MITSUBISHI GALANT

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Guys,

I'm in the middle of private importing this model directly from Japan (JDM). So far, my friend aka my salesman has recommended me few models :-

Model C.c Year

1. VRG GDI NA 1.8 FWD/AWD 2001-2002
2. VR4 GDI NA/Turbo?. 2.0 AWD 2001-2002
3. VR4 GDI Turbo 2.3 AWD 2001-2002
4. VR4 GDI Turbo 2.4 AWD 2001-2002
5. VR4 V6 TT 2.5 AWD 2001-2002

Can someone here reconfirm the existance above models. As far as i know (thru my net search), there are only 2 model exist, i.e. No. (1) & (5).

Prices of the above models as at now remain P&C.

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Aik, nobody knows. Hmmm

Anyway, I managed to check with my friend. So, actually there is 2.0 NA Gallant VRG / Viento with 1999 cc, carried chasis EA7A & EC7A respectively. The engine code is 4G94. Both VRG/Viento model have FF & AWD version. The one i'm going to buy is AWD Viento.

4G93 is for Galant VR-G, comes with 1834cc GDI. Powertrain abit low, as compared to 2.0 Version.

Guys,

I noticed got 2 2001 model Galant VRG in Shah Alam (maybe staying around section 9 & 10). Any of them belong to this forum or ZTHian?. If yes, please response ASAP.

TQ

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
The one widely available in Malaysia is the VRG - 2000cc, NT with 5 speed INVECS-II tranny.

If u plan to import, get either Item 2 and 5 as parts are widely available from most chop shops.

BTW, how much is the Super VR4 (Item 5) going to cost?

aja

Dec 3, 2003
acbc,

The chasis for FF (2WD) 2.0 version is LA-EA7A which comes with 4 AT sports Mode INVEC-II, not 5 speed one. The model is VE,VR-G & Viento.

For AWD 2.0 version chasis is LA-EC7A, which come with same transmission also. The model is VR-G & Viento. Actually, the one i'm looking is manual transmission.

Both powertrain is the same, with DOHC 16V 145ps & 191 Nm torque. Don't know how much bhp.

The LA-EC7A weight is heavier by almost 100kg, as compared to LA-EA7A. Don't know what contribute to this extra 100kg (besides the rear 4WD excel)

My friend quoted me RM15X,XXX for the 2.5cc TT V6 version, (year 2001 or 2000, i can't remember, sorry). The only reason that scared me from buying this model is the high maintenance + higher road-tax. The 2.0 AWD priced slightly below the 2.5cc price, not so much different.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
aja,

Oops... typo! Should be 4 speed not 5 speed. Thanks for the correction.

Problem with this model is weight... the chassis is very heavy.

1.8L already underpowered
2.0L NT + AWD lagi underpowered.
2.3L/2.4L/2.5L T + AWD better

Wow... RM 150k for year 2000 model? Still ok I guess since my former Galant (the E54A) costs RM 132k back in 1994.

aja

Dec 3, 2003
acbc,

I wonder if it's posibble that Evo 7/8 engine fit into this galant AWD chasis. Does it need major mounting mod?. what sort of power could it produced?. Equivalent with 2.5TT V6 6A13 maybe (since this 2.5 TT std bhp is already = to evo bhp)

Private importing need u prepare a lot of $$$ upfront. At least 20%- 30 %
of the estimated vehicle price as a deposit since the importer need to pay cash for the AP, vehicle cost etc. The balance of 80%-70% could be settled after the car arrived thru finance or cash as well.

Whoever interested to do private importing, can pm me to get more details.

TQ

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Aiks? Converting from 6 pots to 4 pots? Maybe can but underpowered la... since Galant has a heavy chassis.

The Super VR4 is also known as "old man's Evo". :P

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Guys,

Getting my Galant Viento 2.0 soon. Hopefully by 3rd week of January. :D :D

aja

Dec 3, 2003
e39a,

I took the pic from mits. website for the same model (exact model). Hopefully i will get the correct spec. Hehe

ea1a_4g93

Jun 30, 2004
USJ
www.geocities.com
aja

how was your car....just a little galant here rite?....spare parts also difficult to get.
where are u?....let go meet up....hehehe...will introduce u a white vr4 owner in usj...

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Originally posted by acbc@Apr 22 2005, 19:45
aja,

How's the car?
[snapback]919253[/snapback]​
Guys,
It's quite a long story. Apparently until now i didn't received the car yet. May be by mid May 2005 kot. So long it took cause i've ordered the manual version one, model EC7A, four wheel AWD summore, which is very rare spesis even in Japan. Got 1 already, color pearl white. first don't want this color, but later have to agreed cause this one only available for manual EC7A one.

In between (around end Feb 05), my uncle push me to buy his Accord CF4, since his new car coming & i've been 'patah kaki' for about 2 months after sold off my Lancer Mivec. So, to make things short, i bought the car. And the most 'sadist' thing is, i've converted the car to Euro R H22A Vtec. Just converted recently actually & just passed the Puspakom inspection last wed!. :lol:
Can View my conversion journal at Honda Forum, HAVOC Thread..pics included.

so, now don't decide yet, whether to use Euro R or Galant.

as for Galant, i've paid some booking also. Just in case tak jadi beli, got another guy willing to buy my order at higher price also. Can make a bit $$$. If i cancelled can get back my booking fee. <_<

As for Euro R, conversion cost + acquistion cost still lower than current Euro R 2nd hand market value. If i sell my Euro R, still can make profit $$$ here & there.

So, see first la. Have to really decide on this. But for the time being,layan Euro R dulu. Later see la how.

aja

Dec 3, 2003
Originally posted by aja@Dec 23 2004, 19:09
Guys,

Getting my Galant Viento 2.0 soon. Hopefully by 3rd week of January. :D :D
[snapback]600816[/snapback]​
Guys,
the one i quoted earlier is Tiptronic version. I've cancelled this is due to the tiptronic. By that time, looking forward for a manual tranmission only. :lol:

Merc's latest 2018 A-Class arrives Malaysia! A250 & A200 + MBUX

Boom! the A Class has arrived - Just debuted in Malaysia, the all-new, gadget centric compact Merc will be available in 2 flavours, the A200 and A250, which are priced from RM227,888 and RM263,888 respectively. W177 will be...