MalaysiaNews

Selangor’s Shell FuelSave Champion Clocks in 21.38km on 1 Litre of Shell FuelSave Petrol

Shell 1 Litre Challenge KL Prize presentation lr

Shell Malaysia today announced the first state winner in its “1 Litre Challenge” campaign, Mr. Ho Chee Ming (27), who clocked in 21.38km using only 1 litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol. This Campaign further complements the recent introduction of Shell’s most advanced fuel economy formula, the Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol, formulated to help motorists save up to one litre with every full tank1.

The two-day event, hosted at the Azra Kamal Enterprise Shell station in Kota Damansara, was the first pit stop of the Challenge, which will also take place in five other major cities around Peninsular Malaysia.

“I was very pleased to learn that so many Malaysians were out in support of the 1 Litre Challenge yesterday as it signifies how many people are interested in becoming a more fuel efficient driver. Their attendance and the overwhelming support we have received, thus far, testifies that ordinary Malaysian motorists can challenge themselves to travel further using only 1 litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol,” said Encik Azman Ismail, Retail National Sales and Operations Manager, Shell Malaysia Trading Sdn Bhd.

Shell 1 Litre Challenge KL Shortlisted participants lr

“At Shell we believe that not all fuels are the same and in line with this, we have made it an integral part of our business to continuously invest in research and development to ensure that our customers benefit from the latest breakthroughs in fuel technology,” he added

Mr Ho Chee Ming agrees, “I always thought that all fuels were the same but it is amazing how choosing the right fuel and being conscious about one’s driving style can really play a difference when it comes to fuel efficiency. I am amazed at how far one can actually go on just one litre of Shell fuel”

Results

Placement Name Total Kilometers Travelled Litres of Fuel Used Kilometers per Litre
1 Ho Chee Ming 111.3 5.205 21.3833
2 Ng Boon Ping 110.9 5.265 21.0636
3 Tan Kok Thye 112.3 5.349 20.9946
4 Fan Ee Vee 111.1 5.306 20.9386
5 Saiful Jazri Zahari 110.9 5.43 20.4236
6 Fong Choon Leong 110.8 5.449 20.3340
7 Azlina Zainuddin 111.6 5.694 19.5996
8 Saleha Bte M Salleh 111.2 5.700 19.5088
9 Vickneswaran Tharmalingam 111.2 6.439 17.2698
10 Jamaliah Azmira Harimah 110.4 6.603 16.7197
11 Nik Anwar Nik Yaacob 110.6 8.433 13.1151

The first place winner Mr Ho Chee Ming who achieved 21.38km on 1 litre, was crowned Selangor State Champion and awarded more than RM3,000 worth of prizes. He is now in the running for the top prize worth RM50,000.

The first leg of the Challenge, received an overwhelming response from Malaysian motorists. Shell received more than 1000 entries for the Selangor level challenge alone, within four days after registration.

Fahrin Ahmad, Malaysia’s favourite TV Host / Actor / Model, and Shell Malaysia’s FuelSave Ambassador, added excitement to the day when he joined in to promote and encourage motorists to practice fuel savvy habits. During the prize presentation Fahrin Ahmad urged all Malaysian motorists to beat his record, obtained during the 1 Litre Challenge in Germany earlier this year, of 21.3km on just 1 litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol.

Designed to communicate and demonstrate fuel efficiency among Malaysian motorists, the “Shell One Litre Challenge” will be hosted in six states – Kuala Lumpur, Ipoh, Penang, Johor Bahru, Melaka and Kuantan. Winners from each of these locations will then compete in the National Finals, held in Kuala Lumpur on 12 December 2009, for the coveted title of Shell FuelSave Champion as well as RM45,000 in cash and RM5,000 worth of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol.

This is just the beginning. Catch the Shell team next weekend at Milyar Mutiara Enterprise, Jelutong Expressway, Georgetown, Penang for the next Shell 1 Litre Challenge Search.

For more information on how to get the most out of your fuel or to register for the 1 Litre Challenge, visit www.shell.com.my/fuelsave or call the ‘One Litre Challenge’ Hotline No: 03-21662007.

