Auto EventsFeaturesGoodyearMalaysia

2009 Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia – Qualifying Results and Pics

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (27)

The inaugural Goodyear Formula Drift Malaysia went off to a great start. Though it was overcast the whole day and the heavens really did let rip later on, spectators and supporters turned out in full force, all couple of thousands of them. The first day was just practise and qualifying but even that had the crowd on its feet.

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (5)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (14)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (279)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (259)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (258)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (164)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (55)

The practise round for the drifters was an opportunity to get accustomed to the concrete outer wall that runs by the judges stand and all throughout the course. As mentioned before, drifters get more points the closer they get to the wall and this is known as “riding-the-wall”. Among the 50 over international and local drifters, it was Mad Mike and his four-rotor Mazda RX-7 FD that got closest to the wall, but it was Tengku Djan who was the smoothest, fastest and bravest among them all.

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (64)

I’m speculating that the finals will be a repeat of what happened in Thailand but maybe not quite so as well. In the qualifying stage, Djan took top spot with Ryuji Miki taking third and Malaysian drifter Hanizam taking the second spot, Mike however only managed 19th spot when he spun out on his first round of qualifying. Well I’m about to head back to MAEPS and cover day two but meanwhile here’s all the pictures from day one as well as the qualifying results.

Car #

Driver

Score

Rank

Country

12 Tengku Djan 88.7 1 Malaysia
72 Hanizam 81.2 2 Malaysia
26 Ryuji Miki 78.2 3 Japan
18 Ariff 77.4 4 Malaysia
34 Ser Ming Hui 76.6 5 Malaysia
59 Ivan Lau 72.7 6 Malaysia
5 Tan Tat Wei 69.8 7 Malaysia
46 Nazrul 68.8 8 Malaysia
84 Lim Joe Han 67.3 9 Malaysia
9 Rifat 67.2 10 Indonesia
93 Faireen 65.9 11 Malaysia
74 Chaiyos 65.8 12 Thailand
80 Ian 65.4 13 Hong Kong
25 Chanpol 65.3 14 Thailand
55 Kulachart 64.3 15 Thailand
33 Yong 64.1 16 Malaysia
82 Hoong 63.8 17 Malaysia
39 Nattapol 63.3 18 Thailand
11 Mad Mike 62.1 19 New Zealand
28 Mervyn 61.6 20 Malaysia
66 Davide 61.5 21 Thailand
10 Ivan Lim 61.3 22 Singapore
44 Kiki 60.5 23 Thailand
85 Heng 60.1 24 Malaysia
77 Auttapon 58.5 25 Thailand
38 Raymond 58.5 26 China
17 Kevin 58.5 27 Malaysia
22 David 58.2 28 Philippines
13 Rhenadi 56 29 Indonesia
75 Narubet 53.1 30 Thailand
24 Nittipat 52.7 31 Thailand
2 Zee 52.2 32 Malaysia

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (68)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (85)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (98)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (115)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (117)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (143)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (170)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (218)

2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (40)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (80)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (194)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (4)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (104)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (244)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (49)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (106)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (251)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (52)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (276)2009 Formula Drift Malaysia (20)

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
A
Aiyah. I'm so jealous, u guys got some great angles. I only had from the grandstand.

Anyways, I will upload my pics soon, please check them out at here for now:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/12/goodyear-formula-drift-teaser.html
A
  • A
    alonso
  • Dec 20, 2009
sighh..venue near in my house but i miss it this year..argghh
P
  • P
    pokemon
  • Dec 20, 2009
finally...seeing a rally icon, Rifat Sungkar in the R3 RWD Waja...
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Dec 20, 2009
its awesome seeing rifat eventhough i wish it was djan instead!!....anyway good luck t.djan!!!
A
Guys, as promised, I've uploaded more pics. Check em out here:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/12/goodyear-formula-drift-day-1-paddock.html

Thanks!!!
Azmir ....

No reason to be jealous.. This is not a competition.. I think you got some great shots .. It's not the angle that matters but how you make the most of what you have .. Cheers bro.. Appreciate your patronage..
J
  • J
    JerKinXx
  • Dec 21, 2009
nice pictures! sad cant watch...

Wanna ask that I tawt waja is fwd, can drift like rwd?
H
  • H
    har1th7
  • Dec 21, 2009
that waja is a special waja made by r3 for d.jan to promote proton in drifting.... the body is still waja but the powerplant is sr20... its good for promoting proton but not balance for drifting... that y d.jan went for ae86 and now sil-180
A
Keshy...i know it's not a competition, but I wish I had access to other areas. That would have diversified the pictures I took. Anyways, I've posted more pics of the qualifying round here:

http://azmir1.blogspot.com/2009/12/goodyear-formula-drift-day-1.html

I will post more on the finals soon.

Thanks!!!
G
Thanks for the good writeup. It if truth be told used to be a leisure account it. Look complex to more brought agreeable from you! However, how could we be in contact?
G