NewsProton

Proton Offers AUD 1,200 To Satria Buyers in Australia

proton_satria

Well, looks like Proton is facing a real world situation outside of its usual ‘comfort zone’ (Malaysia) and is now having to entice buyers with incentives instead of hiding behind governmental protection. In Australia, our very own national car maker Proton is offering AUD1200 worth of petrol in the form of 12 Caltex $100 fuel cards for Satria 1.6 buyers.

According to Proton’s calculations based on the Satria’s average fuel consumption of 7.2liter/100km on an annual usage of 20,000lm with fuel cost at $1.50AUD per liter, the $1,200 will be enough to cover 55% of the owners annual fuel costs during the first year.

According to our calculations AUD1,200 times by the current exchange rate that is hovering around the 3.0 rate equals RM3,600 which we will happily accept but wait, we Malaysians, the very reason Proton exists in the first place, are forced to buy Protons meager offerings which basically means we don’t get any incentives because we literally don’t have a choice when it comes to us buying cars.

Source: CarScoop

D
  • D
    DLegend
  • May 14, 2008
C#bai Proton. Use our money to fund their fruitless exploits in other countries. Take care of your own first lar, you bastards.
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 14, 2008
proton shouldn't even exist...if not..we all should be driving honda civic type R as our daily car now..
A
  • A
    arrowhead
  • May 14, 2008
rofl.. proton did it again...!
H
  • H
    har1th7
  • May 14, 2008
what ???... they get AUD 1200... here we only get Touch n Go with full tank of gas.... something not right here......
B
  • B
    Benny
  • May 14, 2008
wow so good give free petrol somemore. Our government here if they reduce the tax for foreign cars and compare with proton many buyers would prefer foreign cars. Proton should have find a group partner like WV . What a waste man because of income of proton going to be distribute equally they rather develope damn self. Proton don't have the technology or experiance to challange world market sure la proton won't do well in Australia. Australia national car came out later then Proton also doin better in their own country.
B
  • B
    bangkai_jk
  • May 14, 2008
+1 for wrongth7
M
  • M
    Mitevo7
  • May 14, 2008
Hmm , Proton .... Please make a big change in the next half year ... This sort of crap is nothing but one of the marketing stradegy to me ... Your products speaks ... Not our Tax Payers' MONEY ...
B
  • B
    bien335
  • May 15, 2008
+2 for wonth7.

you are teh shizzors of teh interwebs
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • May 15, 2008
everything is a waste, is it? proton is a waste. engineering ability is a waste. and comparing proton and mercedes or honda who both had existed for atleast 40 years, for them, is FAIR of all account.

can proton build a car? yes. proton can. and whats your problem? taxation? petrol charges? any other more? some machai to drive you?

i wonder what u are barking at. go and work hard and buy yourself whatever sportscar you want. on tax, gomen will have to abide to the regional law and bow down to pressures from outside to release proton protections. now we got hyundai selling cheaper than perdana.

on petrol charges, it is unavoidable. if you dont want to pay pricey juicy petrol, go buy a mountain bike. bmx oso can.
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 15, 2008
and my mum will be driving a skyline gtr to the market
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 15, 2008
to the dude above...u must be send by mahathir to defend him...all we wan it just a FAIR PRICE, u think those toyota, honda or watever imported car selling in malaysia is at a fair price???...if without proton, we can easily get a toyota vios under rm50k...WITH GOOD QUALITY....wat bout PROTON???....rm50k for a car made by mineral water bottle plastic...

proton used to be the pride of nation,..now?...a laughing stock

still wonder wat we r barking at??..i dint see anyone in this thread complaining about petrol price anyway..

if there's 100k for u....will u buy a foreign car or proton??...ASK UR SELF
I
  • I
    ihsan000
  • May 15, 2008
rite now we using sumhow using a evo 6 or nissan gtr
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • May 15, 2008
i sense some discontent about being a Malaysian from some people here. it always about you and what you can have/ what you can this-and that. never be anything about the country or anything that benefits the country. maybe some of the people like to be a Malaysian for some specific reasons a.k.a reasons that give them benefits.

so, bathing blood for nation is never beneficial to them, thus i wonder how many would do that.

i understand the grievance of having to buy cars that overwhelmingly high due to protections to proton. but like i said, the protections are slowly reduce and I believe it is sooner rather than later, that we will be free of many protections on proton.

i am sure the quality of protons as whole (except for traditional/ hallmark problems like Power Window, windscreen, etc. etc), has been on par with all those Hondas and Toyotas. For direct comparison, a Vios would be just as good as Waja - and vios would be free of small, niggling problems like i said before. but the quality is very much identical. but still a vios is at par with a waja. and if you take that CPS waja, well, i guess thats a point up for proton in bhp number.

wonder how the first 25 years of toyota compared to proton's first 25 years? and dont forget the fact that, the JAPANESE FULLY SUPPORT their car industry and i believe toyota enjoyed that too during their first 25 years.

