Subaru Ownership

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
any subaru owners wanna share some experiences?

driving experience?

maintenance n costs?

specs of subaru imprezas?

i'm thinkin of gettin one, but still unsure.. budget around 80-90k... probably won't get the bug-eyed or the current model..

any p1 or 22b prodrive version in m'sia?

sabelt

Dec 7, 2003
for me, its a great car to drive, frankly speaking... very easy to drive especially for daily driving.Dont expect too much on top speed because this car is specially build for good handling and pick-up.. maintainance hmmmm not so bad as many as other ppl think, because there are few good and reliable workshops around PJ/KL area... but i notice that more and more ppl are looking forward to buy a scooby....

hmmm, its very hard to see GC model with limited edition on road... 1 or 2 i guess

maintainance cost, not so bad and reasonable... coz this one workshop in USJ brings in alot of GC spareparts and stuffs.. dont worry if you cant find the parts that you want coz normally theyll bring in from SG or JP itself...

its up to you to choose subaru or any other car, because at the end of the day, u'll have to decide which to choose right? Its better to try it out and compare with other car manufacture..

pls dont hesitate to visit at our website at forums.mysubaruclub.com . A lot of scooby discussion and technical questions have been asked..

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
thanks bro sabelt..

which model do u own? any pics?

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
aiyo.. too dark la dude.. can't see a thing..

is dat a gc?

how bout parts n service costs? whuts the $$ like for a normal service?

u1ons

Apr 27, 2004
wat i know from oversea subaru onwer said " subaru imprezza" gear box is not that long life. it cannot than stand for long run, wat u show in rally, their gear box is special made for rally, so u cannot compare the factory gear box with rally gear box for subaru imprezza.

in taiwan, subaru imprezza is their national car. they also facing the gear box problem, they are always trying to find the solutions to maintance the gear box. who buying a imprezza in malaysia are really wish u all good luck(cause everything is hard to find in malaysia for subaru imprezza parts), of course it also depend how the driver uses it. cheers!

(News update : taiwan national car subaru imprezzaz & mistubishi lancer)

KLmafia

Jan 27, 2004
Originally posted by u1ons@Apr 27 2004, 07:31 PM
wat i know from oversea subaru onwer said " subaru imprezza" gear box is not that long life. it cannot than stand for long run, wat u show in rally, their gear box is special made for rally, so u cannot compare the factory gear box with rally gear box for subaru imprezza.

in taiwan, subaru imprezza is their national car. they also facing the gear box problem, they are always trying to find the solutions to maintance the gear box. who buying a imprezza in malaysia are really wish u all good luck(cause everything is hard to find in malaysia for subaru imprezza parts), of course it also depend how the driver uses it. cheers!

(News update : taiwan national car subaru imprezzaz & mistubishi lancer)
u1ons....

like that wan ah?

i ''buying'' impreZZa in Malaysia oso ....no problem in finding the parts one...like sabelt mention ....in USJ mechanic there got a lot part one......

who said subaru impreZZa gear box not ''long life''.... ''long life'' one.....
as long as u jaga the gearbox and dont drive like ah-beng baru belajar baru bawak car on the road.... then ok one......

if u wan to get a GC model one... then get v2 as the gearbox stronger one.... ''long life'' maaaaa

so far...i dont ''facing'' any problem with my car one...
i ''maintance'' the car at USJ one.... very very easy one....

ok leh...
:lol:

:P

sabelt

Dec 7, 2003
who buying a imprezza in malaysia are really wish u all good luck(cause everything is hard to find in malaysia for subaru imprezza parts), of course it also depend how the driver uses it. cheers!
no problem with the parts for me so far... just need to know good contacts here in malaysia...otherwise no problem at all... can estimate about 300+ scooby owners in malaysia and 1500+ in singapore..

alexnek

i too wish to have a GD.... just cant afford even a GX version.

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
hohoho..

can explain to me aa the impreza versions.. looks, power, specs.. GDB GDC bla bla bla.. confuse laa..

sabelt

Dec 7, 2003
ok let me type down the detail of IMPREZA JDM (STi specs)....all EJ20 engine except 22B

GDA is a EJ20 with NON Sti 220ps

GDB is a EJ20 with Sti 280ps

GDC doesnt exist at all..

Version 1-6 GC model (lampu kotak)

1994.Jan Version 1- WRX Sti 250ps 31.5kg-m

1994.Nov WRX Sti RA 275ps 32.5kg-m

1995.Aug Version 2- WRX Sti 275ps 32.5kg-m

1996.Sep Version 3- WRX Sti 280ps 35.0kg-m

1997.Sep Version 4- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

1998.Sep Version 5- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

1999.Sep Version 6- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

Version 7-8 GD "New age model"

2000.Oct Version 7- WRX Sti 280ps 38.0kg-m

2001.Nov Version 7 Spec C- WRX Sti 280ps 39.2kg-m (lightweight version)

2002.Jun Version 7 S202- WRX Sti 320ps 39.2kg-m

2003.Mar Version 8- WRX Sti 280ps 40.2kg-m

Many ppl not clear about the V-Limited...

22b,s201,s202 is a v-limited. The latest v limited(2003) suspension setup is tuned by toshi arai .By 4th quater of this year the subaru might launch the s203 model

WR1 Solberg edition (prodrive) is for UK market only...
2003 V-Limited (Drivers title) is for JDM market only..

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
oo.. so all imps r using ej20.. but whut about 22b? u said its a lw model.. engine?

i saw a 97/98 imp selling for 115k.. isit worth checkin out?

lotusgrey

Dec 6, 2003
22B using 2.2l in boxer configuration. there is the 2.5l NA ones too. :wub:

joomba

Mar 30, 2004
any pitfalls to watch out?

tkk

Jan 7, 2004
Originally posted by sabelt@May 1 2004, 03:33 AM
ok let me type down the detail of IMPREZA JDM (STi specs)....all EJ20 engine except 22B

GDA is a EJ20 with NON Sti 220ps

GDB is a EJ20 with Sti 280ps

GDC doesnt exist at all..

Version 1-6 GC model (lampu kotak)

1994.Jan Version 1- WRX Sti 250ps 31.5kg-m

1994.Nov WRX Sti RA 275ps 32.5kg-m

1995.Aug Version 2- WRX Sti 275ps 32.5kg-m

1996.Sep Version 3- WRX Sti 280ps 35.0kg-m

1997.Sep Version 4- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

1998.Sep Version 5- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

1999.Sep Version 6- WRX Sti 280ps 36.0kg-m

Version 7-8 GD "New age model"

2000.Oct Version 7- WRX Sti 280ps 38.0kg-m

2001.Nov Version 7 Spec C- WRX Sti 280ps 39.2kg-m (lightweight version)

2002.Jun Version 7 S202- WRX Sti 320ps 39.2kg-m

2003.Mar Version 8- WRX Sti 280ps 40.2kg-m

Many ppl not clear about the V-Limited...

22b,s201,s202 is a v-limited. The latest v limited(2003) suspension setup is tuned by toshi arai .By 4th quater of this year the subaru might launch the s203 model

WR1 Solberg edition (prodrive) is for UK market only...
2003 V-Limited (Drivers title) is for JDM market only..
hi,

how about the turbo?

ver 1 2 3 4 5 6 using what model? i saw TD04H, TD05H, VF22, VF23 ... etc...

HI, I have just came across this titan suspension site.

http://www.titansuspension.com/index.htm

Wonder if anyone of you here have used it before. How is the performance and is it worth the price for it? Thinking of getting a set of coilover. Currently using Koni.

Hope to get more feedback on this titan suspension. THanks