W
  • W
    williamclw
  • Nov 6, 2009
damn... should've enter with my myvi 1.3manual.
unofficial 20km/L
E
  • E
    e-tech
  • Nov 6, 2009
WTF... why never says use what car???
Pls lah do better writeup... car important or the fuel more important in this kind challenge????
Top 10 cars should not run with another brand of petrol... see can do even better or not... if worse then shell best lor...
Y
  • Y
    YYC
  • Nov 6, 2009
Unprofessional article. We don't even know what types of car were used in this contest. If there were different car mades used then the result result is even more misleading and flawed.
A
  • A
    alonso
  • Nov 6, 2009
yeah me too want to know wat car they used for this contest?
at least put model of car lor...
X
  • X
    Xand
  • Nov 6, 2009
he use a kapchai, hahaha :D!
Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Nov 6, 2009
Just a cheapo publicity. I think the driving is snail pace. This doesn't reflect the real driving scenario.
W
  • W
    williamclw
  • Nov 6, 2009
at least my 20km/L i get on daily driving to work.. from damansara to balakong.
C
  • C
    crazy
  • Nov 6, 2009
william, what car do u drive and what is your average speed?

BTW, they should publish what car was being used and how long it takes the driver to reach the destination. Its probably not everyone daily driving habit.
W
  • W
    williamclw
  • Nov 6, 2009
myviSE 1.3 manual. average speed around 70kmh or 2k rev... come on, how fast can 1 get during rush hours?? hehe
E
  • E
    e-tech
  • Nov 6, 2009
Still no respond from Keshy?
Maybe must ask politely...

Dear Sir,
Many of us would like to know what cars did the top 10 position use.
Pls respond ASAP.
Thanks in advance.
L
  • L
    LOL
  • Nov 6, 2009
all honda ex5..lol...
Keshy's probably on his journey to Bangkok. Since the campaign was organized by Shell, Let's wait for their answer.
S
  • S
    Sam
  • Nov 6, 2009
21km/l is not difficuly la, honda city idsi can beat it easily
K
  • K
    KS
  • Nov 6, 2009
13KM/L also in the list. OMG la... rubbish
Guys.. The article was forwarded to me by Shell's PR company.. I've contacted them and you should have your answer soon.. Appreciate the "politeness" ..
L
  • L
    lim
  • Nov 6, 2009
oii...
what cars all of them using??
no info??
lousy...= =
S
i cant take more from this shell marketing campaign.
the whole campaign is challenging "we" malaysian wisdom.
1st..the 1 letter per tank thinggy.. if ur kapcai with 5 litter tank can save 1 litter, then baru i cakap campion..
if a merc s500 series with let say 80 litter tank. what can 1 litter of difference make? aint that pure stupidity???
2nd.. cant they list out the car and course for this challenge? even if a supra with t88 turbo tune to 80000000whp . but if entire course was down slope and car the car is just rolling using neutral gear.what so great about it? if shell wanna make such ads campaign.is that the best they can come up with? "1 litter per tank? lollll ..what tank? ex5 tank? boeing 747 tank? .
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 7, 2009
If the guy won and he uses a PRIUS or CIVIC HYBRID.... he listened to me!! hahaha.
E
And how did they measure the exact volume of 1 litre? Definately not accurate by looking at that stock fuel gauge on the meter cluster.

If mythbuster style can accept la. :-)
K
  • K
    Kevin
  • Nov 7, 2009
Yeah,where in the world is the car makes they used?

I bet the guy who won was using either old Vios or Honda IDSI.

ANd they were driving at like 60 km/h,without air con on,windows closed to reduce drag,minimum luggage,and no revving at all.

Simple tap on the pedal only..

Saving 1 litre per tank is nothing great lah.Means every tank I fill,I save RM 1.80? Rubbish..
J
  • J
    jceh83
  • Nov 7, 2009
Rubbish PR write up without details of car put in...
H
  • H
    hamzah
  • Nov 7, 2009
OMG!

MY HONDA CITY I-DSI CAN BEAT THE SHIT OUT OF ALL THESE CONSTESTANTS!!!

DID YOU KNOW THE I-DSI ENGINE WAS ACTUALLY MADE FROM A HYBRID ENGINE?!

EVEYBODY SAY VIVA, FCKING MYVI ALL SAVE FUEL, BUT THAT IS JUST PURE TOTAL BULLSHIT!

LET ME TELL U, I CAN GO 100KM WITH RM10 OF PETROL IN MY HONDA CITY I-DSI.