too bad proton was born too late where people are easily swayed by what they see.

so the people always make bad comparison without acknowledging whether it is FAIR or not.

yes. yes. you can go and buy whatever car you like.

its jolly good to be living in malaysia, right? you are free to do whatever you like, without bothering the others. Not all country is as good as malaysia and at some countries, they would ransack your house, take all your golds, and make you serve them as slaves. and worship the leader. and of course you will be living very poor.
M
  • M
    mag9556
  • May 15, 2008
We are suffering like crazy and they are using our money to spent it like this..
D
  • D
  • May 15, 2008
ahaha,....proton's interior made out of plastic mineral bottle water...
thats true bro....such crappy parts they put in proton cars..
good one wongth7
R
  • R
    rattan
  • May 15, 2008
hell with them.....
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 15, 2008
why would someone moan bout their opponent's strenght when their business gone bad instead of improving the quality of their own product???....perodua also can do it y cant proton???....u heard perodua complain b4????......IF U WANNA DO A BUSINESS....DO IT NICELY LA...IF U SCARE CANT COMPETE WITH OTHER PPL...Y START AT ALLL???....proton in own country also cant do well then wanna invade other countries...like learning how to run before learning hwo to walk...if give proton 20 years time...u honestly think how much they will improve??....or still will come out with cars like savvy..(which the rear wheel got alignment problem and needs to be recall back to the factory...LOL)...

at least be fair and give the rakyat choices la...now u tax foreign car till so high...is like forcing ppl to buy ur own car...how will u feel if ur car export to other country and they purposely tax ur car like wat the government did here??...(then u will end up giving $2000 for buyers to pump petrol??...LOL)
D
  • D
    deora
  • May 15, 2008
+10 to wongth7

-10 to drMpower
D
  • D
    deora
  • May 15, 2008
drMpower ....if you dont mind your hard earn money used as fund for foreigners to pump petrol then go ahead la...NOT US!..(and bath your blood in their fuel tanks too..haha)
P
  • P
    pandaB
  • May 15, 2008
dont get too emotional about evrything proton or any other local company's products guys... condemness dont change businesss startegies no matter which part of the world we come from. :").
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • May 15, 2008
well. now i know who is who and what they really want. for some reasons, these fellas admit to being Malaysian without anysort of wanting to help our national car company and instead, being born in the heydays of GTRs and Vioses, or those VTECs.

champaign popping time, come-come, we are friends. other than that, no mate. its you as you are. and me, as i am. thats it

i challenge anyone..i repeat, ANYONE to compare the degree of achievement of the first 25 years of Proton and the first 25 years of .... lets say... Honda? or Toyota? who ever u like. and please take few things into considerations, such as: the state of knowledge as during those 25 years, the amount of support received from the locals during that 25 years, and of course, any technology advancement on that 25 years. and yeah, protection by the respective government towards their industry.

but sadly here in malaysia, Proton was born in the moment where advancement of technology was waaaayy to far for it to catch up. thats been Proton, as a baby, needs to do 100m dash with all those kids which already walking. and to make it worse, local people like some here, keep cheering for the running kids.

but japan people kept cheering for baby Toyota when it was start to compete with mercedes/ porsche/ bmw.
F
  • F
    felix
  • May 15, 2008
The japan nation support their own national car so much is bcos their car maker always give their best quality car to their nation...take toyota for example...they always hav 2 spec which is JDM spec for own nation and another is for export....if u happen to buy the recon car from Japan (JDM spec) b4...then u would know how good is their car quality compare to the export model they have it here or anywhere...and our Plotong also practice the same method too....they also hav 2 different spec n quality car made for local people n export market too...same Plotong Bira but hav totally different quality...but just vice verse....the good quality one for export one....n the lousy quality one for our own nation to buy....somemore have to pay extra....if u hav time pls check how much the Gen 2 they sell to Taiwan....much lower than here...somemore got 0% interest for 3 years + free full bodykits....not like here...so call R3 bodykit for Sabby which charges us 3k++....i can get a better design one with less than 1k only....darm....dunno y they hav this kind of stupid mind set...mayb they think the m'sia nation is stupid n easy to cheat koh...but wat to do leh...Plotong can stil survive mah bcos they always hav such an 'die hard' fans to support them mah...the same car model like Wira can stil last for so many years without any changes or improvement...eh eh..sory...got improvement lah...the front grill is different design de...also the rear light...sory sory...really 'solute' them loh...the same engine use d for so many years...the CAMPro which CAM cannot Pro one...hahaha...good.
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • May 15, 2008
so, how long they put on the hammers so that their JDM second hand to be that good? 25 years?

it must be more, right?

and on u bang to those bodykits bla bla bla. u go and check any of the JDM car manufacturers first 25 years. hows their design/ bodykits/ quality/ bla bla bla?

doom malaysia. her next gen is pretty much poisoned by those bodykits and opponent's great technology advancement.

