BMWNewsVideos

BMW M5 ‘Ring Taxi’ At The Nurburgring

The Nurburgring is the holy grail of classic and modern motorsports. It’s one of the longest tracks in the world at 20km and features 73 trick curves and bends. Dubbed the ‘Green Hell’, the Nurburgring is where modern sports car manufacturers go to “fine-tune” their soon to be prized offerings, heck its the one destination every gearhead aspires to visit someday. But what if you’re not from Europe and don’t have a car to drive around?

That’s where BMW comes in and makes your day. I’m pretty sure you have already heard of the BMW M5 ‘Ring-Taxi’ as it has been around for a couple of years already. So why am I going on about it?? Well I came across this video and thought of sharing it. If you’re going to be in Germany and you’re a motorsport, gearhead or car nut, then the Nurburgring is a must visit and a ride on the M5 ‘Ring-Taxi’ is a necessity. Watch the video to see why.

C
  • C
    Charles
  • Oct 9, 2009
Thats def not a rm65 Sentral to KLIA ride for sho hahaha.
E
  • E
    eddz
  • Oct 9, 2009
how much arr? i wanna have a go oso..
N
  • N
    netmatrix
  • Oct 9, 2009
If i were there, mid way i would play fart sounds a few times just to put the driver off. And see how he copes with...... cabin pressure. hahahaha
J
  • J
    Jy
  • Oct 9, 2009
The driver is so lucky!
A
  • A
    A1Diablo
  • Oct 10, 2009
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SvdMiB2nAKg&feature=fvw

Youtube video of Jackie Stewart talking through the original full course Nurburgring circuit which includes the Nordschleife section. Each lap was over 22km long with 187 corners. Take note of the video - very few armco and you are greeted with hedges, fences, trees and rockface should you make a mistake. Crazy. Stewart dubbed it the 'green hell' because it was the most challenging and dangerous F1 circuit. Still, he was the quickest driver there.

The last F1 race there was held in 1976 after Niki Lauda almost died. Modern F1 returned to Nurburgring but at the purpose built and safer southern section
A