Evo I- III

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
1st of all im a new comer n i need 2 know a few things regarding evo's engine.Here im disasterously need all u guys help regarding evo's engines.pls...:Not_Impressed:

I wanted 2 get an Evo III halfcut whereby i dunno how 2 ensure dat da halfcut is an evo I,II,or III..if da halfcut didnt come wif b'kit..can any1 of u help me?:sad_smile: ...

Hope any1 of u guys can give me further details/pictures-(ecu number,block,turbine,etc) regarding evo III...thanx 4 da help buddy...i need it very badly....tq...:shades_smile:

p/s; sorry 2 interupt n wasting ur time reading my post,hope any1 can help me asap.....:regular_smile:...Opinions and comments of sifus most appreciated!

alexz

Nov 22, 2004
to distinguish evo 1,2 and 3

easiest way is to check the chassis number

Type Evo 1
Chassis CD9A
All numbers

Type Evo 2
Chassis CE9A
Up to 0008500*

Type Evo 3
Chassis CE9A
From 01000001* onwards

* look at the last numbers

Hope that helps :)

jinkl

May 22, 2004
DOHC_16valve : also do let us know why u choose the e3 :)
wht is ur expectation , whats is ur aim

dont want u wasting money choosing the wrong cut :P

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
alexz said:
to distinguish evo 1,2 and 3

easiest way is to check the chassis number

Type Evo 1
Chassis CD9A
All numbers

Type Evo 2
Chassis CE9A
Up to 0008500*

Type Evo 3
Chassis CE9A
From 01000001* onwards

* look at the last numbers
Hope that helps :)
bro,thanx 4 da info..2day myself alone went 2 subang jaya(near giant),went through so many halfcut shops...some of them offered me e3(rally version)=rm12k..duno whether real e3 or e1-2..but dat was da best offer.da problem now is dat halfcut was above my budget..hahaha..so cannot buy yet la..hiah...thanx 4 da useful info bro..really appreciate ur info...:shades_smile:

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
jinkl said:
DOHC_16valve : also do let us know why u choose the e3 :)
wht is ur expectation , whats is ur aim

dont want u wasting money choosing the wrong cut :P
bro,i went through so many car magazines..well,most of them bought vr4 n later rojak with e3...but i juz wanna drive real e3 heart under my bonnet..if possible i would like 2 upgrade da engine,but dats depend on my budget..hehehehe...:X-: ...da highest price i heard jz now was rm12k-e3(rally version),n da cheapest was rm9k...well,i believe some people got their own opinion y they r choosing da engine...but anyway bro,do u have any opinion or suggestion...pls let me know...thanx 4 reading my post bro....:X-:

mista_M

Mar 31, 2006
dats cool man....wat can a guy wish for more..either than gurls..hahaha...e3 under the hood..damn dats one hard desease..huhu..my opinion is dat u find first details about these 3 engines find wats the diffrence then u'll get an answer coz it could save u alot of bucks bro.anyway its not my money its urs so its ur choice..dats jus my 2 cent..nway gudluck to u bro..we share to be the best..cheers..

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
mista_M said:
dats cool man....wat can a guy wish for more..either than gurls..hahaha...e3 under the hood..damn dats one hard desease..huhu..my opinion is dat u find first details about these 3 engines find wats the diffrence then u'll get an answer coz it could save u alot of bucks bro.anyway its not my money its urs so its ur choice..dats jus my 2 cent..nway gudluck to u bro..we share to be the best..cheers..
thx 4 da advise bro...anybody wanna give opinion?...all sifus are welcomed 2 give advise n knowledge...:shades_smile:

jinkl

May 22, 2004
DOHC_16valve:
ok here it goes bro
there is something called the gforce desease
u dont believe it , ASK ALLL OF THEM IN ZTH turbo car owners
it hits u the moment u get a turbo car
IT WILL HIT YOU TOO
not kidding
its a sickness to crave for more G's

