how to know/calculate the sport rims offset

-AFM-

Mar 26, 2006
good morning...

last week i went to chopshop n found very nice vr 15"
ce28n.. but the problem is i donno about it offset n there is no stiker inside the rim like the others...

so any formula or method to know/calculate the offset of the rims?

isit any problem if i use the rims with unsuitable offset for my car? a.f.a.i.k... the offset for my car is from 35 to 38....

anyone got an idea? :biggrin:

fred_soo_88

Jun 18, 2006
yeah offset is calculated frm center of the width of the rim to ur pcd.. from the digram there u can roughly know how.... those offset not correct will have either ur tire come out from ur car from side... thats look very ugly unless u convert wide bodykit or will enter.. but mostly is come out enter u cant lock ur rims onto ur lower arm.. ur brake system will block it..

black_ice

May 12, 2005
K.L
sebastian dun be like lah....

skywalker please take me as ur student also....

haha....very "keng" lah u....

-AFM-

Mar 26, 2006
tq masta...

actually got reply after i put same question in another forum... maybe i can paste it here...

if the rim is still attach to your car, this is the way......let say in this case yours is 14X6JJ

1. get a piece of thin rope/tread/ benang about 30cm

2. tie a stone or screw or any load on one end of the "benang" and the other end is stick to the rim's edge.stick it on the 12 o'clock position (must be 12 o'clock).let the stone hang freely...

3. get a 30cm ruler, place the end of the ruler perpendicularly to the wheel hub.make sure while doing this, the ruler doesn't contact/touch the 'benang'

4. move the ruler closer to the 'benang' and now check the ruler's.check how many cm it parallel with the 'benang'.then u got that value....let say 5cm...

and here the calculation begins...

your rim is 6JJ which means 6 inch which means 15.24cm...round it off will be 15cm

divide it into two so it will be 7.5cm. this value represents your zero offset.

the value of the ruler...5cm....so...

7.5cm - 5cm = 2.5cm

this 2.5cm is 25mm since offset is measured in mm.......so this is your rim's offset value....which is +25.....for sure this not rim mangkuk type....

let say if u get the ruler's value at 10cm......your rim will -25. for sure it's very mangkuk type....

how can i tell it's + or - offset ????.....i won't tell u. i just want u all take 1 mins time and think...it's an easy concept....
but my q... about no 3... how to put end of the ruler to the wheel hub? wheel hub is where 4 screw attach to it right?

black_ice

May 12, 2005
K.L
woohh...

rim also have so much knowledge to learn...

huh...skywalker u free ar? haha!!!

-AFM-....stand for what ar?

Asia Federation Mafia......haha....

dun flame me please...when i see the calculation i also pening already...

so when u get some easy way, mind to share here...

-AFM-

Mar 26, 2006
woohh...

-AFM-....stand for what ar?

Asia Federation Mafia......haha....

dun flame me please...when i see the calculation i also pening already...

so when u get some easy way, mind to share here...
afm stand for air flow meter... ngehehe... no lah... stand for my name lor...
:shades_smile:

i think that is the easiest that in can find right now...:biggrin:

black_ice

May 12, 2005
K.L
that is much more easier....

thanks faisal for the link u got here...

really help out alot....

AFM, did i get ur name right?

dun play play oh, mafia is in the house....

faster cabutz......

Amazingly, as you can see in the pictures after the jump, the Lada came out through the wall without any serious damages. We don’t know if the Russian driver was hurt, but if anything else, he must have lost a few years of his life the moment he saw that the crash was inevitable.

What if, Proton vs Concrete Wall...???