GT-RNewsNissanPorsche

Porsche vs Nissan – Drivers Republic Finally Settles The Score

ovevision30_0001_fg

The Nissan GT-R set the ‘Ring on fire back in April with a single lap of 7:29. That news didn’t go over well in Germany, where team Porsche insinuated that Nissan cheated by using a non-standard GT-R to achieve the supersonic time. Porsche even took a bone-stock GT-R to the ‘Ring and its chief test track driver could only manage a 7:54. Nissan defended its time as legit and has provided solid evidence to support its case, but Porsche established enough doubt for Drivers Republic to bring a GT2 and GT-R to the famed Nürburgring to see which vehicle was faster.

Drivers Republic put both cars in the hands of an accomplished Nürburgring veteran, Chris Harris, who is also the author of this excellent article. Both vehicles were stock, except the Japanese-spec GT-R had its limiter removed. The Nissan also had Bridgetone rubber at the corners, which are actually different than the stickier Dunlops that Tochio Suzuki utilized during his 7:29 run. Nissan claims the soon-to-be-standard Dunlops are five seconds faster, but that’s when in the hands of Mr. Suzuki who is one this planet’s preeminent ‘Ring racers. The track was wet during the run, which you would think favors the AWD GT-R, though Harris claims the GT2 felt faster in a straight line. You’re probably dying to know which vehicle came out on top, and while we will tell you that one car was nine seconds faster than the other, you’ll have to click here to find out for yourself.

S
  • S
    sir-fear-row
  • Nov 25, 2008
and the winner is......GT2
C
  • C
    chin
  • Nov 25, 2008
GT2 has won. No way there could be such a big difference in timing between the GT2 and GT-R lap times. Seems like some marketing strategy from Nissan instead of true facts.

Again we come back to the same phrase. 'You get what you pay, and you pay what you get'.
A
  • A
    anonymous4477
  • Nov 25, 2008
damn sad and frustrated to know the truth...but my love will always stay with the Godzilla...
K
  • K
    kutujayus
  • Nov 25, 2008
isn't the GTR is supposed to be compared to a 911 turbo??...
GT2 is too expensive for the price range??....
even for the corvette ZR-1... it's 30% more expensive than the stock GTR
if we spend the exact amount of money on the cars...
GTR with 20-30Ks of modification...
then let's see who is the winner....
LOL
B
  • B
    bnr_32
  • Nov 25, 2008
911 turbo was the bench mark for nissan when they was building the gtr.. and it supposed to be compared with the 911 turbo and not the 911 gt2.. the title shouldn't be nissan vs porsche.. it should be gtr vs 911 turbo.. i think the question to be asked here is why when Porsche took a bone-stock GT-R to the ‘Ring and its chief test track driver could only manage a 7:54? even on a wet and damp track as in the article they manage to clock 7:55
A
  • A
    Anderson
  • Nov 25, 2008
This is not fair, how can you take another model of Porsche to compare with nissan GTR?
the controversial is about the GTR with 911 turbo, instead of GT2.
What a dumb comparison...
must well people take an upgrade version of GTR to beat the GT2???

this is cheap for me...
If got balls, jz try the 911 instead of GT2!!! Loser!!!!
T
  • T
    toin_toin_toin
  • Nov 25, 2008
y are they using Bridgetone tayar on the GTR not dunlup like the japanese did? like everyone say its 911 turbo doik... not GT2.. i belive that whit rite crazy japanese driver and a dyr condtion and dunlup tayar GTR will be faster than a GT2.. and what a shame the GT2 only manage to 6 secs faster than GTR when GTR got 40HP less 300 kilogram heavyer and 80000 cheaper... omg if im working for Porsche i think i will kill my self.
A
  • A
    alien
  • Nov 25, 2008
This article doesnt help at all. This is gonna add more fuel to the controversy as i see it. Wrong 911. Wrong tyres. Wrong track conditions.
I say, it's about time, some one out there get a 911 Turbo, a GTR on the said Dunlops and redo the 'Ring. Im wondering why haven't the big name mags out there do this already with all hoo-haa on this Posh vs. Nissan thing.
H
  • H
    hsk
  • Nov 25, 2008
yalor...y gt2 wan??
A
  • A
    Anderson
  • Nov 25, 2008
becoz 911 confirm cannot beat GTR la, thats y!!!

