GTR35 speed cut in Malaysia?

Turn1

Apr 27, 2008
From what I understand if you import a vehicle there is no warranty!!!!:bawling:
You will only get warranty when the vehicle is officially released in your country and sold by an authorised dealer!!!:bawling:
Of course this will cost a considerable amount more than a grey import.....!!

Regarding the gearbox operating temps, all the R35 testing was done at frigid Japan circuits or in Germany. The gearbox (and most likely the engine and diffs) are going to have issues operating in KUL weather. If you own a R35 in Malaysia I would be putting extra coolers on all of the oil using components of the car. Even then it will struggle to keep temps under control. This is the most challenging conditions I have ever had to operate high performance vehicles in...!!

Even the F1 teams say that Sepang is the toughest race on the calendar due to the high humidity and temps..
My RB26 is having huge issues coping with the temps at the track here..

Rgds,
Turn1

speed2horizon

Jun 4, 2006
It's built in with GPS system that detects the area. If the GPS is being able to detects that U are in the track, It'll open up the speed cut.

That's what I heard...

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
From what I understand if you import a vehicle there is no warranty!!!!:bawling:
You will only get warranty when the vehicle is officially released in your country and sold by an authorised dealer!!!:bawling:
Of course this will cost a considerable amount more than a grey import.....!!

Regarding the gearbox operating temps, all the R35 testing was done at frigid Japan circuits or in Germany. The gearbox (and most likely the engine and diffs) are going to have issues operating in KUL weather. If you own a R35 in Malaysia I would be putting extra coolers on all of the oil using components of the car. Even then it will struggle to keep temps under control. This is the most challenging conditions I have ever had to operate high performance vehicles in...!!

Even the F1 teams say that Sepang is the toughest race on the calendar due to the high humidity and temps..
My RB26 is having huge issues coping with the temps at the track here..

Rgds,
Turn1
This is the second time I am pointing this out. The GT-Rs in Malaysia are not the only ones having gearbox issues. Everywhere else too. Even here in the USA. I am saying this again, the Achilles heel of the car is the gearbox. Google 'R35 Gear box issues' and you will see what I am talking about.
Yes, our country is a lot hotter than most places but do you know that during the summer, Japan is much hotter than Malaysia? What about the other auto manufacturers? Do they develop cars to run only in their own countries and in their own conditions? So cars they make should only run in their own countries? That sounds stupid doesn't it? Come one, think about it...
You put an RB26 in to a car that was not developed for it, what makes you think it will run the way it is supposed to be without the supporting mods? What about the way your car flows air? Do you think it's the same as a GT-R? If it was a closer platform like the GTT, it may be debatable...

kaminari

Taiping
I`m not shooting anybody here~but wht does Darkchild said got some correct point and some might i`m not agreed.

Correct, we can`t expect the Original parts without modification working excellent wth hard drive in circuit.STD parts just engineer for std engine(performance) wth extra abt 30% bias for overstress.Sure they was calculate it before manufactured.

YES, Japan is much hotter than Malaysia when summer reaching 42celcius,but the FACT is :

1. Nissan RnD test track was located at Hokkaido and cold every season.They just based on ratio calculation for overstressing parts.Germany also.....

2.Skyline R32,R33,R34 and also Silvia was NOT for EXPORT model outside Japan. Lately new model YES,so thats why they testing at NUR track aiming EUROPE/US as main customer.

So wht does we can expected?hehe ...fragile gearbox for hot weather.

Other auto maker also the same here and more worse...

Impreza gearbox last for 350whp only...evo also....mazda rx7 more worse...

I believe JPN not much talent in making GEARBOX compare OZ/US/Europe...heee

last not END ...abang TONY juga betul, better buy a PORSCHE....N ths statement

I reckon is just the matter of time for the GTR to reach the certain maturity
hehehe

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
I`m not shooting anybody here~but wht does Darkchild said got some correct point and some might i`m not agreed.

