RON 95 vs 97 on B16A (or any DOHC VTEC engine), whats your opinion?

skalock77

Feb 13, 2007
yalah ...hahahhaa... my EX5 so good ler.. can take ron91,92,95,97 & V-power... oso can take airplane petrol from Bayan Lepas 1... hahahaa... dunno how many ron, but as long as can b more faster... who cares..:rofl::rofl:
if can tapau RXz enough laa....i'm scared riding to fast laa.....:rofl:

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
STILLEN GT-R Targa Race Car

Performance Numbers (As Set Up For 2009 Targa Rally)

* Horsepower: ~620 @ 15psi (91 Octane Pump Gas)
* 0-60mph: 2.9 seconds **
* 1/4 Mile: 11.0 seconds at 127.9mph **
* 0-130mph: 11.4 seconds **
* Lateral Grip: 1.1G+ **

** (as tested by Road & Track)
[/I]

...GTR running on RON 91.....620hp......US still using RON91.....haha

pencalat

Nov 20, 2006
ron ron ron ohh ron... don't be moRON yah............
oit jin, sell ur ex5 to me....

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
ron ron ron ohh ron... don't be moRON yah............
oit jin, sell ur ex5 to me....
sold long time ago ma... but can let u know how to tapao RG in 200meters... 1 time..only...:proud:

caleb_5375

Jul 21, 2007
woa....RON here RON there...but no more ronda ronda here and there coz petrol price gone up..just now go pump RM20 feel very sakit hati see the meter go up less then last time..
more syok is that BHP now got wat RON95x2 and RON97x2...i read the driver comment i laugh until i wan terbalik....all bullshit...one driver say the bhp ron95x2 performe better then the best petrol available previously(v power lah tu)...how could that be ????

sorry for my political comment but thats the fact wat we malaysian kena..tak kira lu apa colour pun juga kena tipu by our beloved MR G.

bulet

Oct 24, 2006
Cheras
STILLEN GT-R Targa Race Car

Performance Numbers (As Set Up For 2009 Targa Rally)

* Horsepower: ~620 @ 15psi (91 Octane Pump Gas)
* 0-60mph: 2.9 seconds **
* 1/4 Mile: 11.0 seconds at 127.9mph **
* 0-130mph: 11.4 seconds **
* Lateral Grip: 1.1G+ **

** (as tested by Road & Track)
[/I]

...GTR running on RON 91.....620hp......US still using RON91.....haha
if i'm not mistaken, US not using RON...but something else where the numbers are lower than RON numbers for the same octane:hmmmm:....forgot oredi wat they r using

Wanggot

May 22, 2006
Jay Bee
RON for other countries are Research Octane Rating, while in Malaysia, RON is Roughly Octane Rating...
True... Read U.S. magz dis moring abt 2JZ engine running with octane 89... Diff from our RON "Howard" in M'sia...

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
True... Read U.S. magz dis moring abt 2JZ engine running with octane 89... Diff from our RON "Howard" in M'sia...
their ron89, but add the Bio fuel to make it 97 & above... more power & less pollution while still can keep the price low...

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
________________Fuel_____________________________RON______MON______AKI
equirement for a typical two-stroke outboard engine[6]____69______65_______67
1-pentene_________________________________________84
n-butanol_________________________________________87
E10 gasoline_______________________________________87–93
n-butane__________________________________________91
"regular" gasoline in US and Canada____________________91–92____82–83___87
"EuroSuper" or "EuroPremium"_________________________95______85–86___90–91
t-butanol__________________________________________97
cyclohexane_______________________________________97
"premium" gasoline in US and Canada___________________97-98___88–89 ___93
"SuperPlus" in Germany and Great Britain________________98______89–90____93–94
iso-octane (RON by definition)________________________ 100______90–92____95–96
benzene__________________________________________101
"BP Ultimate 102"[7]________________________________102______93–94____97–98

