MalaysiaNews

Malaysia’s First Shell FuelSave Champion Clocks in 21.344km Using 1 Litre of Shell FuelSave

National Finals prize presentation

Kuala Lumpur, 12 December 2009 – The nation’s first Shell FuelSave Champion, Mr Lai Tsuen Yung from Johor was crowned following the Shell 1 Litre Challenge – National Finals today when he successfully travelled 21.344km on just 1 litre of Shell FuelSave surpassing the other candidates. The Shell 1 Litre Challenge, which attracted thousands of motorists nationwide to compete to see who can travel the furthest using one litre of Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol, was the ideal complement following the recent introduction of Shell’s most advanced fuel economy to Malaysia – Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol.

CMB_6767

Mr Lai Tsuen Yung defeated the closest competitor by 0.288km. As a little difference goes a long way, Mr Lai walked away with the grand prize valued at RM 50,000. The average distance travelled by all six State Winners during the National Final of the contest was 19.251km.

CMB_6784

“This journey has been a great and rewarding experience. Shell FuelSave Unleaded petrol can definitely take us further when combined with the right driving style. I will definitely continue to apply these FuelSave tips to my everyday way of driving to get more savings out of every drop,” said Mr Lai.

CMB_6775

Designed to encourage ordinary Malaysians to travel further using only 1 litre of Shell FuelSave, the Challenge was hosted across six states – Selangor, Penang, Perak, Melaka, Johor and Pahang. All six State Winners converged at the National Finals where they were tasked to drive along a pre-determined route (representing a normal day’s journey). The Challenge began from The Saujana Hotel, Subang to the Kota Damansara exit (via the NKVE highway) and returned to the starting point. Each participant drove a Fuel Save vehicle – Honda Civic 1.8L (A) 2007/08 – equipped with a FuelSave monitoring device installed into each vehicle.

CMB_6785

The FuelSave measuring device calculates the distance travelled (km), average speed, average fuel consumption, and elapsed time. The Device comprised of a vehicle display indicator depicts the 1 litre of fuel, and the percentage of the fuel left. It gathers the vehicle’s power train information to produce fuel consumption readings and then feeds it back to the vehicle display indicator. Upon their return, Shell FuelSave marshals recorded the readings to determine the National Champion.

CMB_6795

“This challenge is very much part of Shell’s commitment to ensure that our customers are aware of the differences in fuel, because not all fuels are the same and it is important that they can make an informed choice of the fuel that meets their needs. We hope that this challenge has demonstrated to Malaysian motorists just how far they can go on 1 litre of Shell FuelSave,” said Dato’ Mohzani Abdul Wahab, Managing Director, Shell Malaysia Trading Sdn Bhd and Shell Timur Sdn Bhd. “We have had a terrific response to the Challenge indicating that we are moving a step closer to leading a more sustainable lifestyle by being more fuel efficient motorists. If we can help persuade more people to practice fuel efficient habits, the amount of fuel we could save as a nation would be significant.”

CMB_6823

Fahrin Ahmad, Malaysia’s favourite TV Host / Actor / Model, and Shell Malaysia’s FuelSave Ambassador, who was at the finale event to share some of Shell’s FuelSave tips also extended his encouragement to the state finalists. “I am proud and impressed by all the participants of this Challenge who have proven that by making the right fuel choice and driving smart motorists can make a real difference to their mileage. In my opinion they are already winners.”

CMB_6828

Shell FuelSave is the result of Shell’s latest innovation in fuel research and technology. It is formulated to help motorists save up to 1 litre of fuel for every full tank1 by reducing energy loss in the engine by lubricating where your normal engine oils can’t easily reach. This improves the efficiency of your engine, thereby providing you with improved fuel economy making saving easier, especially when combined with the right driving style.

table

Record Table:
Rank
State
Name
State Record
National Finals
(Kilometers per Litre)
Record (Kilometers
per Litre)
Johor
Mr Lai Tsuen Yung
22.3km
21.344km
Malacca
En Syamsul Azwan
Bin 23.18km
21.056km
Mustar
Mr Ho Chee Ming
21.38km
19.472km
Perak
Mr Low Kah Choon
23.17km
19.136km
Mr Alan Foo Chuan Huat
17.75km
18.320km
Pahang
Dr Syed Hassan Syed Abdul
22.21km
16.176km

For more information on how to get the most out of your fuel visit www.shell.com.my/fuelsave.

B
  • B
    bizardo
  • Dec 13, 2009
a civic 1.8? interesting!
Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Dec 13, 2009
Aiyo.....Another shell cheap publicity?

Are they that desperate for sales compared to other petroleum companies??
H
  • H
    HONDA MANIAC
  • Dec 13, 2009
shut up zain, u should appreciate what shell done for u. u will not be able to survive without shell ok.
F
  • F
    fai2max
  • Dec 13, 2009
y thay use singapore car wan ??this is not malaysia contest mea ??
J
Yes I also wondered why is it like that. But the good thing is they saved fuel and this is one boost up for shell.
V
There is no substantial proof to declare that. I would suggest that the track of the car to be presented as data to back this all up. How to do that? Easy. Tag each with GPS tracker. 1km is very fast only. Other this is all marketing rubbish. My wife's car is using shell for years (RON97).... Don't see any changes in mileage as i track it. The only thing changes is the price per liter going up up an up. :)
I am using Synergy F1 and i like it so far the car has no knocking at all.
S
  • S
    SV
  • Dec 14, 2009
I've been using Shell petrol since 5 years ago.. No differences! in fact I tried using Esso once awhile and guess what? it is almost the same milleage i get when travelling around KL.... Only differences can be seen in RON 95 and RON 97 if u pump RM 50. I could get more milleage with RON 97... stupid introduction of RON 95 and it doesn't make any sense when government said it could save fuel!

Who said we can't survive without shell??????? LOL

Furthermore this contest is just a marketing tool to promote shell to everyone and what the heck they are using Honda civic? why can't a proton/peroduo car? Singapore plate number LOL another big laugh to Shell...
Z
  • Z
    zain
  • Dec 14, 2009
HONDA MANIAC,

You are not only a maniac, but an idiotic, empty headed SOB that likes to likes to put words in to ppl's mouth. This is a PUBLIC forum. I have my saying and you have no right to dictate what I want to express about the subject.

Please do not be rude. Please learn some manners from your mother, if she still haven't given up teaching you little brat.

BTW, do you really think honda is sooooooooo great? (BTW, is that honda you are driving belongs to your parents?? hahahaha....) I guess you still haven't grown up and see what other great cars in the world.

Sheeesshhh....kids nowdays....
H
  • H
    HaZaRd
  • Dec 14, 2009
zain... obviously u both are good match... emotional driven.. typical kids... LOL~
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • Dec 15, 2009
This kind of campaign could be use the other way around. i mean, despite using the petrol, it is the car that transform it into power which translate into the km per litre recording.

so in this case, honda has proved to be the most effficient combustion engine, using fuel from shell!

not honda fanboy myself, although i own a honda, but the point is, this kind of campaign is misleading and promote dis unity among malaysian. AG should be reported and all petrol must be sold free to avoid any confusion and arguments.

understand? keh keh keh
D