RB25DET or IJZ?

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
rb25=weak engine (observed from r33 model. r34 rb25 quite robust) but performance parts, spare parts super easy to find n cheap. anything wrong/faulty with the engine, the next day can get the car back on the road cos parts are too easy to find. typical service life of engine - 150k km.

2jz=strong engine (based on people's experience, mine still 100% stock). parts are quite hard to find (especially manual gearbox, dont matter 6 speed, 5 speed, NA/turbo) service parts like waterpump, serpent belt, oil filter significantly more expensive compared to rb. typical service life: dunno but there are lots of 10sec stock block 2jz running around in the states that clocked over 300k km.

after conversion, my car's suspension (tuned for rb25 engine) felt "soft", that means 2jz engine is much heavier (i think so lah). exhaust n turbo on passenger side so might clash with ur steering shaft if ur unlucky.

in terms of maintenance, rb25 wins hands down. in terms of high hp capability, thats where the 2jz shines. got pros n cons la bro. better consult ur mechanic.

neuspeed

May 7, 2006
yaaa, i done my googling (research) in internet.. u r totally rite.. so RB25 is my next option then.. thanks for ur info guys..

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
Z32 afm, s15 480cc injectors, sard regulator, walbro fuel pump, t3/t04e with banana+ wastegate, os giken twin plate clutch, greddy e-manage. will make u smile.

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
JIN, sum people said dat wankel engine r not so reliable for long term used.. is it true? wat do u think?
difren pl difren place to service/mod their car... i seen 1 black rx-7, mild mod with 450-500whp, running here & there like daily driving car, 5yrs liao.. still no any prob... but heard & seen a lot of tak boleh pergi rotary in sunway la... u judge loo... hehe...

yaaa, i done my googling (research) in internet.. u r totally rite.. so RB25 is my next option then.. thanks for ur info guys..
why not rb26..??

ART///SPEED

Jun 26, 2008
hi guy, need ur opinion..
im currently drivin E30 wit RB20. im plannin to upgred the engine soon. so im wonderin which one is better, either RB25Det or 1JZ? i dun think RB26 can fit into E30 engine bay.. hehe..
so guy, wat do u think? im lookin for power n less headache.. hahaha.. :wavey:

Bump: i got wat i need.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car-modification/205270-1jz-gte-or-rb20-25-which-one-wei.html

Bump: i got wat i need.
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car-modification/205270-1jz-gte-or-rb20-25-which-one-wei.html
you are currently using rb20...batter rb25 not much to change...