But still....
they are trying their best to let people know Porsche still wins,
(but in different vehicle)~

Not 911 btw....
this is not proud, jz a group of idiot trying to calm all the porsche buyer dont be panic....porsche still wins
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Nov 25, 2008
Dude... Its a 911... GT2 that is. Seems like u guys up there are very, very, very, very enthusiastic about GT-R. So am I. But to argue only on the Nurburgring laptime... It's a silly bet. Yes, both cars can go fast. But it also depends on the drivers as well. Many factors can play with the lap times.

For Porsche to protect their beloved 911 model, is protective. But we should be impressed that 911 doesn't have a perfect layout in the beginning. But with their effort on a shaky base of building a supercar, the outcome is just remarkable.

For Nissan, they have planned how to build the GT-R from scratch perfectly. They indeed have brains to make a Godzilla. They provide the best of everything for the car. So its not surprising they'd made a perfect car.

But for the 7:29 laptime, it's sort of the high score of the whole Nurburgring game. It requires right time, right tyre tempreture, right driver, right guts, right etc. So I guess Nissan was very, very, very lucky to get that laptime.

There. End of my personal conflict. Not sure 'bout you guys. Just give it a break.
T
  • T
    t_danker
  • Nov 25, 2008
To begin with, let me just say that im the biggest Godzilla fan of them all.

But in my opinion, the purpose of the article was to highlight the GT-R's time of 7:29.03 seconds made by Toshio Suzuki. Porsche isn't buying the fact that the GT-R can lap the 'Ring' at that monstrous time.

The author even said it, even if the GT-R was on the stickier Dunlops, 7:29.03 seconds is just too far fetched compared to the time he did of 7:55.90 seconds.

Thats like 27 freaking seconds..

The usage of the GT2 instead of the regular 911 Turbo wasn't the issue here. Its the time that is questioned.

My 2 cents.
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Nov 25, 2008
p/s: I'd still buy a GT-R rather than a 911. =P
H
  • H
    hsk
  • Nov 25, 2008
SO...U MEAN NISSAN CHEATING IN THE NUR LA?

just my 5 cent
T
  • T
    teamsleepnine
  • Nov 25, 2008
gimme the porsche pls....
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Nov 25, 2008
That article was why too long to read so i got bored,they should went straight to the point. So reading the comments the GT2 won like Wow the GTR got beat(in a sarcastic tone). And does it really matter?
if you're a petrol head like almost every other person that bothers reading this.. then yes.. it does matter... but referring to the article.. i have to say that the GTR was purpose built to beat the Porsche.. It did.. marginally.. the Porsche was built for fun.. driving pleasure.. and it succeeded.. it doesn't matter who wins.. its just a matter of what you want.. if you could afford any of these two cars.. im sure u could easily afford a Ferrari.. so its just a matter of what you want really.. being the fastest (GTR).. having fun (Porsche).. or you love the attention (you know who).. everybody has their own opinions and wants..
C
  • C
    crazykatak
  • Nov 25, 2008
me luv the Porsche
S
  • S
    Shinjite
  • Nov 26, 2008
Wrong Porsche car taken into battle >_>
The freaking GT2 has 530HP, what a comparison. They should compare it to the Vspec instead

GTR's main target is the 911 Turbo with 480HP not the 530HPGT2 >_>
Z
Guess Porsche wanted to regain its title back by using a 911 GT2 instead of the normal 911. Well..since they're using a 911 GT2 in this test and NOT the normal 911 I'd say I will choose Nissan.

Porsche oh Porsche..wait for the V-Spec to come and eat you back lol.
R
  • R
    roy_fatboy
  • Nov 26, 2008
doing this actually bings more shame towards porsche..

no point standing in denial..

face it, you lost.. hahahahahahahahahahaha.....

