Knuckle conversion from 4 lugs to 5 lugs

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member
Jul 25, 2004
37
1
3,008
Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to apologize if there's an existing thread about this but I couldn't find one. Feel free to remove my thread if there's an existing one. Thank you.

I am planning to place a bigger disc brake and Nissan 4 pot is my only option instead of 2 pot evo 3. Why? Because it is 4 pot and furthermore, it looks much more sportier rather than 2 pot evo 3. Ive been browsing through and searching for original 4 lugs pcd 100@114.3 unfortunately no success at all. The only available is 5 lugs. Ok, then this is my question...

1) If I want to get a bigger disc brake, do I need to change my brake masterpump, braided hose and servo?
2) In order to place 5 lugs one, I have to convert this original perdana v6 4 lugs to 5 lugs right? How much does it cost all together just to get 5 lugs knuckle ready to rock?
3) Let say I go and buy this 5 lugs Nissan 4 pot disc brake...go to bengkel or kedai besi, drill on it to get 4 lugs. Definitely there will be "rompong" and "lubang" here and there next to the existing 5 lugs but nevermind as no public display needed on the "lubang". Is it ok to do such thing? how about the reliability?

As for your information, this do's is only for make-up thing and fancy one, not for racing use :)

Please assist. Thanks.
 

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member
Nov 1, 2007
15,914
3,371
1,713
PJ
www.primeperdanaclub.com
1) If I want to get a bigger disc brake, do I need to change my brake masterpump, braided hose and servo?
**depends wat engine u using? 6a12tt or 4g63t? then no need to change, if v6/sei n/a then need to change
2) In order to place 5 lugs one, I have to convert this original perdana v6 4 lugs to 5 lugs right? How much does it cost all together just to get 5 lugs knuckle ready to rock?
**not sure, but NeurOne has contact to tebuk lubang cheap. i also wanna ask him bout this
3) Let say I go and buy this 5 lugs Nissan 4 pot disc brake...go to bengkel or kedai besi, drill on it to get 4 lugs. Definitely there will be "rompong" and "lubang" here and there next to the existing 5 lugs but nevermind as no public display needed on the "lubang". Is it ok to do such thing? how about the reliability?
**i dont think the lubang is visible, the 4pot might be cheap but to fabricate the bracket is quite pricey.
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to apologize if there's an existing thread about this but I couldn't find one. Feel free to remove my thread if there's an existing one. Thank you.

I am planning to place a bigger disc brake and Nissan 4 pot is my only option instead of 2 pot evo 3. Why? Because it is 4 pot and furthermore, it looks much more sportier rather than 2 pot evo 3. Ive been browsing through and searching for original 4 lugs pcd 100@114.3 unfortunately no success at all. The only available is 5 lugs. Ok, then this is my question...

1) If I want to get a bigger disc brake, do I need to change my brake masterpump, braided hose and servo?
2) In order to place 5 lugs one, I have to convert this original perdana v6 4 lugs to 5 lugs right? How much does it cost all together just to get 5 lugs knuckle ready to rock?
3) Let say I go and buy this 5 lugs Nissan 4 pot disc brake...go to bengkel or kedai besi, drill on it to get 4 lugs. Definitely there will be "rompong" and "lubang" here and there next to the existing 5 lugs but nevermind as no public display needed on the "lubang". Is it ok to do such thing? how about the reliability?

As for your information, this do's is only for make-up thing and fancy one, not for racing use :)

Please assist. Thanks.
1) dont need to change anything, perdana's is good enuff, but if u can get bigger servos and masterpump from the originating car it's even better..

2) u can convert to 5 lugs. i did mine for rm250 in Taman kajang Utama. just tebuk the hub, not knuckle. but if u can get 5 lugs from galant or eterna (like i did also, after tebuk then i found a 5 lug set), its even better.

3) or u can use this idea, just tebuk the brake disc la. lagi kurang kerja. even if rompong takpe. if the 4 lubang is nicely calculated, there wont be much tolerance and that's ok..

