td05h-small 16g mod

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
need some opinion here... i'm planning to change my s16g'c compresor wheel and turbine wheel to bigger one.. compressor wheel change to 52mm one and turbine maybe about 1mm biger than stock... what do you guys think.. worth it or not.... planning to boost around 1.4 - 1.5 bar...

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
jinkl- said:
woah , get 18g or 20g , billet n shaft from garrett , sure FLY
i think this setup should be better than 18g..... 20g i dun know... the shop quote me RM1,000 for the 52.XXmm compressore wheel (the compresor housing has to be bore to fit in the wheel - looks quite thin aredi), slightly bigger turbine wheel (7cm^2 housing also need to be bore) and also biger shaft.. the blade is garrett style not MHI blade... their workmanship looks okey.. plus i dun have to change my intercooler piping, water & oil lines... plug n play...

cypress8

Jul 11, 2004
cyborgsabah said:
one more question... what max boost 18g can tahan?....
The TD05H-18g safety boost level recommended by Tong Turbo - 1.2 bar
I tested 1.5 bar with my 18g, no problem.

jinkl-

Klang
cyborgsabah : can share me contact info , i also need to mod my 16g :(

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
cypress8 said:
The TD05H-18g safety boost level recommended by Tong Turbo - 1.2 bar
I tested 1.5 bar with my 18g, no problem.
1.2 bar?... very low eh... what about s16g? now boosting around 1.3 bar with my s16g for about 6 months aredi...

cypress8

Jul 11, 2004
Bro, it depends on the engine capacity as well. If you have a stock evo block, it's better to stay at 1.2 bar unless you have changed the internals (forged pistons, forged conrod, metal head gasket, head studs, bla bla bla...). Well I might be wrong la...

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
i'm thinking of boosing higher than my current 1.3 bar... but scared the turbo cannot tahan high boost... vr4rs with 1.5mm MMC metal gasket need high boost baru syok... even 1.2 bar not much g-force.... i think the bottom end can than more boost but the s16g i doubt it... anyone have any experience running s16g at 1.5 bar on regular basis?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
me running small 16g 1.3 bar daily boost. must say i'm getting bored with the power. trying 1.5 bar soon...

cyborgsabah

Afghanistan
i still couldnt find the max boost of small16g on the net... most of them rated based on HP (around 300-350hp) which is i think not acurate as hp level determined by many factors not just boost level...

Guys,

im using Recaro Type-R red color.. theres like black marks coz of using the seatbelt on the right side ofcourse, the driver side.. a little black stain/mark else where also.. how to clean huh these type-r seat material?

Thanx guys..