Gadgets / LifestyleGamingNews

Grand Theft Auto Pulled Off Shelves – Teenager Murders Taxi Driver

grand_theft_auto_gun_news_imageOne of the most popular games of 2008, Grand Theft Auto IV has also garnered a lot of controversy along with its popularity. Apparently MADD, Mothers Against Drunk Driving, a movement against drunk driving and underage drinking in the States recently spoke out about the drunk driving content of the game soon after it was launched earlier this year.

Reuters yesterday reported that a Thai video game distributor pulled Grand Theft Auto IV off the shelves after a teenager confessed to robbing and killing a taxi driver in an attempt to live out a scene from the video game.

“We are sending out requests today to outlets and shops to pull the games off their shelves and we will replace them with other games,” Sakchai Chotikachinda of New Era Interactive Media, told Reuters.

After further investigation, Police said the teenager, a big fan of Grand Theft Auto, showed no signs of mental problems and had confessed to committing the murder of the taxi driver because of the video game.

The teenager said that he did not mean to kill the taxi driver but wanted to see how easy it was recreate a scene from the game and stabbed the driver to death when fought back.

Just one of those things that make you go WTF was he thinking, F’in idiot.

Source: eGMCarTech

Z
This is what happens when you're are too obsess on something called game too much.
K
  • K
    king_jamez
  • Aug 5, 2008
this guy has got plenty of balls wei...no matter how addicted i am i dun think i'll ever try to recreate any scenes from any game...psycho kid...
M
  • M
    monazarudin
  • Aug 5, 2008
I think that playing the game isn't really a problem for the appropriate maturity. However though, I strongly disagree with parents allowing their 5, 6 or 7 year olds playing these kind of games..
C
  • C
    Crazy Biscut
  • Aug 5, 2008
Doing a bad thing is always Easy, doing the Right thing is always hard...
A
  • A
    aku_sangap
  • Aug 6, 2008
wtf...fucking psycho laa that bugger.....cannot differentiate between real world and games...damn..p..
I
  • I
  • Aug 6, 2008
I blame the parents. They should control their kids from playing certain off-limit games and educate them properly.

Having said that why didn't the stupid kid play "Playboy Mansion" instead? That would've been a helluva headline story.
W
  • W
    webeck948
  • Aug 6, 2008
my goodness, there's a reason that it's called a GAME cos u don't live it in REAL LIFE!
J
  • J
    jairo
  • Aug 6, 2008
i remember the time when i was 19th 6yrs ago been chasing by cops for about 30min along the highway to klang. that time all i can think is like im playing need for speed hot pursuit. Then endup giving and my hand being cuff.(actually minyak nak habis lol) The end, i being released after being lecturer and marah'ing me there at the side of the road. uh..lucky me they didnt drag me to jail. What a thrill chasing and running.wahahahaha...

zamil_AE86 was right, that what happen when u too much in to game. like me. uhs...what?? i was young and naif. -.-"
J