Correct, we can`t expect the Original parts without modification working excellent wth hard drive in circuit.STD parts just engineer for std engine(performance) wth extra abt 30% bias for overstress.Sure they was calculate it before manufactured.

YES, Japan is much hotter than Malaysia when summer reaching 42celcius,but the FACT is :

1. Nissan RnD test track was located at Hokkaido and cold every season.They just based on ratio calculation for overstressing parts.Germany also.....

2.Skyline R32,R33,R34 and also Silvia was NOT for EXPORT model outside Japan. Lately new model YES,so thats why they testing at NUR track aiming EUROPE/US as main customer.

Other auto maker also the same here and more worse...

Impreza gearbox last for 350whp only...evo also....mazda rx7 more worse...

hehehe
Dude, when you bump up the power of the car, what to you expect? The car was not tested and developed to run that kind of power from the factory.
Back to the R35's...
So what about those GT-R's that were made to be sold in the USA? They shouldn't have gear box issues since the car was developed for that country, right? So why are they having the same gearbox issues as well? What about EU? The GT-R was made to run properly in those countries as well right? So, why do they have the same gearbox failures and issues too? You are Not making any sense. Automakers don't develop cars for one climate. What's more, their countries have 4 seasons unlike ours so wouldn't they build a car to accommodate that?
What about the other auto manufacturers? They do the same to? Pfft....

My advice, type www.google.com, point your mouse to the search bar, click it and type r35 gear box issues, and slowly read.... Is that so hard?
Hopefully I can expect more intelligent comments being made after that.

kaminari

Taiping
So what about those GT-R's that were made to be sold in the USA? They shouldn't have gear box issues since the car was developed for that country, right? So why are they having the same gearbox issues as well? What about EU? The GT-R was made to run properly in those countries as well right? So, why do they have the same gearbox failures and issues too? You are Not making any sense.
Dun get me WRONG....u should READ my last 3 sentences...

Quote:
I reckon is just the matter of time for the GTR to reach the certain maturity
Yeah u are right, SUPPOSELY if they test and developed the car for 4 season country or really mean for tht country will have a BETTER gearbox.... but Japs dun have TALENT in making gearbox compare other country.Even aftermarket parts in JPN like HKS also was not made by them.It`s HOLLINGER.Most famous gearbox air shifter,sequential,Dog mission maker all frm outside Jpn.

Gearbox was not DEVELOPED by the auto maker itself....most auto maker gearbox here come from few specialist transmaker....eg: TOYOTA leading autos and NISSAN here by AISIN SEIKI....so my point of view, other auto maker also would have the same issue if frm same trans maker...just matter of quality Passed and TESTED is different for each auto.

For R35
the FAILURE is expected becoz NISSAN is still not mature and consider new in ACHILLES HEEL gearbox...Japs dun have the experience and still developing it technology

peace, just my 1yen comment :)

Turn1

Apr 27, 2008
I think you misunderstand my point about the R35 gearbox issues.
I know as well as any of us the issues Nissan are having with the R35 all over the world. I was just pointing out that when they tested the R35 they did not test it here and obviously did not have the issues during testing that they are having now or they would have done more development before release..Remember they still have limited resources and time frames to work with also.
Anywhere located around the equator will give you tougher operating conditions than even the hottest days in North or south countries.
I have operated race cars in temps above 40 deg C in Australia and we get more effective cooling than a 30 deg day in Kul due to the lower humidity. Even on these 40+ days airflow is still very effective in reducing temps, in Kul the airflow just doesn't do the same job.
I'm no science professor but this is what I have noticed from my experience, believe it or not..
F1 comes to Melbourne in summer 40+ deg and they don't have the same issues with heat as they do in Malaysia??

Also how do you know what supporting mods I have not done to my RB26??? Tread carefully my friend. I do not tell you what you have or have not done to your car!!! Or what you should do!!
I though this was a info forum and not a slander forum?

I also agree that for the money (even though I am a great fan of Nissan) the Porsche is a better car. (GT2-GT3).

