water-air intercooling

turbo10

500 RPM
Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah
hi guys..i'm a newbie and i got a question to u guys...my fren and i have built a custom water-air fabricated with aluminium plates.we got a problem in finding the suitable pump for the system to circulate the water through the heat exchangers (the water-air i/c and condenser to cool off the water).do any of u guys have any experience in this or any idea.thanks guys

Danny

500 RPM
Nov 15, 2003
what kind of pump do you need, any specific dimensions? My pc co. deals in water coolers for pc which might be compatible, since it also uses radiator etc which is similar to car applications.

speedchaser

Known Member
Sep 21, 2004
KL & Ipoh
At least a 40gpm pump and depends on your application. Better to have at least a 2 liter reservoir to go with it. The air-con condenser will not really make a good heat exchanger (tried that with my 4agte), go for a custom aluminium one that is optimize to flow water with at least 600 square inch surface area. Depending on what kinda temp you are running, you might need it a tad bigger.

dolly

500 RPM
Dec 24, 2003
Iwaki pumps! friggin solid japanese pump (also got inferior american motor model)

but whats ur operating temp. danny, if you are suggesting to use the pumps you sell for pc i suggest better check the operating environment. definitely no "hobby" type pumps. they have low cut off temperature

turbo10

500 RPM
Dec 11, 2003
sg petani kedah