja model and has been further developed by MEM’s engineers to produce a reliable 278 bhp @ 7600 rpm with a usable power band from 5,500 to 8,500 rpm. Combined with the best 6-speed sequential 4WD Super 2000 transmission currently available, (the “532” version from the market leaders Xtrac ) the car sets new standards for engine performance and driveability.

The fuel system innovates too with a quick-change fuel control cassette, (which include all the fuel pumps, filters and valves), attached to the MEM-designed FIA FT3 safety fuel cell to aid rapid maintenance.

Alcon provides the braking power with their latest Super 2000 alloy 4-pot calipers and ventilated discs which combined with the Neo’s low overall weight of 1150kg gives astoundingly short braking distances. The ventilated disc size are independently maximized for both Gravel, (15” rims), and Tarmac, (18” rims), but for both simplicity and cost the brake calipers are common to both setups thanks to a simple mounting arrangement.

Engineers have designed the suspension with a relatively conventional layout of the wishbone and MacPherson strut, which means it will be easy and relatively cheap to maintain whilst remaining super-reliable. However, the design has cleverly maximized the damper travel to such an extent that the bump stops are the only part that stops the body sills hitting the ground on full bump travel! This translates into achieving both an ultra-low tarmac setup with go-kart levels of body roll and a long-travel gravel setup with enormous ability to soak up the biggest bumps. With various anti-roll bars available for both front and rear and with MEM’s 25 years of rally experience, the suspension setup can be easily fine-tuned for any surface or type.

The latest technology is used in the electrical systems with a state of the art Multiplexed wiring system capable of managing the entire car’s electronics from a central unit ideally placed in the centre of the car in-between the driver and co-driver. Apart from the weight saving reduction that this achieves, it is simple to operate and, with automatically resetting circuit breakers, this is technology and reliability at its best.

The result of all this is a car which not only has well-proven technical advances and novel design but also has simplicity where appropriate to ensure the best possible combination of performance and reliability.

N
  • N
    neuspeed
  • Apr 21, 2010
please produce this spec for on road car... 2-liter engine with 4WD 6 speed sequential, 278 bhp,4 pot caliper.. oh! truly sport car.. proton sport car!!!
I
  • I
    izso
  • Apr 21, 2010
Wow.. but this car is left hand drive? Since when the Neo had a left hand drive setup?
S
  • S
    speed
  • Apr 21, 2010
this car can be change to right hand drive if needed and yea this is pure driving not like crcuit driving or drag cheers~
G
  • G
    growUP
  • Apr 21, 2010
damm... i'm cuming....
hhahahhaha....
N
  • N
    NumLock
  • Apr 21, 2010
it is not as easy utk tukar kan dari LHD ke RHD for this particular machine.. Remember our Flying Singh? He use to request a RHD version of this beast, but still can't get his hand on one. So he revert back to E9.
A
  • A
    ayahkau
  • Apr 21, 2010
ow really ah? thanks NumLock (for the story about this Singh and RHD and stuff).
B
  • B
    BiG_M
  • Apr 21, 2010
Why not thjs Neo S2000 rally car but that overpriced and rubbish Neo "GTi"? Proton should have in the 1st place developed this bad-a$s machine instead of wasting it's time doing the green n yellow paint job (u know what I mean...), I mean many ppl says Proton are just copycats from the land-of-the-rising-sun then just continue to be and be a PROFESSIONAL copycat!!

Subaru got it's Impreza WRX for street and the STi for rally, so does Mitsu's Lancer and Evos... so why not we have our own rally version then?

For me I'll rather spend RM115k on this rather then that green-yellow retarded Neo GTi. What ya say folks?
G
  • G
    GTi
  • Apr 21, 2010
Big_M,

I say u become proton CEO la, so clever... talk is cheap...
X
  • X
    xXx
  • Apr 21, 2010
ofcz , this s2000 is way better than tht retarted green yellow ..haha its just the paint color which the lotus use in F1 .. does it help in performance ? i guess nt ..
S
  • S
    speed
  • Apr 21, 2010
errr mr num lock karamjit have already driven this car last year in aprc johor he got sponsored by proton to drive this car, but do to some "problems" he then refused to drive the car full season so proton opt the mat salleh which talk less. so cheers~
S
  • S
    speed
  • Apr 21, 2010
mr num lock sorry my mistake didnt really read ur article. wanted to delete but donno how. so cheers~ and yea karam wanted the rhd version they say they wanted to change it by indonesia but karam quite by then ;D
J
  • J
    JuzTin
  • Apr 21, 2010
BiG_M , I doubt such spec can be sold at the price of RM115k, so accept the Lotus Neo R3. And AP Racing and Ohlins aren't cheap stuff, 115k is kinda overpriced i agree but 115k certainly cant buy this Neo S2k, maybe can get the Honda S2K la which I personally like more ^^

S
  • S
    sixtythree
  • Apr 21, 2010
Haha wat a joke.... I think those Xtrac tranny alone cost more than RM115k la weiii
?
  • ?
  • Apr 21, 2010
.......speechless......
B
  • B
    BabyGodzillaGTi-R
  • Apr 21, 2010
Drool....
I want a weekend car like this....