* i converted to 5 lugs mainly becoz more 5 lugs rims are more lawa.. hehe..
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
neuro...wats the diff tebuk hub or knuckle?
how much u bought the ori 5lugs? front & rear?
what i mean is that the knuckle is that lengkuk thingy that holds upper arm, lower arm and brake caliper. and the hub is located on the knuckle which holds the brake disc, rim and driveshaft.
so, to tebuk from 4 lugs to 5 lugs, just take out the hub, no need to take out the knuckle. and dont forget to tebuk the brake disc as well.. nanti hub 5 lugs, disc 4 lugs, camne pulak tu.. hehe..

i got the ori 5 lugs from lan_eterna when i bought the galant brake set which comes with the knuckle and 5 lugs hub..
 

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member
Nov 1, 2007
15,914
3,371
1,713
PJ
www.primeperdanaclub.com
Ooo..so means all those 4-5 holes conversion ppl just tebuk the hub thats all rite?
are there any difference in using tebuk hubs & ori ones? does the rim wobble at high speeds?
rm250 kautim everything rite? include tebuk disc brakes & workmanship?
kinda interested though...if i manage to find 5lug rims la...if dpt 4lug lucky la...
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
Ooo..so means all those 4-5 holes conversion ppl just tebuk the hub thats all rite?
are there any difference in using tebuk hubs & ori ones? does the rim wobble at high speeds?
rm250 kautim everything rite? include tebuk disc brakes & workmanship?
kinda interested though...if i manage to find 5lug rims la...if dpt 4lug lucky la...
yep, from 4 lugs to 5 lugs just tebuk hub and disc brake.

difference from tebuk hub and buying ori is the originality and calculations la. if calculation not precise, afraid the car will wobble..

yep, rm250 for workmanship of tebuk hub and disc brake. but u have to send in only the hub and disc. he will not do it for u. so u will incur extra expenses la to take out the stuff if u do it at a workshop. his although the kedai is buruk, the workmanship is tiptop. it specialises in repairing rims and this tebuk job only. nothing else. i personally waited and see he do the calculation and drilling manually..
 

l2s_turbo

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

l2s_turbo

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 23, 2004
1,068
154
3,163
I done my conversion to 5 lugs too.. just like what bro neuroOne said if the workmanship good it wont wobble.. so far i already converted for 4 yrs already.. ok..
 

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member
Nov 1, 2007
15,914
3,371
1,713
PJ
www.primeperdanaclub.com
yep, from 4 lugs to 5 lugs just tebuk hub and disc brake.

difference from tebuk hub and buying ori is the originality and calculations la. if calculation not precise, afraid the car will wobble..

yep, rm250 for workmanship of tebuk hub and disc brake. but u have to send in only the hub and disc. he will not do it for u. so u will incur extra expenses la to take out the stuff if u do it at a workshop. his although the kedai is buruk, the workmanship is tiptop. it specialises in repairing rims and this tebuk job only. nothing else. i personally waited and see he do the calculation and drilling manually..
ok bro..when im ready to tebuk i will call u ok..u intro me to him.....then i belanja u teh tarik + roti canai..:rofl:
 

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Senior Member

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Senior Member
Nov 14, 2003
1,199
10
3,138
Puchong
Just a curious question, are there no alternatives to a 5-lug hub/knuckle without resorting to "tebuk lubang baru"? As in, maybe something from the newer Galant or maybe GTO, can they fit?

Well.. I'm driving a Wira with 5-lugs, but instead of re-engineering it, I used the FTO set which is more or less plug and play, but I'm now considering a Perdana and want to re-use my wheel set.
 
Last edited:

slipar

500 RPM
Senior Member

slipar

500 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 29, 2006
500
61
1,528
banting - pj
perdana i think can use gto 4pot..
saw at mudah someone selling for 700 ++ not remember exactly..
if 700 + workmanship to install then 1k also..
if mod existing brake to 5lug cheaper + no safety issue then why not just mod it..
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
ok bro..when im ready to tebuk i will call u ok..u intro me to him.....then i belanja u teh tarik + roti canai..:rofl:
no problemo. hehe..

