How to remove damaged wheel nut?

benccckl

Oct 7, 2008
Hi frens, any idea how to remove damaged wheel nut? because mine broken half way when I tightening it. so I tried several ways to unscrew it but the nut damaged I'm scared to cut it with cisel because it'll damage the thread.any alternative?

ken yeang

grind out the nut....bit by bit. Then chisel off the rest. Anyway, damaged bolt can be replaced. cost less than RM100.00

Or if you have access to oxy-torch...just vaporise it...bit by bit, Be very careful though, ask the sifu at mudguard shop to help. I've seen a couple of sifu doing that...

koie587

Dec 6, 2007
try send it to welding shop...ask them to weld a steel rod to the screw and open it...

sphiroth

Apr 22, 2005
Some shop have a special tools to open it. Looks like a normal lock nut opener but with several different sizes and they will pick one that fits the damaged lug nut.

nuno

Jul 28, 2004
same case like mine,2 times happen to me,both k speed lug nuts btw what brand is yours?

koie587

Dec 6, 2007
usually happen to aluminum lug nut?...

TS using what normal or racing nut?...

ken yeang

try send it to welding shop...ask them to weld a steel rod to the screw and open it...
if the lug nut is stainless steel, then you cannot weld to a steel rod. The welding will not stick...

RONIN

Jun 22, 2004
same happen to me.. my SSR nut loose his grip.. don't worry, tyre shop got tools and know how to unscrew that... but must be patient..

benccckl

Oct 7, 2008
thanks bro, i went to tyre shop & they remove it using special tool

Adrian Newey's latest creation is capable of beating the formula one lap record at Suzuka by a staggering margin of 20 seconds.

Red Bull Technology's top-secret X1 Prototype, tested around the Japanese circuit in virtual reality by Sebastian Vettel, was created for the new PlayStation game Gran Turismo 5.

Newey's challenge was to create a virtual car for the game's November release not bound by any set of...