NewsPorscheVolkswagen

VW-Porsche Overtake Toyota As Worlds Largest Automaker

vw-porsche-logos

VW-Porsche has temporarily overtaken Toyota as the world’s largest automaker. After its merger with Porsche, the German giant posted an output of 4.4 million units so far this year. Toyota on the other hand has produced 400,000 cars less to post a total output of 4 million units since January 2009.

Auto industry analysts IHS Global Insight are reporting that Volkswagen is benefiting from programs in Germany, the UK and China which are meant to help spur car sales. However, Toyota put on the brakes on production during the automotive crisis that hit the industry late last year. This forced the Japanese automaker to cut production substantially to almost half from 2.1 million units to 1.1 million.

After the collapse of GM, Toyota became the world’s largest automaker, producing 9.24 million units in 2008. It is expected to only make about 7 million for 2009. But Toyota will eventually regain its spot as the world’s largest automaker because the Japanese automaker has a production capacity to manufacture about 10 million vehicles a year, far more than VW-Porsche. So once the crisis has passed, expect Toyota to take top spot again.

Source: WorldCarFans

L
  • L
    LOL
  • Nov 11, 2009
wat bout proton?..lol
H
  • H
    haha
  • Nov 11, 2009
hmm...proton? i think i would buy if they sell like AGUSTA rm 1.00

LOL XDDDDDDD
A
  • A
    alonso
  • Nov 12, 2009
proton world automaker ranking? u decide it bro..until now the main issued about quality still cant solved...haihh
S
  • S
    SundayDriver
  • Nov 12, 2009
proton should worry about making cars for now...
only reason ppl buying it because its a cheaper alternative to watever they planned to buy earlier :P
H
  • H
    haha
  • Nov 12, 2009
nah...they never gonna make good quality cars, u know Y ? coz ppl who r working there dun hv a fucking QUALITY INTELLIGENCE BRAIN.

PROTON after all these years in the making, they bought a TOYATA WISH just to copy IT to so call now PROTON EXORA. n the guy tat told me this is the EON branch manager , cant say wer XDDD later he kena goreng.
this is my own opinion.

LOL XDDDDDD
S
eyy...the entry was about toyota-vw-porsche lah....
H
  • H
    haha
  • Nov 13, 2009
opps....soli
B
  • B
    bapakkau
  • Nov 13, 2009
haha says:
November 11, 2009 at 7:13 pmhmm…proton? i think i would buy if they sell like AGUSTA rm 1.00

LOL XDDDDDDD

me says : I think u got confused with the word "over take" and "take over"....
H
  • H
    haha
  • Nov 14, 2009
LOL......WUT IS THE FUCKING DIFFERENT ?
H
  • H
    haha
  • Nov 14, 2009
LOL......WUT IS THE F#@KING DIFFERENT ?
K
  • K
    Kevin
  • Nov 15, 2009
Over take,meaning over take in terms of ranking and so on.

Take over meaning "BOUGHT OVER" by a certain company..

Swt,simple things like this also cant differentiate.

English in M'sia is going down the drain..
S
thanks Kev...
S
may i add?

overtake is like potong kereta depan while u driving...but somehow malaysian like to use "cut" the car in front as a replacement of overtake..hehhehehee....
S