Auto EventsFeaturesGRAMotorsports

Grass Racing Autosports Autocross Championship 2008 – Round 3

81eb0b895baa2e3784ecf0f6256f8e3cSepang, 7th September 2008 – Grass Racing Autosports or GRA held their Autocross Championships for the third time around this year. This year’s GRA races are sponsored by Red Line Synthetic Oils, Meguiar’s Detailing Products, Vanli Genuine Parts and Gophers GPS Navigation System. GRA’s initiative set out 1 year ago is paying off with more enthusiasts joining its races every round.

GRA moved the race to Sepang International F1 Circuit Car Park. This round with the absence of Ivan Khong with his red Subaru Impreza, Andy Kow in a similar Subaru Impreza set the fastest time of the day and took 1st Overall honours. The race is supported and sanctioned by Motorsports Association of Malaysia

gra_autocross_2008-8

It was a hot and sunny day for the Sepang Car Park circuit, Andy Kow was uncatchable in his green Subaru Impreza. He now leads the GRA Autocross Championships. Second fastest of the day went to Team Red Line Jason Foo in his Proton Satria 1800cc with Ray Leong in his Nissan 200sx with a surprising 3rd Overall.

gra_autocross_2008-18

It was a disastrous day for last year’s runner-up in the championship, Mickey Teoh again. Driving his neatly styled Toyota MR2 RWD Turbo, he suffered mechanical failures and had to retire the MR2. Though suffering from 3 rounds of mechanical failures, Mickey won the ‘Bling-Bling Award’ for having the most outstanding car of the day with his MRS having the Cars movie livery. Charlene Khoo in her IAL Perodua Kelisa won the Best Female Award for posting the fastest time of the day for the category.

In Grass Class A Up to 1300cc, Wong Kang Yoon aka as Kaitospeed took first spot in his Proton Iswara Aeroback. In 2nd and 3rd spot, went to Jonathan Tan in a Myvi and Charlene Khoo respectively. In Grass Class B 1300cc-1600cc, 1st place went to Garick Goh in a Proton Satria 1600cc. Charlie Ling in his Toyota Levin 1600cc, managed a 2nd spot with Julian Foo in a close 3rd in a borrowed Proton Satria of Garick’s. In Class AA Automatic Cars up to 1600cc, William Lim in a Suzuki Swift stormed to first place again, with Edison Wong in a Toyota Vios coming in 2nd and An Hee Han in a Perodua Kelisa in 3rd. Edison returning after a one year absence, pushed his car to the limits by having a slight divider rub on the front left of his car. However the car was still able to continue only with a broken front lamp. In Class AB Automatic Cars up to 2500cc, Victor Lim piloting a Ford Lynx RS managed to clinch victory from Chee Tun Poey in a Toyota Altis with Jack Tan in his Honda Prelude coming in 3rd.

gra_autocross_2008-17

In the afternoon, the Pro-Grass drivers took centre stage. In Class OA up tp 1300cc, Kenneth Chiew from Team Meguiar’s only managed a 3rd spot this round with Chan.K and Julian Pang from Team Red Line coming in 1st and 2nd respectively in a borrowed Perodua Kelisa. In Class OB 1300cc-1600cc, Clement Yeo from Team Meguiar’s Honda Civic EK4 finally broke the jinx by taking 1st place after 2 rounds of non-1st finishes. Coming in 2nd was Ho Wai Kok in a Proton Wira 1600cc after a long absence from the scene. He was originally from Team All Stars that won every single team event in past autocrossing events comprising of Ian and Ivan Khong. 3rd spot went to Maharith B. Mahat, he could manage the last podium position this round, and would be looking to emulate his win in Round 2 in the next round.

For Class OC 1601cc-2000cc, last year’s Novice Champion, Jason Foo took 1st position again, convincingly in his decked out Proton Satria representing Team Red Line Oils. 2nd place went to Julian Pang from Team Red Line in a Proton Wira 1800cc. 3rd place fell to Chan. K from Team Red Line in a borrowed Proton Wira from Julian Pang. Team Red Line swept all 3 podium spots in Class OC. Mitch Chong managed only a 4th place this round as he suffered a curb invitation on the last sector of the course. He managed to repair and replace the bent arm, but his car was not behaving to his liking after that incident. In the Novice OC class, Mitch Chong still took 1st with Adrian Tan in a Proton Putra and Ken Choong also in a Proton Putra coming in 2nd and 3rd respectively.

gra_autocross_2008-4

In Class OD Beyond 2000cc, Andy Kow took top honours in his Subaru Impreza WRX 4WD. Following closely in 2nd spot was Ray Leong in a Nissan 200sx, and 3rd went to Teoh Joe Meng in a Proton PERT 4WD. Ray Leong and Teoh Joe Meng, were trying very hard to catch Andy but he was just too quick in his Subaru.

Ian Khong ambassador for GRA said, ‘We moved to Sepang to add variety for the competitors to pit their skills on a fast circuit. Everyone enjoyed themselves ‘.

Mr. Howard Goh from Red Line Oils commented, ‘ We are very happy today sweeping all top positions in the OC Class. We hope to repeat it all the way to the end this year’.

Meguiar’s Manager Mr. Johan Wong said, ‘ GRA is moving ahead, we can see more newcomers into the sports. We hope to see it grow further‘.

gra_autocross_2008-23

Mr. C.K.Lim from Vanli Group Of Companies said, ‘This time around GRA is really getting faster and faster. It is good to see more newcomers here today ‘.

