Proton Wira 1.5 manual Enginie Idling Problem

sifuconman

Jul 2, 2010
Hi to all the Sifus out there

My Proton Wira 1.5 manual year 2000 model has a major problem.

About a month ago the engine idling dropped especially when the aircon compressor pulls in and the car engine just "mati " like that.

I sent my car to a workshop the guy told me is the throttle control problem and that will cost me >RM1000 to get a replacement. The other alternative the guy said is to replace the throttle control plastic gears with a locally made one but he said the local one may not be able to solve the problem. So I asked him to replaced the throttle control plastic gears but the problem still persists.

What shall I do other than go back to EON service ? Is there a good workshop out there that is able to solve my problem ?

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
Bro,
Is the "Check Engine Light" (CEL) appear in your meter panel?

have you tried to clean your throttle body? try servicing your throttle body, perhaps too much carbon inside.

sifuconman

Jul 2, 2010
The check engine light is ok.

The workshop guy took out the plastic gear from my car and showed me that some of the teeth of the gear were broken.

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Nov 28, 2004
Up Yours
hmm....looks like sifuconman might get conned if ur gonna pay >1000.00 :P

change the entire throttle body is only couple hundred bucks...try servicing the tb 1st like wat yeehau mentioned...see what happens. worse if dun wanna change the tb, u can install a toyota FICD thingy(its not really an FICD). its a device that stabilizes ur idle when ur aircond is on/off. widely found in chopshops & zth marketplace, there's the 3-valve type n the bigger 5-valve type...as per my mech info

sifuconman

Jul 2, 2010
So the workshop guy is trying to con me ah ? Better go to another workshop and ask them to service the throttle body.

Thanks for the advice.

bongweeyap

Jan 26, 2005
bro sifuconman

last time i encounter the sma prob as u.
but after changing the plastic gear for only Rm 70.00 bucks.
so everything gose back to normal.

bro pocket rocket,
i change the TB is RM 890.00 original from proton genuies part.
i bought it from proton glemery.
if re-cond one only cost 250-400.
and it not lasting.
cox few of my member try the recond or thaidlan one, 2-3 yr kaput again.
that y i don want to take risk, straight change the ori one.

sifuconman

Jul 2, 2010
I changed the plastic gear but problem still there. Looks like chances is that I have to change the throttle body...sob.......

bongweeyap

Jan 26, 2005
bro sifuconman
if u really need to change TB, then buy the ori one.
don't buy the rebuilt or recond one.it last for 2-3 yrs only.
kedai potong even worse, 3 days only the "hi cam" situtation come back already.
if u ust want to pakai the car for short while more, then recond one can be consider.
mine chage ori one. so far so good.

Hi Experts,

Is it legal to drill some holes in the exhaust pipe near the end to make the exhaust louder?
doe it work like this? Is this how exhaust pipes can be modified to amplify the exhaust sound?

regards
Richard