Then we hunt down Clio Rs kekeke

I'm quite curious if they still allow Chro Molly rollcages?

I was under the impression they are being phased out or even banned because of it's crash characteristics and a couple of high profile accidents where Chro Molly cages doesn't perform as expected.

Still thumbs up to the ultimate Satria Neo....
If only Proton could come up with the same car for RM115k.
Hehehe..
Dream..............
B
  • B
    BiG_M
  • Apr 21, 2010
Bro GTi,

With all ur respect, I'm here to express my thought and I don't think I've offended you by anyway or anyhow. Forums is a place where ppl express what their criticism & opinions to a topic NOT to the forumers. If you really want to correct some comments like what I did, just do it a manner way but no need to use harsh words to insult the user.

Look at BabyGodzillaGTi-R & JuzTin, they too NOT agree with my thoughts but they do it the manner way. Anyway, if I have really offended you, I sincerely appologize to you.
N
  • N
    Neo.S
  • Apr 21, 2010
BiG_M dude ,

i guess the car will come in the future and yet we have to patient for such nice car from proton, in fact building a car from scratch have comply with road legal regulations and industry copy right ... and i believe there are more issue to be consider to build a brand new car.

is not something that so easy as plug & play like computer. if car are like computer ......tiu no need mechanic lo.....LOL

i'm not a auto engineering or whatsoever but my point is ....we just dunno what behind the movie and how they do it ...but we are just audience that enjoy the show, either you want to own it ....well personal thing loh.however ....serious i wanna how big different with that Ohlins suspension and AP racing .....would it make 1min faster in sepang track ? curious o.O????
N
  • N
    Neo.S
  • Apr 22, 2010
oh ya, FYI Satria Neo S2000 Tag with RM1.5 Million
P
  • P
    PERT
  • Apr 22, 2010
The engine terbalik like ivtec?
S
  • S
    Steven Mah
  • Apr 22, 2010
this Satria Neo cost RM1.5 Million? What happen is this car lose to
Mitsubishi EVO or Subaru which doesnt cost RM1.5 Million? I believe the Driver Skill is more important than a CAR does. By spending such a big $ on Satrio Neo is such a wasts because in the end it stil Satria NEO (no body care its mod cost RM1.5 Million or RM1.5K ) my 2 cents of comment ^^
F
  • F
    Ferruccio
  • Apr 22, 2010
Ermmm.. That price tag is about 'normal' for a car in S2000 in fact MEM remarked that the Neo was more cost effective because the production Neo was a good starting point. That's one of the reasons MEM chose the Neo for competing in S2000.
S
  • S
    speed
  • Apr 22, 2010
steven mah i don think u know anything this the neo s2000 was second in irc brtish round beat the skoda, pegueot and those subaru and evo are not even close to the neo. and Neo body have the lowest center of gravity between all of the rally car.

yea its a satria whats wrong with that?

and we those who actually are connected to racing in malaysia care cause u will get much more attached seeing a neo beating the crap of an evo 10 thats satisfying.

steven if u live in malaysia please leave go stay in japan or german or italy we dont need people like u here.
S
  • S
    Steven Mah
  • Apr 22, 2010
Mr Speed ,

this is a place to express my thought and I don’t think I’ve offended you by anyway or anyhow. Forums is a place where ppl express what their criticism & opinions or comments. If you feel my comment is incorrect u can ignore it. Y u ask me to leave malaysia and go stay other country? u think this country is urs? u think u have the right to ask me leave? KAMU INGAT NEGARA MALAYSIA LU BAPA PUNYA KER?
By the way, if u dont really know the technologies on EVO 10 i understand about u because u are less educated. Mitsubishi build their Car before u and me are borned ! If someday Proton can made a car like EVO , i am proud and happy to.As our technologies are same lvl as japanese technologies.I didnt criticize the neo in any form , just that i say it not worth to spend RM1.5 Million on a Neo as we need to have a good skill driver as well . If u cannot accept any comment then u are a big loser no matter in what kind of place u go or what kind of thing u are doing, kindly bear in mind.
S
  • S
    Speed
  • Apr 22, 2010
Owh no u didnt offend me in any way just that we dont need people who thinks the way u think anymore the world have changed u have to compete u have to spend for people to acknowledged u, and that what proton did. or is it to complicated to u to understand? or are u does 80s with grandad thinking? and yea its not my bapak nya country but if it was u are the 1st to go. cuz reason is u shud not live here as every good effort are tarnish by people like u. So go to other country where everything is perfect and its ok for them to spend 1.5m with the ford, skoda, Peugeot but its a waste for them to spend on a neo hmm typical malaysia thinking sad....