The race was graced with the Race Queens, and ended around 5pm. The next round would be held in October, thus look out for it in www.grassracingautosports.com for more details.

Report by: GRA Autosports

gra_autocross_2008 (28)gra_autocross_2008 (2)gra_autocross_2008 (15)gra_autocross_2008 (1)gra_autocross_2008 (26)gra_autocross_2008 (8)gra_autocross_2008 (19)gra_autocross_2008 (29)gra_autocross_2008 (17)gra_autocross_2008gra_autocross_2008 (18)gra_autocross_2008 (27)gra_autocross_2008 (23)gra_autocross_2008 (3)

M
  • M
    me
  • Sep 20, 2008
why GRA allways hush hush one. dont want more ppl to join arr. allways same ppl sapu prize
D
  • D
    DrifterKao
  • Sep 20, 2008
I dont like the Rules of GRA... cant it be more loose
J
  • J
    jeffbboyz
  • Sep 20, 2008
good driver with the best car...which have alot of experiences on track.....sure la always win....
R
  • R
    ronnie_chong2001
  • Sep 20, 2008
GRA is depend on ur skill... if u don have skill even u drive a skyline oso can't beat a kancil.
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 20, 2008
As the name suggest, GRA is a grassroot racing autosports, rules are set in order to have a fair race for every competitors.
For people who always win, its because that they are professional autocross drivers, or season(ed) drivers. As they join more, eventually they are more familiar with the layout and their skills improve. As Ronnie says, GRA is about skills and analytical ability, hence it is a very benefitial race for beginners who wanted to enhance their skills.
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 20, 2008
jeffbboyz, i respectfully disagree with u..try simulating the track and GRA course, and see whichever need faster decision and response. cheers
J
  • J
    jeffbboyz
  • Sep 21, 2008
brother flyingdagger....chill la bro...i know ur GRA fanatic...thats why i always come n support when u race.....hahahaha......
M
  • M
    me
  • Sep 22, 2008
pergh,GRA = small car, good handbrake. high ratio final drive. can tapau no problem. no need skill. bigger the car harder to GRA.
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 22, 2008
jeff, yeah i notice ur presence. u shud really join with ur putra since theres only 1 putra around. 2 if canken is joining again next round. and i aint GRA fanatic, am just trying to explain wots going on with GRA for those who have no clear idea. cheers

yeah..bigger car harder for GRA, thats why kenari isnt in the race mar. no need skill meh..perhaps u wanna come and experience it urself, its a really good one for beginners.
A
  • A
    alzard
  • Sep 22, 2008
flyingdagger, i agreed on wat u say. GRA is a grassroot rascing for everyone who wanna feel or start racing. doesn't mean u got a high horse power car than u can win or a smaller car wit good turning ratio then u will win. kelisa oso lose to a myvi during round 3.

jeffbboyz, if u really always come support flyingdagger when she race then u shudn't call flyingdagger "brother", u shud call sister flyingdagger. morever since when u see her race? round 3 was her very first race! dun simply say u always go support when she race.

me, if u really think its so easy to win or does not require any skill, y not u come join n proof that ur words is correct? my car is the slowest in my class, yet i still manage to keep up wit the season driver. talk is nothing, let the action show wat u got since u say it doesn't require skill.
T
  • T
    Tom
  • Sep 23, 2008
Hi All,

Please note that there were some technical errors with this post. I've fixed it. You can now proceed to view the entire feature and showcase gallery.

Thank you
Tom
R
  • R
    ronnie_chong2001
  • Sep 23, 2008
Alzard, I Totally Agree....

Me, GRA is a very technically race... not those just say "u can race then u r can race". must have skill on it... not to say just talk on the forum only.... if talk on the forum i oso can say i can tapau "some Rally Driver" but if want ppl believe then i must proof rite??? just my 2 cents... ^_^
S
  • S
    super fei lo
  • Sep 24, 2008
really interesting, can i know when is the next event?
mayb if free i can come ,
perhaps join u guys on the track...
how much it cost for entree?

thank you
H
  • H
    hellboy69
  • Sep 24, 2008
can someone tell me what is actually GRA?
I'm confused lar..
A
  • A
    alzard
  • Sep 26, 2008
u can log on to www.grassracingautosports.com formore infomation.
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 26, 2008
super fei : the next event will be on the 25th Oct if theres no emergencies. Entry fee is RM150/ person.

do have a look at the link shown above.

F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 26, 2008
super fei : next event is on te 25th Oct if theres no emergencies. Entry fee is RM150/ driver.
have a look at the lik shown above.
S
  • S
    super fei lo
  • Sep 27, 2008
25 oct,,,,
hehe
seems like i need to change to a more low profile cam....
hehehe.
hope can see u guys there.

flyingdagger.
u always take part in GRA?
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Sep 30, 2008
no lar, round 3 was my 1st ever round and i found it very interesting as i do learn lots from there. glad to know tht u r gonna join, see u there at round 4!
cheers!
G
I always feel that this event should get more coverage. As everyone can join in. seasoned or not. it improves judgment in braking something most would not think about when its too late. and the best part is to have fun in a safe environment. good job to Grass.

check out my blog about the event :P

http://www.randomshutter.com/blog/2008/9/28/backlogblog3.html
F
  • F
    flyingdagger
  • Oct 4, 2008
yeah. i agree with u gerald. i see theres improvement on my driving after i join the race.
F