Godzilla ROXX..
J
  • J
    JINEIL2EN
  • Nov 26, 2008
of cos GT2 is better than GTR la...
A
  • A
  • Nov 26, 2008
guys, please try to understand the whole point of this Nurburgring run.. it's not which car is faster, it's about whose claim is reputable..

It's a test whether the 7:29 is even realistic. Hence they take the more powerful GT2, which was ALSO, supposedly to be SLOWER than the GTR. So, it shouldn't matter, 997 turbo, or the GT2, or the Carrera GT, or enzo. It's just relativity, in the same track condition, same driver, but different cars.

however, the GTR which supposedly is faster than the GT2 in the dry, is actually slower than the GT2 in the wet even with its DSG and advanced 4 wheel drive.. by right, it should kill the GT2 since the rear engine, rear wheel, high torque porsche is definitely not easy to drive around the bends in the wet!

so, how come?

whose claim would u believe? fyi, Chris Harris is known to be non-biased as he says it as it is.. he even proved the gtr is faster than the porsche gt3 and bmw m3 in a track test previously..
L
  • L
    Lennon
  • Nov 26, 2008
530hp vs 480hp, 1460 kg vs 1740kg........ Even i doubt GTR could run 7.29 with it's massive weight....... But then GTR is more sensible and affordable car......
T
  • T
    toin_toin_toin
  • Nov 26, 2008
yeah but pls understand that wet road dosent mean the advanced 4wheel drive have the advantage coz u have to see 40hp less and 300kg heavyer than the porsche so is also definitely not easy to drive around the bends in the wet!!! and as we all know even in a small top gear track if it a wet condition they take out 4 sec from the wet lap time...which mean will be 4 secs faster if is dry that is only 1.19 secs track....this is 7 mint ++ of track of coz its posible to do 7.29 secs in a dry condition... all i can say is it dose matter if 997 turbo, or the GT2, or the Carrera GT, or enzo what car u comparing time in the dry and wet...
A
  • A
  • Nov 26, 2008
yo kesh, i dun think who can afford gtr can afford porsche or ferrari.. gtr is HALF the price, thats the whole big deal!! similar performance, at half the price!!

then again, this have been the same story since, forever.. japs vs contis..
E
  • E
    ephique
  • Nov 26, 2008
Agrees with adam.

If comparing both cars on Hp/$, the GT-R would make the whole 911 family weeps. Another Japanese car manufacturer did tried, which is the RX-7(FD range), but didn't managed to catch up. So Nissan succeeded, a huge applause for them.

Next goal, Asian Bugatti Veyron killer. Can't wait for that. Any nicknames?
A
  • A
  • Nov 26, 2008
great job by nissan.. not the slightest doubt about the overall achievement..

i'd buy the gtr when i can afford one, just because i cannot afford the porsche n ferraris.. kekeke..
i stand corrected.. i was looking at it more from a second hand market kind of thing.. and into the 800k for a gtr.. same for a used Ferrari or Porsche.. May not be as fast as the GTR.. but used doesn't mean it doesn't look good.. thats why its more about what you want..
A
  • A
  • Nov 27, 2008
yup yup, cudnt agree more.. :D
W
  • W
    waihung
  • Dec 14, 2008
i see a lot of people support the GTR
but personally i prefer the porsche more.

to all the GTR fans here,
you are not getting the point.
nissan says the GTR will get round the nurburgring in 7.29
and even professional drivers are having troubles to get 7.50
this shows that nissan is telling lies.

i bet the 911 turbo is faster if there was a real test,
not based on those lies from nissan
G
  • G
    Gareth
  • Oct 18, 2010
Folks, I think your find porsche claim a lap time for the GT2 round the ring to be 7min 18sec.

Thats a shortfall of 31Sec compared to the test driver from drivers republic!

If they are this far out on the porsche, its probably the case with the Nissan GT-R also.

I'd say the test carries no weight in the argument
G