Titanium Retainers ????

Johnny_9

Jul 16, 2005
As Ironman already noted Titanium is some "weird shit".

First, it's abrasive.

next, it "galls".

Galling is where two smooth surfaces rubbing together
continually friction weld and then break apart.. getting
rougher and rougher until catastropic failure can occur.

Have you ever known anyone who replaced steel retainers
or upper spring plates with Ti ones only to have the engine
fail horribly soon after.

..................Sifus - comment?

..................Do you know anyone's car whose has blown up? :emoticon_U:

Johnny_9

Jul 16, 2005
How long have you been using titanium retainers ???

Any problems?

Enginien Feel Lighter?

crower75

Mar 15, 2004
TeAM C.R.D
Never heard of anyone using Titanium Valvesprings retainers and kaput their engine.....BUT......i have heard of people using standard valvespring retainers and kaput their engine in the revving process....same goes for the springs as well.........

Oderf

Jul 27, 2005
hmm...i've heard the same thing.... std B16A kenot practice rev until 9k++ rpm...there is risk where the valve spring might fail resulting in valves broken etc...

Oderf

Jul 27, 2005
hmmm....yep...agree.... just becoz most of vtec performance cams shift the max power to the top end (high rev)..so using cams only would not justify the power gain....let say ur max power after putting in the cams is at 8500rpm but ur stock valve springs n retainers only can support until 8200rpm.... then the 300rpm power range will be wasted or not fully utilize.....correct me if im wrong

Watch this orgasmic video, featuring a 5.0 litre V8 supercharged breathing Jaguar XKR-S going round the new Circuit in Portugal, Autodromo Internacional Do Algarve. This video was narrated by the racing driver on what approach a driver should take on the corners. Watch this amazing video with the awesome V8 roar. It's just how a supercar should sound.

YouTube...