Tyres for Myvi - Please recommend

Ya, heard of it. That's why my mech said, if claim leave to them, they can claim easier as dealers.

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Currently I'm using Michelin's PS3 195/50/R15 on my Myvi. I'm currently on GAB's lowering spring with Improve Comfort absorbers. The ride feels ok except for a little bumpiness. I'm now thinking of getting 195/55/R15 on my next change.

It should improve the bumpiness by a little right? Only thing is speedometer will be a little inaccurate and when full load it may scrub?

jerrysiow

Jan 3, 2012
Seremban
Currently I'm using Michelin's PS3 195/50/R15 on my Myvi. I'm currently on GAB's lowering spring with Improve Comfort absorbers. The ride feels ok except for a little bumpiness. I'm now thinking of getting 195/55/R15 on my next change.

It should improve the bumpiness by a little right? Only thing is speedometer will be a little inaccurate and when full load it may scrub?
Hi, i'm using 195 55 R15, same tyres Michelin PS3 and also myvi. FYI, the speedometer won't have much different on the reading and i never face scrub when full load. I'm using adjustable suspension with 3 fingers gap between fender area and tyres.

Might improve the bumpiness but comfort most of the time depends on the suspension that you're on. But then with higher wall profile tyres, might make a difference by a little. Not much
though. Have to try to find out :biggrin:

Still not comfy then is your suspension to change or just bear with it :biggrin:

Speedometer thingy I'm not sure. Scrub fender also have to ask sifu Vr2turbo :biggrin:

Yes, 195/55R15 will be more comfortable than 195/50R15. 50 series should have slightly stiffer sidewall.

As for speed reading 195/50 actual reads faster, means if meter shows 100kph, actually you are doing 99kph. For 195/55 will read slower, means meter shows 100, you are doing 102kph. Very small difference to be worried about.

Tyre scrub fender will also depends on your rims offset. If 40 and above should not be a problem, but best is still to test them out first.
However 195/55 tyres are more expensive....

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
Just a bit bumpy at the moment for me so would like to improve things a little. On rough road, vibrations are quite strong which I think is coming from the tires that couldn't absorb much of the vibration and harshness.

If so then I think I will give 195/55 a try and if not much difference then I can change it back to 195/50 in the future.

Yes, 195/55R15 will be more comfortable than 195/50R15. 50 series should have slightly stiffer sidewall.

As for speed reading 195/50 actual reads faster, means if meter shows 100kph, actually you are doing 99kph. For 195/55 will read slower, means meter shows 100, you are doing 102kph. Very small difference to be worried about.

Tyre scrub fender will also depends on your rims offset. If 40 and above should not be a problem, but best is still to test them out first.
However 195/55 tyres are more expensive....
Unless is meter show 100km/h but doing 110km/h :rofl: XM2 is comfortable too :smile:

Just a bit bumpy at the moment for me so would like to improve things a little. On rough road, vibrations are quite strong which I think is coming from the tires that couldn't absorb much of the vibration and harshness.

If so then I think I will give 195/55 a try and if not much difference then I can change it back to 195/50 in the future.
You mention above only a little bumpiness therefore 195/55 should be better, unless 195/50 is very bumpy then cannot help....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:14 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:13 AM ----------

Unless is meter show 100km/h but doing 110km/h :rofl: XM2 is comfortable too :smile:
Like that 10% difference in tyre diameter liao.......:biggrin:

PS3 is a better option for sure. Comfort + grip.
Too bad 15inch no more PP2 :rofl: @vr2turbo.

Too much comfort but not grippy, I don't think I can get used to comfort tires anymore. PS3 is fine with me.
Yup, usually poisoned with high grip tyres, very hard to change to comfort tyres...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:18 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:17 AM ----------

PS3 is a better option for sure. Comfort + grip.
Too bad 15inch no more PP2 :rofl: @vr2turbo.
Because replaced by PS3 mah.....

Yup, usually poisoned with high grip tyres, very hard to change to comfort tyres...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 10:18 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:17 AM ----------

Because replaced by PS3 mah.....
But PS3 don't have for 14" :frown:

OKLY

Nov 26, 2011
By the way, I don't know if I should give Hankook V12 a try or not. Currently I find the PS3 to be quite good overall even when mine is now about 40% left. From a lot of reviews, the V12 will not be so comfortable as it wears down? :hmmmm:

'(00): Some shots from the recent RCA track day couple of weeks ago, here's a fire breathing S2000 who was putting out great laps driven by Shaun from Ascendant...