here is how the timeline is , hehe i am not KIDDING bro , take it seriously

1. First you want a standard turbo engine
2. You choose evo3 since it has the best in the range stock standard best among vr4 , evo 1 - evo2 - evo3
3. Evo 3 is high compression and in stock standard condition it is the best
4. The g-force and response u get from an E3 is unbelievable , like an n/a bt with nice flying beast
5. for sometime u boost for 0.6bar stock standrd , u just put air filter KNN for fun.
6. suddenly ur actuator hose leaks
7. u feel the force of overboost 1bar
8. u felt heaven on earth
9. u crave for that 1bar boost for daily drive , stock blow off cant stand , u want BOV chiuuu, get SSQV or blitz kepishhhhhhh
10. u go finding an SAFC to tune up for 1bar
11. u start facing misifiring
12. u get a fuel pump upgrade and fuel regulator upgrade
13. enjoy ur 1bar boost , clutch stock one sure slip , need semi race exedy
14. u go to ur mech and u notice boost doesnt go up suddenly
15. u notice ur intercooler piping made my rubber isnt holding anymore
16. u get a Stainless Steel piping or aluminium piping to hold better boost
17. each day u go shining up the piping
18. time goes by , u want to up more boost
19. ur mech says , time to metal gasket , afraid ur stock gasket might pecah
20. u get a metal gasket , also get a bigger bov, greddy type-s or type-r or hks racing.
21. next thing u know u lost ur response cos metal asket 1.5mm is in and the response u got is lil bit gone
22. to overcome it u want add more boost , cos safe ready marr got metal gasket
23. mech says NO-NO-NO , evo3 conrod is weak for high boost, only vr4 conrod can take the beating
24. u sit a while n wonder wht u can do . erm erm erm
25. u take the risk of boosting high maybe 1.4bar , tune the safc also maybe at this time u upgrade to safc2 already lor , maybe e-manage
26. u enjoy 1.4bar , but u feel like the car can go more
27. time to get standalone
28. but then u feel like the car not modded so much , why buy standalone la, so u dont buy it
29. time goes by , 1.4bar , boost SPIKEEEEEEEEE!!!!
30. ur 32mm actuator flapper is gone
31. to maintain high boost properly u go get a Tial 38mm wastegate , sure u want purple or blue colour , u want engine look chun :P
32. u sure u want to tebuk ur stock manifold and put Tial ?
33. u start looking in zth for stainless steel manifold with wastegate output
34. u will either go for it or just screw it and get ur stock manifold with wastegate
35. at 1.4bar finally ur turbine starts to leak oil cos boosting high everyday sure after 6months or more need to service, ur turbine was used in japan for how long redi man , sure need service
36. u will post in zth, wht to do mod to the td05 to get more power
37. by this time u will be typing in google.com , Td05 turbo upgrade
38. u will be in US Dsm sites seeing hybrid turbos, td05-20g , td05-Garrett
39. u will post in zth which one is better for street drive car
40. they will say upgrade , all fuel all ok or not , got management or not
41. u ask Tong turbo how much to upgrade 20g can or not , he will say just tambah sikit money can do for u , 20g Big Fin , port ur turbo for u also, u will also see big turbo in his shop and ask him the price , u will get poison , u will look and see "big turbo more g-force" , aiyaa tong any bigger abit than td05 ah , trade in kawtim la , ok done t04e or td06 , u smile while taking this snail home
42. plonk it in the car, in ur mind u still tink ur car is a street car, bt did u notice u r smoking every single fella on the road
43. u put the turbo in, SAFC2 and e-manage is out of ur lead
44. u look for microtech or haltech , fix it in , tune it up
45. u look sit inside ur car and notice, its now a beast. 400bhp , with racing clutch, with advan neova ad07 , bucket seats , new intercooler from infinite (kian please give me discount), rsm to see ur top speed 270+ , check ur 0-400m timing on rsm , brakes already upgraded to stop the 400bhp beast. u smile and say "i cant sell this car anymore cos i spent alot on it". bt again , "My Ride , My Pride". u will want to take it to the track and tiong cars for pleasure.

hei man, have fun :P decide ur future before u get what u want
because, u will get the infection of the g-force madness

jinkl

May 22, 2004
the moral of the story is :
wht i want u to know
if u tink of sticking to STOCK , e3 is the best street machine
high compression engine, super response , smaller intake manifold for faster flow
e3 turbo is also bigger than all the other td05H not HR range ok :D
e3 also has a 7cm turbine housing which everyone craves for
bt upgradeability erm dont tink of it , cos u gonna throw everything from ur car and only thing that will be left which is evo3 is the gearbox

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
jinkl said:
DOHC_16valve:
ok here it goes bro
there is something called the gforce desease
u dont believe it , ASK ALLL OF THEM IN ZTH turbo car owners
it hits u the moment u get a turbo car
IT WILL HIT YOU TOO
not kidding
its a sickness to crave for more G's