I THEN TEST DRIVED A VIVA, AT THE NORMAL DRIVING SPEED WHICH I USED IN MY HONDA CITY.

I DROVE THE VIVA AT 80KM/H AND WTH, 80KM/H AT 3400 RPM?!!!

THAT MEANS URE USING MORE FUEL!!!

MY HONDA WENT FURHTER 80KM/H AT 2000RPM ONLY!

ALL THIS ABOUT VIVA AND MYVI IS JUST PURE BULLSHI!

MY HONDA CITY IDSI WENT FURTHER THAN THOSE CARS

IF YOU GUYS DONT BELIEVE, BRING WHATEVER MYVI OR WHATEVER, WE EMPTY THE TANK, FILL IN PETROL AND SEE WHO GOES FURTHER.

I AM WILLING TO DO THIS TO MAKE PEOPLE REALISE.

OR , JUST CALL HONDA, AND ASK THEM ABOUT THE I-DSI ENGINE.

THATS A GOLD MINE ENGINE WHICH MANY PEOPLE DONT KNOW.
K
  • K
    Kevin
  • Nov 7, 2009
Yes Hamzah ,we all know Honda CITY IDSI is a good fuel saver.

But do you know that driving a Honda CITY IDSI is worst than driving a 1000cc Kelisa?

Why I say this? Cause HONDA CITY IDSI has no freaking torque,no power at all.

Thats why it can save so much fuel.And besides,it has a blardy lousy SOHC engine whereas for VIVA and MYVI,they are both DOHC.SO they have much better torque than a stupid HONDA IDSI.

And besides,MYVI and VIVA is so much nicer to drive compared to City IDSI.

I bet even Perodua can make a damn fuel efficient car,just reduce the blardy power lah! Simple! NOOB!
W
  • W
    wwl86
  • Nov 7, 2009
i really wonder how to achieve fuel consumption above 20km/l. on highway + driving at 90kmh?
Y
  • Y
    Yeah RIGHT
  • Nov 7, 2009
Driving at below 2000rpm... you probably can do better with Petronas and BHP or any other . I would support local oil companies instead. What has SHELL done for Malaysia ?
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Nov 9, 2009
SHELL is not a Malaysian company. They do not need to do anything for Malaysia!!! If you have a company outside of your home country, would you do something for their country? SHELL have thousands of pumps around the world. Should they help the country that is starving? How about war torn countries? They are everywhere for money. So are every fuel company.

Civic duty begins with its citizens and not fuel companies! Neither is the goverment as they exist only for money too!!!
I
  • I
    izack04
  • Nov 10, 2009
Munch...munch....Erk!!!Excuse me.
guys.. got a response from Shell over the weekend and this is what I got..

Mechanics of the Challenge

Response for www.Zerotohundred.com

The Shell 1 Litre Challenge encourages ordinary Malaysians to travel further using only 1 litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol. To participate in the Challenge, motorists can either pre-register online at www.shell.com.my/fuelsave, catch the Shell roving teams to register or simply show up during the 1 Litre Challenge Search.

During the elimination round, shortlisted Challenge registrants will be put through a brief interview session with only 12 finalists moving through to the final round. They will return the following day to drive the Shell FuelSave car - 2007 Toyota Altis 1.6 (A); along a pre-determined route (representing a normal day’s journey).

Prior to the start of the journey, finalists be tasked to conduct pre-checks on their vehicle including pumping a full tank of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol and checking the air pressure in the tires.

Each Challenge legs test finalists on different routes hosting different driving conditions hence is not a basis of comparison from state to state.

Nonetheless, the Finalist that is able to travel the furthest distance on 1 litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol travel will emerge as the State Champion and will compete with five other state winners in the National Finals to be held in Kuala Lumpur on 12 December 2009. There they will be tested on the same route and within the same driving conditions.

For the Selangor Challenge leg, finalists began their journey from the Azra Kamal Shell Station in Kota Damansara to the LCCTerminal (via the NKVE [PLUS] and ELITE highway) and back again to the starting point.

In Penang, Challenge leg finalists made a return trip from the Milyar Mutiara Enterprise Shell station located on the Jelutong Expressway (Georgetown, Penang) to Sungai Petani (via the Penang Bridge) and back again to the starting point.
K