Overheating issues.

Master D

Nov 26, 2004
KL/JB
Guys,

Lately I have noticed that my car will overheat if its at standstill for more than 15 minutes. :angry:

I had the A/C on and within 15 minutes I could see my temp rising over the halfway mark and gradually going higher. (Farkkkkkkk!!!!!)

If I switch off the A/C, temp will go down. If I am moving, temp will go down as well.

I went to some mechanic here in JB and he told me that my radiator probably is clogged, so he said need to "service". With engine ON, the damn radiator hose is empty!!!!...as though nothing is going through. So I assume sumbat lo..So ok la, he dismantles the radiator and does the sevicing. Frankly I am not too sure what he did, but he he said he wanted to unclog it. Draining the water, I saw that its all rusty and Teh O in colour. :blink:

Anyway, he puts the radiator back in. With engine running can see that the hoses are full of water and looks like its moving. Then, after 1 day, kanasai......overheated again! :angry: :angry:

So whats the problem ar?Cant be thermostat rite? A/C fan running and all!

He has a "dual layer" radiator that he says I should plonk in, but it needs to be modified as the hose positions are not correct, basically not a Toyota AE101 rdiator la..... Advisable?

Help.......!!!!!! <_<

Acoustic

Nov 24, 2003
Hong Kong
www.my-acoustic.com
kesihan no one answer this one........ to be honest I don't know what to say to you .......

keep trying until problem solve, then ask your regular mechanic to modify the 2 fans to blow full speed all the time....

if got $$ install big ass oil cooler ....... if got bigger one I also want .....

I'm suspecting you have a case of engine eating water ... something like that, suspect only..... don't quote me on this ......

It is also good to modify dual layer aluminum radiator, I wish I could find one.....

Cooling is the most important issue for everything ........

Acoustic

Nov 24, 2003
Hong Kong
www.my-acoustic.com
always engage the same mechanic ...... make friends with him ..... hope he don't cheat you in the future.......

EFN

Dec 28, 2003
Batu Caves
There is a possibility that your engine's head gasket is busted - high possibility - this require top overhaul. Or it could be that along the water lines, there is a small leakage specially on the rubber seals. Or it could be as simple as your thermostat is not opening properly anymore - this you can test by just simply removing the thermostat - if the overheating stops, then you could either replace thermostat or run without it (but engine warm-up might be slow).

Lastly, water pump busted and not pumping properly.

My best guess is that head gasket is blown.

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
To check if the head gasket is blown, try checking your dipstick and the engine oil cover. if there's some whitish bubbly mixture with them, then the gasket is gone.

MySecaSx

Aug 16, 2004
ampang,selangor
Master D,
that temp prob. oso happen to my ride last time.
symptom:1)Engine idle and AirCond ON-temp will raise but when AC turn Off
temp will drop,
2)if car moving,temp will down but if u sangkut at Jam...it raise again
-What should u do 1'st is open thermostat,like Erwandy said check it,okey or not,
-But if thermostat ok that must be Radiator clogged,open radiator than go
service lor...(some w/shop having machine to flush/flow the rust inside radiator
but its not really work),
-The best go to radiator specialist,they will open top/bottom cover of radiator
and they will poke(jolok/korek)all the rust with special blade(macam mata
gergaji),then after all line clean already they will mount back both cover
and check for water flow.
-I do like last time but it only boleh tahan till 1 year that happen again,
maybe inside water jacket VERY2 rusty already,
-than i change to AE101 radiator buy from Kedai Potong...now no more
temp problem...
- ;)

Master D

Nov 26, 2004
KL/JB
Hi All,

Thanks for the pointers....!!!! ;)

Looks like I'm gonna have to spend 1 whole day at the mechanics place just to trouble shoot. Sigh!!!!!

I've already done the radiator specialist bit. So now I'm left with either the thermostat or buying a radiator....

Any idea if 4AGZE in a AE101 can fit 2 fans?? I think the extractor is in the way la...

Anyway, this weekend I'll try to get it sorted out, if the thread is still around I will tell you guys the outcome! :blink:

Thanks!!!!!!!!!

KL3873Q

Dec 4, 2003
Acoustic,
My friend with highly modded 4agte use the radiator from Honda inspire CB-5 which is double layer aluminium and can fit in his Ke70 GL . By the size of that radiator even u put 2jz also no problem.

Master D

Nov 26, 2004
KL/JB
Hey guys...

How much do aluminium radiators cost>?? I frankly have no idea...

Potong Kereta shops carry them right!?

unrated

Dec 14, 2004
Menglembu, Ipoh, Perak
hi, new here but my father's ke70 also had the same problem like u mentioned. he spent thousands of ringgit to solve the issue. u (foremen) name it, he tried it. eventually to no avail until 1 foreman helped him. the real problem behind this overheating was actually not water overheat but ELECTRIC overheat. its the air-con (pump, i cant remember) dat was culprit. forgive me if im not correct, u know the water dat is being purged out from the (pump?). the foreman used a steel pipe to listened to the air-con pump and he noticed dat it was working very hard. so, my dad sent his car to an air-con repair guy and clear the clog pipe (air-con pump outlet?). voila, after dat the problem was solved. my dad's car had the damm issue for lotsa years. and this foreman helped him to solved it.
hope tis will help, bye.

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Hello Master,
Can u please explain in details for the following?

"With engine ON, the damn radiator hose is empty!!!!..."
>> Do u mean that you have empty radiator?

"Anyway, he puts the radiator back in. With engine running can see that the hoses are full of water and looks like its moving. Then, after 1 day, kanasai......overheated again"
>> Does the water level in the readitor remained after 1 day?

Master D

Nov 26, 2004
KL/JB
Hi Levin818,

"With engine ON, the damn radiator hose is empty!!!!..."
>> Do u mean that you have empty radiator?
Radiator is full but no water seems to be flowing through the hoses

"Anyway, he puts the radiator back in. With engine running can see that the hoses are full of water and looks like its moving. Then, after 1 day, kanasai......overheated again"
>> Does the water level in the readitor remained after 1 day?
Water level is the same, correct. There does not seem to be a leak or evaporation, the funny thing is though, the "spare tank" by the radiator almost always seems to be empty after 2 days of driving. I had in the past (prior to experiencing this overheating issue) left the "spare tank" empty for abt 2 weks and it seems to be fine.

Any idea whats goin on?

:unsure:

artnet

Jan 19, 2004
Sarawak
www.cardomain.com
my spare tank also like tht.. not empty la. but the water level going down quite fast.

b4 i put in bt, it doesn't happen at all... the water level always maintain there.
i'm using the TRD1.3bar radiator cap. could it be the cap weaken?

if so, can dump liao.. just used for one year!

Dear Sifus...

I want to ask... So many VS in the market.. All claim to have effect. But how to know which to use? For example, Pivot Raizin alone got purple, yellow, red, blue and grey... Some other brand they packaged it so small and they claim it is voltage stabilizer.

1. What is the difference? Which is better?
2. And how if we got a counterfeit, does it still work?
3. How do we know that the VS actually does its work and not just display what it wants?
4. For grounding cables...