here is how the timeline is , hehe i am not KIDDING bro , take it seriously

1. First you want a standard turbo engine
2. You choose evo3 since it has the best in the range stock standard best among vr4 , evo 1 - evo2 - evo3
3. Evo 3 is high compression and in stock standard condition it is the best
4. The g-force and response u get from an E3 is unbelievable , like an n/a bt with nice flying beast
5. for sometime u boost for 0.6bar stock standrd , u just put air filter KNN for fun.
6. suddenly ur actuator hose leaks
7. u feel the force of overboost 1bar
8. u felt heaven on earth
9. u crave for that 1bar boost for daily drive , stock blow off cant stand , u want BOV chiuuu, get SSQV or blitz kepishhhhhhh
10. u go finding an SAFC to tune up for 1bar
11. u start facing misifiring
12. u get a fuel pump upgrade and fuel regulator upgrade
13. enjoy ur 1bar boost , clutch stock one sure slip , need semi race exedy
14. u go to ur mech and u notice boost doesnt go up suddenly
15. u notice ur intercooler piping made my rubber isnt holding anymore
16. u get a Stainless Steel piping or aluminium piping to hold better boost
17. each day u go shining up the piping
18. time goes by , u want to up more boost
19. ur mech says , time to metal gasket , afraid ur stock gasket might pecah
20. u get a metal gasket , also get a bigger bov, greddy type-s or type-r or hks racing.
21. next thing u know u lost ur response cos metal asket 1.5mm is in and the response u got is lil bit gone
22. to overcome it u want add more boost , cos safe ready marr got metal gasket
23. mech says NO-NO-NO , evo3 conrod is weak for high boost, only vr4 conrod can take the beating
24. u sit a while n wonder wht u can do . erm erm erm
25. u take the risk of boosting high maybe 1.4bar , tune the safc also maybe at this time u upgrade to safc2 already lor , maybe e-manage
26. u enjoy 1.4bar , but u feel like the car can go more
27. time to get standalone
28. but then u feel like the car not modded so much , why buy standalone la, so u dont buy it
29. time goes by , 1.4bar , boost SPIKEEEEEEEEE!!!!
30. ur 32mm actuator flapper is gone
31. to maintain high boost properly u go get a Tial 38mm wastegate , sure u want purple or blue colour , u want engine look chun :P
32. u sure u want to tebuk ur stock manifold and put Tial ?
33. u start looking in zth for stainless steel manifold with wastegate output
34. u will either go for it or just screw it and get ur stock manifold with wastegate
35. at 1.4bar finally ur turbine starts to leak oil cos boosting high everyday sure after 6months or more need to service, ur turbine was used in japan for how long redi man , sure need service
36. u will post in zth, wht to do mod to the td05 to get more power
37. by this time u will be typing in google.com , Td05 turbo upgrade
38. u will be in US Dsm sites seeing hybrid turbos, td05-20g , td05-Garrett
39. u will post in zth which one is better for street drive car
40. they will say upgrade , all fuel all ok or not , got management or not
41. u ask Tong turbo how much to upgrade 20g can or not , he will say just tambah sikit money can do for u , 20g Big Fin , port ur turbo for u also, u will also see big turbo in his shop and ask him the price , u will get poison , u will look and see "big turbo more g-force" , aiyaa tong any bigger abit than td05 ah , trade in kawtim la , ok done t04e or td06 , u smile while taking this snail home
42. plonk it in the car, in ur mind u still tink ur car is a street car, bt did u notice u r smoking every single fella on the road
43. u put the turbo in, SAFC2 and e-manage is out of ur lead
44. u look for microtech or haltech , fix it in , tune it up
45. u look sit inside ur car and notice, its now a beast. 400bhp , with racing clutch, with advan neova ad07 , bucket seats , new intercooler from infinite (kian please give me discount), rsm to see ur top speed 270+ , check ur 0-400m timing on rsm , brakes already upgraded to stop the 400bhp beast. u smile and say "i cant sell this car anymore cos i spent alot on it". bt again , "My Ride , My Pride". u will want to take it to the track and tiong cars for pleasure.

hei man, have fun :P decide ur future before u get what u want
because, u will get the infection of the g-force madness
peh....so many advise...thanx so so so so so much sifu...i believe u must be da most "otai" in this arena...damn,feel like wana get an ordinary engine like Mivec..But sifu,i wanted so much E3 heart 2 be under my bonnet...really thanked 2u sifu..u r really great...with all ur advises....thanx man...:shades_smile:

DOHC_16valve

Dec 14, 2005
how i wish 2 see u laa sifu...giving me good advise...thanx so much man...will never find a fren like u,giving me good advises n examples...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
what jinkl is trying to say:
if u want to modify the engine after convert, get vr4.
if u can tahan gforce deficiency disease, promise ur mom/gf/wife u wont upgrade after convert, then please go for evo3.

i suffer from gforce deficiency disease, anything lower than 1.5bar, i dont feel a thing already... i know most of us turbo kaki have that syndrome hehehe

My original headlight HID control panel always gives problem simply because its located on the bumper which is at the lower part of the car...

Each time we speed through the rain water ponds, and when the water goes into the HID control panel, the headlight will sometime work and sometimes dont work...

Some of my frens with similar cars already converted to the ones recommended by the accessories shops.

Its of course cheaper than the ori.

Now my question is....

Is it ok to do...