Generally, octane ratings are higher in Europe than they are in North America and most other parts of the world. This is especially true when comparing the lowest available octane level in each country. In many parts of Europe, 95 RON (90-91 AKI) is the minimum available standard, with 97/98 RON being higher specification (being called Super Unleaded). In Germany, big suppliers like Shell or Aral offer 100 RON gasoline (Shell V-Power, Aral Ultimate) at almost every gas station. The United Kingdom also offers Shell V-Power, but in a 99 RON octane rating, and Tesco fuel stations also supply the Greenergy produced 99 RON "Tesco 99". In Australia, "regular" unleaded fuel is 91 RON, "premium" unleaded with 95 RON is widely available, and 98 RON fuel is also reasonably common. Shell used to sell 100 RON petrol from a small number of service stations, most of which are located in capital cities (stopped in August 2008). In Malaysia, the "regular" unleaded fuel is 92 RON, "premium" fuel is rated at 97 RON, and Shell's V-Power at 97 RON. In the Netherlands Shell V-Power is a 97 RON (labelled as 95 due to the legalities of only using 95 or 98 labelling), whereas in neighbouring Germany Shell V-Power consists of the regular 100 RON racing fuel. In other countries "regular" unleaded gasoline, when available, is sometimes as low as 85 RON (still with the more regular fuel, 95, and premium, around 98, available). In Russia and CIS countries 80 RON (76 MON) is the minimum available, the standard is 92 RON, however, the most used type is 95 RON. In Ireland 95 RON is the only petrol type available through stations.

In Italy, 95 RON is the regular gasoline offered (verde), and most gas stations offer 98 RON as the premium type (Super/Blu Super), many Shell stations close to the cities offer also V-Power Gasoline rated at 100 RON.

This higher rating seen in Europe is an artifact of a different underlying measuring procedure. In most countries (including all of Europe and Australia) the "headline" octane that would be shown on the pump is the RON, but in the United States, Canada and some other countries the headline number is the average of the RON and the MON, sometimes called the Anti-Knock Index (AKI), Road Octane Number (RdON), Pump Octane Number (PON), or (R+M)/2. Because of the 8 to 10 point difference noted above, this means that the octane in the United States will be about 4 to 5 points lower than the same fuel elsewhere: 87 octane fuel, the "regular" gasoline in the US and Canada, would be 91-92 in Europe. However most European pumps deliver 95 (RON) as "regular", equivalent to 90–91 US AKI=(R+M)/2, and deliver 98, 99 or 100 (RON) (93-94 AKI) labeled as Super Unleaded - thus regular gasoline sold in much of Europe corresponds to premium sold in the United States.

In the United Kingdom, 'regular' petrol has an octane rating of 95 RON, with 97 RON fuel being widely available as the Super Unleaded. Tesco and Shell both offer 99 RON fuel. BP is currently trialling the public selling of the super-high octane petrol BP Ultimate Unleaded 102, which as the name suggests, has an octane rating of 102 RON. Although BP Ultimate Unleaded (with an octane rating of 97 RON) and BP Ultimate Diesel are both widely available throughout the UK, BP Ultimate Unleaded 102 is (as of October 2007) only available throughout the UK in 10 filling stations, and is priced at about two and half times more than their 97 RON fuel.

Did some korek2....
US uses MON & AKI
Based on this table (extracted from "wiki"), it can be said that Octane 91 = RON 100
So in Malaysia we use RON 95 = Octane 85/86. ???or something like that....

?? dunno la but i think this made me more pening....

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
I think I understand now abit....

(RON + MON) / 2 = AKI (US octane rating)

So RON 95 = Octane 90/91 .......(so the stillen GTR is running on RON95....impressive..)
So RON 97 = Octane 93/94

So I would guess that (just a theory)........even FD2 Type R if using RON95 and a properly remapped ECU you could get back to the original performance figures (guessing that the honda factory tuned it for RON97).....right?

jeheyr

Jun 1, 2004
Ampang Jaya
community.webshots.com
ishk...
now evryone talking bout Ron here and Ron there...
bfore this im only knew Ron Dennis..
:rofl:
sheLL announce tht V-power will remain in their station..
thats the important thing..
:wavey:

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
i think i fried my brain trying to absorb the info.

i have given up on this whole ron thing...im just sticking to 97...don wanna re-tune my car..vpower also i dont want...esso 97 is good enough for me.

My car was broken into in broad daylight....dammm those
motherfu$%k......idiots stole my HU,Boost Meter and Boost controller
........may the person who stole burn in hell...damm motherfu%4k.....
The worst thing it happen in front of my work place at Sg Way Free Trade Zon
S$#t man.....