Izzit possible to add a Turbo Kit on normal engine

lorddie

Jan 31, 2005
Hi,guys,i am newbie here,i just wanna ask,izzit posible i add on turbo kit to my stock engine. My engine is Toyota 3S-FE engine, 2000 cc. can i know wat part do i need and where can i find it,thanks a lot

lorddie

Jan 31, 2005
erm... i also got think of 3S-GTE,but i afraid will make more work to fix that engine into my car.. i still considering which one better,add turbo kit or half cut 3S-GTE

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
i think half cut better...coz the engine internal is made to witstand turbo force induction...

compare 2 ur stock engine...i think u can go 4 big sum of boost...

i think even proton 1.5 will run ok wit a turbo kit wit juz 0.3-0.5 bar of boost...doesnt need intercooler...but...better dump in GSR rite...

anyway...it juz my 2 cent...

philipplim

Mar 18, 2004
just a important question to ask u all..

is there a difference between a twin cam 1.8 block and a sohc 1.8 block?
just wondering

phil

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
things you should haf for a turbo kit:
exhaust manifold
turbocharger
wastegate
downpipe
intercooler(depending on ur boost level)
piping
BOV
oil system
fuel system
ignition system
ignition and fuek control (engine management)
boost controller

things u need for a half cut:
cash
time

so..by that info you should see the obvious matter about bolting a turbo kit on.so much of money will be spent on ur engine and by this its going to reduce your engine's lifespan.
going for a halfcut would be so much better.

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
Originally posted by philipplim@Jan 31 2005, 14:10

just wondering

phil
the valve performance will be better.

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
U dunt need an external wastegate for a bolt-on setup.

tajulsans

Jul 31, 2004
Soo Bang
Originally posted by L2TurboFool+Jan 31 2005, 14:58 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (L2TurboFool @ Jan 31 2005, 14:58 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-philipplim@Jan 31 2005, 14:10

just wondering

phil
the valve performance will be better. [/b][/quote]
u r not reading the question correctly i presume.. from what i heard, there is no difference what so ever.. even refer to 4G9x manual also didnt see any difference.. but never realy check the real thing laa

lorddie

Jan 31, 2005
Originally posted by L2TurboFool@Jan 31 2005, 14:56
things you should haf for a turbo kit:
exhaust manifold
turbocharger
wastegate
downpipe
intercooler(depending on ur boost level)
piping
BOV
oil system
fuel system
ignition system
ignition and fuek control (engine management)
boost controller

things u need for a half cut:
cash
time

so..by that info you should see the obvious matter about bolting a turbo kit on.so much of money will be spent on ur engine and by this its going to reduce your engine's lifespan.
going for a halfcut would be so much better.
Thanks,i think i will go for half cut,coz i already ask my friend bout 3S-GTe half cut,celica,include MR2 gear box,about 2k ++.so,i think i will wait for the half cut,thanks a lot,by the way,wanna ask,wat mean by the Bar ... for turbo??sorry,noob here

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
Originally posted by tajulsans+Jan 31 2005, 15:28 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (tajulsans @ Jan 31 2005, 15:28 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Originally posted by L2TurboFool@Jan 31 2005, 14:58
<!--QuoteBegin-philipplim
@Jan 31 2005, 14:10

just wondering

phil

the valve performance will be better.
u r not reading the question correctly i presume.. from what i heard, there is no difference what so ever.. even refer to 4G9x manual also didnt see any difference.. but never realy check the real thing laa [/b][/quote]
hhrmm...ne1 here done a convertion like that?care to xplain?

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
Originally posted by lorddie@Jan 31 2005, 20:47
bout 3S-GTe half cut,celica,include MR2 gear box,about 2k ++.so,i think i will wait for the half cut,thanks a lot,by the way,wanna ask,wat mean by the Bar ... for turbo??sorry,noob here
better choice! ;)

bar is the unit that your boost preassure is measured in. bar/psi.

lorddie

Jan 31, 2005
i still working on mod my car,toyota Corona St171, i just finish some body work only,this car last time belong to my dad one,now he gave me,so i wanna mod it kao kao one,the 3S-GTE,i order ler,left the body part,i plan to add on a rear wing ,any suggestion??

TE27levin

Nov 23, 2003
to cut cost, u can use 3SGTE piston with thick head gasket.
without thick head gasket the compression wont drop, cos FE head compression chamber is small, compare to GE..

JPJ To Go After Illegally Modified Kancil And Satria

KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 19 (Bernama) -- The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will go after Kancil and Satria which have been illegally modified, said its director-general Datuk Emran Kadir.

He said JPJ would also take action against owners of motorcycles and other vehicles with similar modifications, which are against the Road Transport Act 1987.

A studied carried out by JPJ showed that vehicles like Kancil and Satria had been...