superbike got halfcut one?

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
hi all..
we all knows there is many halfcut car from japan.. which japanese wan to throw away their car after minor accident...

i just curious... if there any halfcut for superbike?
it will be great.. if can find parts like engine ..etc etc

imagine i can put a superbike engine into a car.. :D (i think suzuki have one concept car is using hayabusa engine? )

and imagine i can link 4 superbike carburetor to make my car four carburetor.. :D

many things can be done

just wonder if there any halfcut of superbike one?

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
NOt sure..but FF auto had a kawasaki...accident though..i think the engine was ok..
These type of engines are great to put in track cars and Catterham are famous for their cars...there are some even with two Ninja Zx600cc engines..the rev of the engine goes upto 15000 to 18000 Rpm..as they are bike engines,..

Dunno if anyone has tried here..but in UK ..its famous..

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
ehaab said:
NOt sure..but FF auto had a kawasaki...accident though..i think the engine was ok..
These type of engines are great to put in track cars and Catterham are famous for their cars...there are some even with two Ninja Zx600cc engines..the rev of the engine goes upto 15000 to 18000 Rpm..as they are bike engines,..

Dunno if anyone has tried here..but in UK ..its famous..
yalor... the rev is amazing
put into a small car and u can fly..
and have the sound like u riding a superbike.. :D :D

what /where is FF auto?

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
superbike halfcut??there's sumthing new..hehe never heard b4...:embarassed:

ehaab said:
.there are some even with two Ninja Zx600cc engines..the rev of the engine goes upto 15000 to 18000 Rpm..as they are bike engines,..
that's some power engine man...

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oic... it will be great....
i thinking of a project already...

only problem is dono how to link from bikes flywheel/clutch to car drivetrain.. :D

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Don't know but I saw this done in an anime, "You're Under Arrest".

Engine mount to the rear just like a Bettle.

Rear tires connected with a rod and it is chain-driven.

sam1741 said:

only problem is dono how to link from bikes flywheel/clutch to car drivetrain.. :D

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
sam1741 said:

oOoOo..! heheheh good luck on ur project man!:adore:

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
acbc said:
Don't know but I saw this done in an anime, "You're Under Arrest".

Engine mount to the rear just like a Bettle.

Rear tires connected with a rod and it is chain-driven.
wow.. like that easy lar..
but connected to a rod.. then no diff already? :D

hahah... will be a nice project..

anyway.. i thought in that anime
the girls are driving a honda city old one?
with the nick nane 'pocket rocket'... 1.3l engine with turbocharge?

infernaL

May 22, 2005
N/A
i tot they were driving a mira with nitrus ? or was it a civic

i only remember they the nitrus part while they were chasing a prelude ...

hmmmm

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
That's a Honda Today la... 770cc turbo with NOS!

In one of the episodes, Natsumi crashed her bike and Miyuki took out the engine n mount in an an old Subaru just like this one...

sam1741 said:
wow.. like that easy lar..
but connected to a rod.. then no diff already? :D

hahah... will be a nice project..

anyway.. i thought in that anime
the girls are driving a honda city old one?
with the nick nane 'pocket rocket'... 1.3l engine with turbocharge?

kyspeaks

Oct 6, 2005
kyspeaks.blogspot.com
Bike engines might have high HP but that's mainly due to the high rev. Usually they have relatively low torque, that won't work very well with normal cars, which are of course, alot heavier than bikes.

For example, my Aprilia RS250 has about 60hp, but the max torque is only 28 lb/ft, that's at 10,500 rpm. Now take a look at Kelisa, it's got 53hp, but the torque is 65 lb/ft at 3,600 rpm.

Torque is the pulling power, so, the RS250 engine might have a higher HP, but putting it in a Kelisa will definately result in a much slower 0-100 km/h time. The rolling acceleration might be better, however, but that's not very practical for real world use.

There are, however, some ultra light race car that uses those big bike engines.

Fluffy

May 1, 2005
>>klang<<
alien said:
if the japs can do it..
im sure we can..
afterall..MALAYSIA BOLEH! :tongue:

4g63 corona..

toyota waja..
:embarassed:
hehheh i support u!:adore: to malaysia! ehehe

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
oh... low torque
how bout really big bike
like the hayabusa...

zan

Feb 20, 2005
kyspeaks said:
Bike engines might have high HP but that's mainly due to the high rev. Usually they have relatively low torque, that won't work very well with normal cars, which are of course, alot heavier than bikes.

For example, my Aprilia RS250 has about 60hp, but the max torque is only 28 lb/ft, that's at 10,500 rpm. Now take a look at Kelisa, it's got 53hp, but the torque is 65 lb/ft at 3,600 rpm.

Torque is the pulling power, so, the RS250 engine might have a higher HP, but putting it in a Kelisa will definately result in a much slower 0-100 km/h time. The rolling acceleration might be better, however, but that's not very practical for real world use.

There are, however, some ultra light race car that uses those big bike engines.
this is the reason why the engine can spin skyhigh, putting aside the need of torque as bikes are lighter.

cars like caterham are made without assecories, roof panel not even an option so that they will be as light as it can be. then only the superbikes engine works well enuff in 4 wheel as well as 2 wheel.

kyspeaks was right... i second him.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
anyone know what is secret of bike engine
that they can rev so high
and can have max hp and torque at such high rpm??
must be something different .....

i also thinking buidling a lightweight car..
no backseat.. no alternator (use bike one)
battery also use bike one.
etc etc..

zan

Feb 20, 2005
any car/bike manufacturer can built a high revving engine. provided its for a lightweight vehicle otherwise, it wont be efficient

in Formula 1 toyota, honda, BMW all prooved its a small matter developing an engine that spins at 18,000rpm.

local assembled kawasaki ZXR250 spins at 20,000rpm but redlined at 16,000rpm.

but high spinning engines does not mean necessarily high torque output.

and high torque output does not mean a good engine.

diesel engines are better than almost any petrol engines due to its torque peaking at low engine speed and spread out the entire band.

in simpler words = flexibility and driveability.

theoretecially to built engines with good torque output, we need these characteristics :-

1. undersquare engines - meaning piston stroke is longer than its diameter.
2. higher number of cylinders
3. diesel

theory for high output alone :-
1. oversquare engines - meaning short stroke
2. 2 stroke engines produce high output than a 4 stroke with cimilar cc.
3. multi-valve cylinder head - better breathing makes engine more efficient.
4. having two camshafts to actuate 2 rowes of valves instead of one. ie DOHC

but in modern days, there are so many alternatives to bulidng a powerful engine wihtout compromising power output, torque as well as fuel economy.

amongst them are
1. turbo or supercharge
2. direct injection engines (Gasonline Direct Injection. Fuel Stratified Injection)
3. remapped-able ECU
4. rotary engines
5. pneumatic valves like being developed by Lotus and Renault. meaning no more need for camshafts.

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
wow... thanks zan bro for the explaination...
but one thing i confused is....

is it the stroke short.. then the compression ratio also short?

Where do you go in Singapore to pimp your ride? Are there any clubs/groups/showcases of people that have pimped their ride?