and btw for ur info the car is develop by MEM a UK based company U.K means united kingdom in ENGLAND Yes! England/London(not in malaysia) those overseas guy u are so proud of, they choose to build using the Satria Neo Body (y didint they choose other body instead) so think why a 1982 formed company acknowledged the Satria Neo as having one of the best body but u who i dont think have ever build a race car said its a waste to use a Satria Neo body? y because its a proton if it was a ford u would said owh jeez good car superb.

and this is a rally car for rallying purpose im not comparing the road car to the evo yes evo beats neo 100% but in rallying not necessary. yea ur right driving skill is much more important. so why is it the group N rally car lost to the WRC rally car? they are the same ? both are EVO, one is a group N and one is A WRC spec car? the only different the WRC car cost 1m usd but the group n cost half(maybe) hmm. and if is only about driving why put different category? Wrc car, group N car, Group A car, they should put all in same category and said power and car is not an issue its the driver!!
so ask FIA to change regulation next year k chap, ckp diorang semua drivernya skill!! keta x penting!

what u said is not a comment its a critic so please think!!!
M
  • M
    mrkthxbai
  • Apr 23, 2010
haiyo mr steven, this is a truly prepared rally machine. thats why the price reach a million.haiyo.furthermore Alistair McRae(bro of the late Collin McRae) and Chris Atkinson are skilled drivers. no hard feeling bro.
X
  • X
    xXx
  • Apr 23, 2010
its just the neo body they want , none of any proton technology is being used ... yet the body is being modified and strengthen.... seems like nothing is made in malaysia rite ?
V
  • V
    Viere
  • Apr 23, 2010
278hp. NA. Fuhh.. Type R only 220. Nice try proton. If this at road i think proton will be legend. Smoked the Otai Type R :)
J
  • J
    jay
  • Apr 23, 2010
steven bro. proton baru 25yrs. how long is mitsubishi age? how long is skoda. how long is toyota. even kia the car that people say sucks also older than proton. come on. support malaysian product. like it or not almost 90% people have a malaysian car at their garage. neo s2000 gearbox alone cost nearly 250k. its the technology that makes the rally car expensive. plus its a rally car for sake. don compare with ur cheap modified evos.
P
  • P
    paperclip
  • Apr 24, 2010
this is what happens when people don't understand and just speculate..
so yea the price they spent is 1mill.. most of the stuff on the car is probably 1 off.. 1 off meaning.. its not mass produced.. the need R&D .. man hours for research.. people don't work for hours and go unpaid.. at least i dont.. i'm sure they don't too.. the what about fabrication? its not like there's a mold lying around.. or something.. right? its not about proton how old or what nots.. just cause you can buy a 10k turbo kit and plonk it in the car and be fast.. doesn't mean that rally team do it too..
T
  • T
    tommy
  • Apr 24, 2010
Steven, the real rally spec Evo X and Subaru impreza cost more than 1.5 million, trust me... go google some info about it
L
  • L
    lljusgron
  • Apr 25, 2010
halo.... don't fight laa. people got millions of dollar for driving the car. Us ? what we get.... still have to pay TAX ! still driving recon car or second hand car, if u're lucky ( father paying for everything, u're rich kid or ur inherited millions of ringgit ) only u'll get bloody damn nice car.
So what happen here leave it here and just proud as long our car still be competitive in any sports.
K
  • K
    khachis
  • Apr 26, 2010
proton,produce me a 4wd car please....
D
  • D
    D&J
  • Apr 26, 2010
dear all,

i quite agree with bro paperclip,..if this car were produced as comercial/private car then it shud be cheaper..just off the price guys..lets talk bout others..even they said 10000mil also its their investment..and i believe they study first before dump any for this monster..

the 2.0L which NA that can produce 278bhp is totally monster.
from time to time,i see,proton are developing itself.its a good thing.1 thing that cross to my mind,WHY OUR KARAMJIT SINGH DIDNT DRIVE OUR PRIDE PROTON?..IS IT JUST BECAUSE OF LEFT SIDE DRIVING?
S
  • S
    speed
  • Apr 27, 2010
D&J its karamjit have the chance but he choose to complain about the car and doesnt want to drive the car. so mat salleh is the next opt he should have been alister teammate.
S
  • S
    SBX
  • Apr 28, 2010
of course they choose mat salleh because malaysia driver like to see an accident. kIASU maaa . how to race . ha haha ahaha ....
J
  • J
    john lennon
  • Apr 30, 2010
scobby and Evos which race in this rally is not same as what u can buy from ur AP king...this scobby and Evos is professional tuned...heavyly modified...maybe cost more than RM1.5mil....
A
It?s in point of fact a great and useful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.
A