Turn1

DarkChild

Nov 16, 2003
Don't get me wrong. What I am trying to point out is you cannot say that just because of the more extreme weather conditions in Malaysia, the R35 gearboxes fail. I am stressing that R35s all over the world are having the same problem so you cannot simply make remarks saying they fail because of the operating temperatures we have here.

kaminari,
Yes I READ! My comments were made because you made these remarks...

I am making a point that their gearboxes fail not because of weather conditions here. Which is why I keep stressing to Google the damn problem and read what has been put up from all over the world regarding the issues these gearboxes have.
I am not saying because they develop their cars for countries with 4 seasons they should be good.
I am not disagreeing that they have weak gearboxes, not just Nissan or the R35 but many of the other Japanese manufacturers.
I am not disagreeing we have tougher weather conditions here which exerts more stress on the car or gearboxes.
I am just stressing that it has nothing to do with the weather conditions here as people all over the world have issues with the R35 gearbox as well so blatantly blaming the weather conditions is ignorant. Get it?

Turn1,
I'm sorry if I come across as blunt and offensive but I am just being straightforward. The reason why I am not so kind and gentle with my comments to you is because you have introduced yourself as an aircraft engineer, on top of that, you say you build race cars so I am expecting more researched and intelligent remarks coming from you.
Yes, even F1 cars struggle with our weather but they are here for only one reason, and that is to race. When you race, you push to the limits, stressing every component for extended periods of time.
How can you compare a situation like that to a road car which is built for more mild daily conditions? It's like comparing a kitchen knife to a bayonet. With any road car, if you are going to take it and push it like track days and such, of course you are bound to have some issues when you take something out of it's comfort zone and stressing it. It is common knowledge that when you plan to push your car at tracks, you better beef up your cooling, brakes and suspension or you will be inviting trouble.
Look, all I am trying to say is, don't just blame the weather conditions here because other R35s in other countries have gearbox issues as well. Which doesn't make sense as the weather conditions will not be the same over there now, will they?

Cheers.

kaminari

Taiping
My bad... i understand wht u want to stress out abt the R35 gearbox issue there.And I think most ppl might misunderstood wth my statement.If read the statement carefully i nvr stated R35 there, and i just base on my knowledge and experiences on other Nissan gearbox

Yeah R35GTR gearbox problem is another issue, and frm my point of view nobody yet really knw wht the main cause of the failure?Most all the failure occur when they abuse the gearbox which is same like my fren does at Malaysia.Nissan created a built-in LC(launch control) purposely to damage the trans?also wth VDC off void the warranty?This all so silly.Come to my conclusion R35GTR trans is tame and can`t stand excessive overstress driving.

Overstress is tht should related to HEAT??
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yield_(engineering) ) Factors influencing the yield stress

Mostly for tuner a simply way to encounter it by putting an oil cooler.And i bet all aftermarket parts for R35GTR trans will have another better gear material and gone tru WPC treatment.Those all will apply if REALLY the failure cause by overstress instead of DESIGN.Otherwise if design?...is tht should not be a shame for GTR?

I come across a new info tht, the GR6 gearbox was design by BorgWarner frm US and produce/assemble by Aichi Kikai at Jpn.Tht was a leading AWD transmission company and manufacturer for famous Porsche,Audi and Ford!Is it really design issue??

I would love to see ur comment the gearbox failure issue and let`s sharing the info...cheers! :love:

rych

Jul 7, 2008
friends GTR the speed cut is dependent on the geographical area.Some places on the highway its limited to 250, most of the time its 180 only. Something to do with the GPS i think.

Turn1

Apr 27, 2008
I have a few friends that are using the R35 for tarmac rally competition. I will see them all next week when I go home and give some feedback from hands on experience of the R35 as a complete package and especially what they have to say about the gearboxes.
I hope this will be of some interest for those looking at buying a R35.

Rgds,
Turn1

having some problem on this ncp42 engine..
any sifu here??
wanna ask y the engine idling not stable??
juz sometimes.... faint:confused: