Piggyback/Standalone

Jul 17, 2006

question I need answers to:

i) whats the difference between standalone and piggyback ecu?
ii) i got 2 friends who told me the e-manage blue keeps giving problem(i.e: ecu reset sometimes)
maybe their ecu die liao, dunno la. anyone else encounter this prob?

and members who are using these, pls share the model of PB/SA ecu you guys are using and the pros n cons of it for all our benefit?

thx !

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004

question I need answers to:

i) whats the difference between standalone and piggyback ecu?
ii) i got 2 friends who told me the e-manage blue keeps giving problem(i.e: ecu reset sometimes)
maybe their ecu die liao, dunno la. anyone else encounter this prob?

and members who are using these, pls share the model of PB/SA ecu you guys are using and the pros n cons of it for all our benefit?

thx !
If the ecu 'reset',then reset back the ecu

Jul 17, 2006
hi cusco, sorry im really new in modifications world.. so i was wondering... its that easy to set the ecu? the way u say it is like pressing a button only lol.

just wanna do more research on ecu before deciding which one to get

AE75

Feb 10, 2010
hi cusco, sorry im really new in modifications world.. so i was wondering... its that easy to set the ecu? the way u say it is like pressing a button only lol.

just wanna do more research on ecu before deciding which one to get
Normally reset ECU is plug out Battery for few minute, then plug it back. But cusco bro way of reset the ECU, i not sure.

Standalone always far better than piggyback. This only I know.

Jul 17, 2006
hi bro ae75, mind to share what model u using and any complaints etc?

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
I've been using E-manage Blue for about 2 years now... no problems so far and never experience 'reset' issue as well. Almost all of the E-manage users I've known never complained so far as well. So I think it depends on the tuner and if you have the ignition harness to go with or not.

The main difference between SA vs PB is definitely the cost and functions. For stock engine (even with light mods), PB should be sufficient. Also, PB is more suitable for daily driven whereas SA is for heavy mods and best suited for track application. Tuning the SA is also rather complicated and time consuming, not to mention countless times revisiting the tuner/dyno over again to get the perfect tuning.

I'm just posting the basics here... hope you got the idea ;)

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
emanage doesnt reset itself, unless u accidentally bought a fake emanage

weve used stand alone on many road cars, and many of them are still roaming around, no problem.. get a good wireman to install them, and a good tuner to tune it up. i highly suggest millennium motorsports asia for both jobs

my car is vios 07..i wanna to change a sport air filter..but the the ori air filter got a sorket..so im not sure can it change or not..
the air filter that i wan to change is in the photo...

can the sensor take out from the ori intake pipping??