Inline 6 Vs V-6

Muz

Oct 25, 2004
Just wondering what is the differance between this two types of six cylinders engine given the same amount of c.c. Performance, reliability, ease and cost of upgrade/mods...etc? Any of the sifu out there want to answer this?

prodigy

i think V6 engines are generally alot more quiet and smooth. for extreme cases like in formula 1, the bigger the angle of V, the more stable it is because the centre of gravity is lower.

but then it doesn't mean other engines are not as smooth as V engines. volvo has worked on their inline 5 engines to perfection. every manufacturer has their way of making a good engine.

4agze

Jan 25, 2004
from what i have told, inline is always better than V. they do the V because to reduce the engine compartment space.

Then i asked that guy why F1 dont have to do inline can be so fast. he answered that you dont like to see a F1 car to be so long with 10 cylinders inline. almost adding 2/3 size of it. :P

spyderslr

Mar 1, 2004
1 of the crucial reason for a V configuration engine is the compact size....in general, in-line sixes r better in terms of performance, reliability n even refinement

L2TurboFool

Oct 8, 2004
V6 is better.coz of the angle.and when fumes are released,its a 3-1 and 3-1 header.much better compared to a 6- header.

and mostly ppl go "wah....."when they hear "V6"haha

bigboystoys

Sep 25, 2004
I-6 is better than v6 in terms of vibration, noise, it is more 'balanced'
that's why you see some cars still stick to I-6

but the downside is the size of having 6 cylinders in a row.. higher CG.. bigger polar moment... etc etc..
weight wise... i don't know.. a v6 requires an extra set of most parts.. whereas the I-6 shares it.. so this could be a trade-off of having a lower CG

:)

Zeroed

Inline 6 is perfectly balanced I read. Perhaps slightly more efficient? :)

MK84

Nov 16, 2003
www.mk84.com
Quite a few misconception here. V6 engine is not perfectly balanced because of the the cylinder firing sequence and crank angle.

Inline-6 is the best in terms of smoothness and balance. A lot of ppl made the mistake that V6 is smoother. It is not.

The same can be said about the headers. Inline-6 has better exhaust header design.

V6 advantage is the compact size, comparable to an Inline-4 length wise.

Muz

Oct 25, 2004
Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Jan 23 2005, 05:24
muz: differences is.. it's not rotary :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol: What is a rotary compared to your inline monster :)

lozo

Sep 26, 2004
inline6 delivers much linear performance, but when the configuration changed to vee and then flat, i realised it sounds different (from a flat sound to much beaty sound)

L9Turbo

Aug 18, 2004
Inline rulez

Muz

Oct 25, 2004
Originally posted by BLaCkHoWLiNG@Jan 23 2005, 11:27
hahaha.. u cannot provide such statement as u've never tested i-6 before... only rotary... if u've driven both worlds... then u can comment lor...
Hahaha...in that case got to wait for tai kor to take me for a ride in his monster ;)

Hey Im plannin on changing my muffler with the inlet of 2.0"...my extractor has been changed but mid is still stock...I wont have any problem with it would I?like any power loss?