Identify Your Celica

killer x

May 16, 2006
Thank you Zeus83,
Actually I was looking for at Celica TA22 GTV Version but it was a rare as a dinosaur.... so wanted to find a TA27 GTV version.... but all was in ST version. Then after few years of reaserch's n waiting's n kampung driving, I finally met this dragon( as we nick name our 1st gen celicas). The bonus was it's also the rare TA23 GT version.
btw its 2TG n 3TG hybrid engine with a Nissan 180zx turbo.

zeus83

Oct 29, 2006
KL-Damansara
Thank you Zeus83,
Actually I was looking for at Celica TA22 GTV Version but it was a rare as a dinosaur.... so wanted to find a TA27 GTV version.... but all was in ST version. Then after few years of reaserch's n waiting's n kampung driving, I finally met this dragon( as we nick name our 1st gen celicas). The bonus was it's also the rare TA23 GT version.
btw its 2TG n 3TG hybrid engine with a Nissan 180zx turbo.
Wow! that a long wait! i prefer to call it the jap mustang :)

btw, are u in KL?

celicaburuk

Mar 1, 2005
hi everyone..

Celica..
American said "sell i car".. rest of the world said "silly car"... a few said "chilly cha"...
haha...

back to history.. celica was the flag ship model for Toyota production line.. it got "A" chassis code.. actually the twin brother of this model is Carina & Celica XX so called Celica Supra.. also got "A" chassis code.. Celica & Carina hold the "A" chassis code until 3rd gen.. 4th gen they carried "T" chassis code, shared with the Corona. Celica XX & Celica Supra now called as Supra & carried the "A" chassis code until its final model i,e the 4th gen.

Back to 1st gen celis... were called 20 series.. only late model for JDM had 35 series.. some 35 series were exported here (Malaysia) as "kenderaan import terpakai".

They got 2 type of engine..

"T" series for 1400cc i,e T eng (only JDM) & 1600cc i,e 2T eng (eksport & JDM).. btw 2T eng got more varians.. will explain later..

So.. Celica with "T" series eng were call "TA" i,e Eng Series + Chassis Code

"R" series for 1900cc i,e 8R eng & 2000cc i,e 18R eng & 2200cc i,e 20R eng

Celica with "R" series eng were call "RA"

1st gen celica were produced from 1970 till 1977 with 2 bodytype i,e coupe aka hardtop & liftback aka fastback.. Liftback model started from 73-77.

COUPE

Coupe earlier model (short nose), 70-75 using code 20,21,22 & late model (long nose), 75-77 using code 23, 24 (only North America (USA/Canada) & Philipina) & 35 (only JDM).

Earlier (short nose), 70-75
Export TA22 & RA21 are all slanting facelift.
JDM TA20, TA22 & RA21 got 2 version.. JDM 70-74 are all slanting facelift as same as export model.. JDM 74-75 are all flat facelift.

Late model (long nose), 75-70
Export TA23, RA23 & RA24
JDM 75-76 TA23 & RA23, JDM 76-77 TA35 coupe & RA35 coupe.

LIFTBACK aka "Jap Mustang"

Liftback earlier model (short nose), 73-75 using code 25 & 27 & late model (long nose), 75-77 using code 28, 29 (only North America (USA/Canada) & Philipine) & 35 (only JDM).

Earlier (short nose), 73-75
JDM only TA27 & RA25 are all flat facelift.

Late model (long nose), 75-70
Export TA28, RA28 & RA29
JDM 75-76 TA28 & RA28, JDM 76-77 TA35 liftback & RA35 liftback.

The most top model for those Coupe & Liftback are GT & GTV (only JDM) version.. They equiped with DOHC 2T eng i,e 2T-G or DOHC 18R eng i,e 18R-G.

North American & Philipine GT never get DOHC eng.

1st gen Celica in Malaysia.. mostly are TA model i,e 1600cc eng
Coupe 70-72 only LT & few ET
Coupe 73-77 most ST & few GT & hardly GTV
Liftback 73-75 only ST.
Liftback 75-77 only ST.

Just my 2 cent...

dear ZTH members...

What should i do for my v6 6a10 engine to up the power ???? what type of piston should i use if i want to bolt on turbo for my v6 6A10 ???? the original pistons size of my v6 is 73mm... its too small.... any idea to power up my v6 6a10 ???? plzz help me.... urgent !!!!