ps- its like applying for jobs and they state 'experience' as one of the requirements. then how you gonna have experience if you have never got a job in the first place? think la dey..
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 15, 2008
since proton established so many years after the existence of honda toyota etc....and proton have all the good technology given to them by tat time...and yet still cant do better??...at the start..ok...first generation of proton saga with crappy quality...so wat??...its our first car to be proud of.......untill now..(with all the technology considered)....ur quality still like tat??....and i think even those some of those old generation proton even have better quality then the new ones....u can say toyota honda etc hav a longer history in motoring, but what bout the time when they start????...do they have all the technology they needed????...look wat they are now....people keep improving their product...what bout u??...lousy product goes moderate...and goes back to lousy again.....i still cant see proton conquer the global market given them 20 years from now..(mayb they will get bankcrupt in 2 years time..LOL)....now i only understand why singapore are so much more advance than us despite having a almost similiar starting point...becos some ppl love to give excuses for themselves for not being successful...nvm...MALAYSIA BOLEH!!...our man also can reach the space wat....wats so big deal????...(although they tumpang's ppl spaceship..LOL)
W
  • W
    wongth7
  • May 15, 2008
haha..yaya..i forgot bout proton make changes to those front grill thingy le...got much improvement for air intake leh!!...dun play play...hahaha...tats wat proton learn after 20 years time..lol
D
  • D
    drMpower
  • May 16, 2008
its not something you can with LEGO. take there, put here. take summore, then viola ~ a car!

Soichiro Honda's Honda, yes, the very JDM style bodykittos, and VTECs motor company, started in 1948 and only in 1989, the honourable mega VTEC was born. thats what..... 41 years after the company started?

i believe, with proton's CPS, after only 20-30 years, is a good start. i admit on proton's headstart in the era where cars and vehicles' technology are abundance, but still we cannot take VTEC and remodel it our own Proton engine. still we have to fork out resources, and intelligence to have our own range of engine.

and i also admit we did mix business very much into politickings.

well, like you say, some people like to give excuses for their failure. and too bad, people that like to do everything that benefits them, are also very big in numbers these days.
F
  • F
    felix
  • May 17, 2008
pls lah...even that so call 'CPS' also not the Plotong own technology leh..it also 'bought' it from people one leh...yes Honda take so many years only to developed the VTEC...but at least this is their original tech leh...even got copy from other but they stil got did enhancement on it mah...but now people giv u Plotong such a good chance to copy how people do business n copy their technology (VW)..but the Plotong stil so 'lan ci' said this cannot that cannot...ended up mah stil produce cracp car loh....n now the most funny thing is
when they keep on giv us the nation lousy quality product n we stil wanna support them leh....even Thailand also got the 'CPS' tech earlier than us in their Gen 2 ;p y they cannot giv us first leh...must wait until ppl all buy liao then now only come the CPS...too late lah...tak kan u wanna sell ur current Waja, Gen 2, Persona n then get the new Gen 2 again koh...think lah first dey ;) n hav u see any changes for the new Gen 2 ah...no rite...just add the CPS n call New generation Gen 2 liao...alamat...really good business strategic loh..no wonder cannot bankcrupt loh...hahaha..
R
  • R
    rusifiz
  • May 30, 2008
"japan car has 2 spec, better for local, less for export. for our country, it is the other way round" (felix)

I would definitely agree with felix for this point. it's a good one indeed. no matter how you see it, proton treat us like an "anak tiri" while we are in the first place who gave them money by buying their cars (not that we have much choice actually)

"Proton was born in the moment where advancement of technology was waaaayy to far for it to catch up" - drMpower

You said it yourself on the above line. why start in the first place?
why cant we be just like Thailand for example?
they produce honda cars and sell them cheap. if I'm not mistaken this is the regulation made by their government, car manufacturers must produce or at least assemble their cars locally before they can sell it in the country.
why is this done?
the same reason why proton was born in the first place. to provide jobs and technology transfer to the people. local people.

to provide job and to expend the economy, we dont necessarily need to create a new brand of our own. just produce others and make profit from it. why reinvent the wheel?

am I not patriotic? I'm am more than willing to protect the country if we are being invaded by others. but being loyal and patriotic has its limit. I'm not a foolish Tuah who ends up being betrayed by the Sultan he served. I'm a Jebat who fight for the right.

but of course, these are just my opinions. nothing I say here can change Malaysia nor Proton as it already is.

thank you.
S
  • S
    sagaria?
  • Jun 4, 2008
I like proton car. if i have downpayment i buy satria neo.

i see lot proton car on the road, taking people to work and kids to school, and go for holiday or elsewhere.

bravo to malaysian.
M
  • M
    Marah_BN
  • Jun 7, 2008
proton is a failure just like any other projects by our beloved government such as masjid kristal + MSC + Astronaut or Astronaut Tea Guy . Arh, give up already la on these minister. Malaysians, please change the government before it is too late
M