RX7 FD3S auto

akimoto

Known Member
Nov 20, 2003
hie all rotary sifus,

newbie here. a year 1992 rx7 fd3s auto tranny twin turbo. This engine is 13B or REW version?? Wats d difference between 13b and 13b-rew??

this car is meant for daily driving....no internal mods to be done. wat problems do i need to expect from daily driving condition??

also how much is full tank petrol?? How far it can go??

sorry for so much questions....wanna survey b4 getting one.

thanks all :) :) ;)

phat7

2,000 RPM
May 21, 2004
Hi akimoto,

A quick search on rx7forum.com will shed some light on your q's. Anyways i have a 93 version which was auto. I have had the car for 4 years. Never had a problem with my auto (1andhalf years). Things to look out for basically is the cooling system. Get a unit which is fairly ok and start wit reliability mods eg convert ast (air separation tank) to aluminium unit or you can remove (by getting a fc filler neck), hook up boost meter/water temp gauges, replace radiator higher capacity and you are good. The mods will cost you bout 1-2.5k depending on where. The auto is actually very nice if used for daily driver.

13b is the engine code 1300cc (1297 to be exact i think)
13bREW believe it or not "W" means twin turbo.

hope that helps.

dave

akimoto

Known Member
Nov 20, 2003
thanks for d info phat7.
I see...REW means twinturbo arr....all d while to my knowledge all FD are twinturbo hehe... :P :P didnt know got single turbo pulak.

so tat means a year 92 auto 13B is single turbo.
those wif twin snails are REW la. good good info there.

anymore inputs??? help appreciated :)

gti88

1,500 RPM
Nov 17, 2003
Visit site
But getting an Auto, it would be safer (in a way),
less stress to the engine, as compared to a manual.

I just you should add additional oil cooler and atf cooler,
change the ATF regularly, it should be okay.

But by buying a rotary, you should expect to pay a lot for petrol.
A strict, weekend car.

Cheers

phat7

2,000 RPM
May 21, 2004