Just a curious question, are there no alternatives to a 5-lug hub/knuckle without resorting to "tebuk lubang baru"? As in, maybe something from the newer Galant or maybe GTO, can they fit?

Well.. I'm driving a Wira with 5-lugs, but instead of re-engineering it, I used the FTO set which is more or less plug and play, but I'm now considering a Perdana and want to re-use my wheel set.
well the galant, eterna and i believe eclipse D32A also 5 lugs can be used.
FTO, i dono.. if wira can fit perdana hub, then it may fit..

perdana i think can use gto 4pot..
saw at mudah someone selling for 700 ++ not remember exactly..
if 700 + workmanship to install then 1k also..
if mod existing brake to 5lug cheaper + no safety issue then why not just mod it..
the GTO brake calipers, yes can fit.
but they are discussing the wheel hub which holds the disc and rim..
perdana 4 lug to 5 lug.
 

l2s_turbo

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

l2s_turbo

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 23, 2004
1,068
154
3,163
perdana i think can use gto 4pot..
saw at mudah someone selling for 700 ++ not remember exactly..
if 700 + workmanship to install then 1k also..
if mod existing brake to 5lug cheaper + no safety issue then why not just mod it..
Can why not, i'm using it currently.. 700++ is cheap lo.. last time i bought it for 800++.. but the TS is asking can we mod from 4 lugs to 5 lugs.. so it shouldn't have any problem here..
 

mymax

Known Member
Senior Member

mymax

Known Member
Senior Member
Oct 13, 2008
165
72
1,528
difference from tebuk hub and buying ori is the originality and calculations la. if calculation not precise, afraid the car will wobble..
workmanship plays a crucial part.. if the job is superbly done, then should be no problem..
and since the originality is also important, that's why u change from tebuk to original 5-lug isn't it?
hehe.. luckily my rims come with centre caps, so ppl can't see 4 or 5 lugs.. useless to change! :biggrin:
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
workmanship plays a crucial part.. if the job is superbly done, then should be no problem..
and since the originality is also important, that's why u change from tebuk to original 5-lug isn't it?
hehe.. luckily my rims come with centre caps, so ppl can't see 4 or 5 lugs.. useless to change! :biggrin:
wait till u get bored with ur rims, then u fall in love with 5 lugs rim. haha.. :thefinger:
 

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member
Jul 25, 2004
37
1
3,008
Wah..good responses. Thanks everyone. I might be installing 4 pot nissan this week. Found the 1 front pair 4 pot nissan but with 5 lugs. Need to tebuk to 4 lugs as well. NeuroOne...I will call u later for the tebuk one. No worries, I got your phone number and fb. Vsixers maa...

p/s: I used to own a restaurant back then in Bangi...u visited me last time. hahaha
 

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member

NeuroOne

WFH
Senior Member
Sep 11, 2006
2,072
181
1,663
Putrajaya
Wah..good responses. Thanks everyone. I might be installing 4 pot nissan this week. Found the 1 front pair 4 pot nissan but with 5 lugs. Need to tebuk to 4 lugs as well. NeuroOne...I will call u later for the tebuk one. No worries, I got your phone number and fb. Vsixers maa...

p/s: I used to own a restaurant back then in Bangi...u visited me last time. hahaha
lor.. wanzul ke? hehe. cant recognise in forum..
 

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member

L200s

Active Member
Senior Member
Jul 25, 2004
37
1
3,008
Yezza. Offline member for Vsixers. Renewing membership very soon :)
 

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Senior Member

GRexer

GRexer™ KuzTomZ
Senior Member
Nov 14, 2003
1,199
10
3,138
Puchong
well the galant, eterna and i believe eclipse D32A also 5 lugs can be used.
FTO, i dono.. if wira can fit perdana hub, then it may fit..
Actually, I was refering to the Perdana itself(using my Wira as an example of using FTO parts for a plug and play 5-lug conversion).

I mean, is there a way to convert the Perdana to 5-lug using original parts from other cars? Or drilling/modifying the original hub/knuckle is the only way.

I plan to fit the Evolution 5-9's front and rear stock Brembo though.