EVO 3 n Impreza wrx Version 1

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
juz wonder how much will be d boost level for evo 3 n impreza wrx gc8 at max boost.......???? no modification at all....all stock condition........

Pls share ur experience here.....izzit all stock turbo only 0.5bar? or 0.8?

cyilaw

kuantan
Originally posted by jinkl@Apr 1 2005, 16:19
evo 3 ? 0.6bar
[snapback]859944[/snapback]​

evo 3 ONLY 0.6 bar? u means ur low boost or ur high boost?...original evo 3 is 0.9 bar. waste ur evo 3 engine only boosting 0.6 bar unless that is ur low boost setting.

jinkl

May 22, 2004
hehe go check la bro ..
evo 3 high compression
stendet boost is 0.6-0.7 only
vr4 i guess low compression higher boost if not mistaken ..
most of evo3 users boost 1bar cos still in safe level

cyilaw

kuantan
Originally posted by jinkl@Apr 3 2005, 03:14
hehe go check la bro ..
evo 3 high compression
stendet boost is 0.6-0.7 only
vr4 i guess low compression higher boost if not mistaken ..
most of evo3 users boost 1bar cos still in safe level
[snapback]863367[/snapback]​

o..ic...means i need go and check lah...o..ic....who tell u high compression can not boost high? y high compression can not push to high boost? that is just u 'guess', u try to boost high then 1 bar on ur evo 3? not to flame u, but with the 'guess' information u will guide other ppl to wrong direction. :)

GSR_X

Aug 13, 2004
but i am possitive tht its not 1bar.. confirmed not 14.5psi
its confirmed less than 0.8bar stock
if not i would have have been more than happy to have 1bar
i am boosting 0.6bar stock now

cyilaw

kuantan
how do u confirmed is less than 0.8 bar stock? here to share my research result.
in theory, i have confirmed is 0.9 bar with the rally driver from ralliart japan who use evo 3 as his rally car who also handle my car transplant when i change to this evo3 engine. and i do most the research also mention is 0.9 bar.
pratically i dyno my car with 4wd and twin plate cluth with stand alone ecu and upgrade fuel pump pushing to 1.3 bar with stock engine internal parts and result come out 275.5 hp @ 7100rpm & 332.5 Nm @ 5567 rpm on engine. after half year i take out internal part, the stock internal part still in good condition. prove that evo3 still can stand for high boost with proper setting.
just wonder factory evo3 information stated got 270 hp, can it boosting only 0.6-0.7 bar and produce 270hp? even we know the factory information sure will different with the real life dyno result, but can it be so big different with 1.3 bar and 0.6-0.7 bar?

jinkl

May 22, 2004
cyilaw: bro , u got 275hp dyno , thts on wheels , on ur crank most probably 3XX+hp
evo 3 HP is rated on crank also rite , so i guess its fair for 0.6-0.8 bar/270hp on crank , on wheel most probably 240-250hp ?

from DSM website :
The stock bypass valve in the 2g's is a very weak. The result is that it leaks at boost levels above about 12 psi. The fix then, obviously, is to install a BOV that doesn't leak until higher boost levels. If you don't, anything you do to increase boost will be fruitless. You even run the risk of damaging your turbo by stressing it trying to get higher boost.

erm would they really create a plastic stock bov which would leak for a stock car ? 12psi is 0.82bar :) .. 0.82 its already pron to leak

ok im using lancer register as guide
EVO1 - 305bhp (254bhp @ wheels) .. urs is 275 on wheels already wor , on crank is how much redi one ..
http://www.lancerregister.com/reg_cardetails.php?carid=848

another EVO1- 270 bhp @ 0.8 bar
http://www.lancerregister.com/reg_cardetails.php?carid=721

this topic been discussed before , because when i first time bought boost gauge , i posted in zth tht i am getting wrong reading :) then everyone corrected me and said that 0.6-0.7bar is the stock boost. after putting a vr4 block only im boosting 0.9 because 0.6 is too slugish.

the evo1 & 2 were running on lower compression compared to evo3
the evo3 was built for higher compression, lightened internals thts where they claimed the 10hp came from.

wait for the others to feed in ..

cyilaw

kuantan
jinkl,

pls read my post carefully, my 275.5 hp is on engine, not on wheel. 275.5 hp on engine, 245 hp at 4 wheels with 1.3 bar lah brother.

btw, i just at here to sharing my information, i done alot of searching like u at those web site. all the post to those web site claim their car got how many hp lah, this lah, that lah, but i never see the show out their dyno result. i got a friend even more cute. he very lucky get the vr4 engine with 2323 stoker kit inside, then put in dunno what turbo then claim that his car got 360 hp at 0.6 bar..we ask for the dyno result sheet, he cant show to us untill today. so till then end i still believe in pratically result. :)...at least i know my car hp in very sure without saying 'i THINK my car got 300 hp lah, 200 hp lah..'..

so i think we no need to argue about this boosting problem anymore, u happy with ur 0.6 at evo3, i happy with my engine.

p/s: about the evo 3 high compression and weak internal part sound like the same thing i reply ur PM when u send PM to me ask about this just when u wanna start transplant ur engine, still remember right? B)

jinkl-

Klang
cyilaw : hehe u might be right , but dunno wor , not fair i get 0.6bar and zth members say its correct boost :P i also want 0.9bar hehehehe

dolly : hehe i second u

GTIEVO3

Jun 23, 2004
Hello ppl,

Standard boost for an e3 is 0.7-0.8 bar. If wanna boost higher, the safest level is 1.0 bar. If proper tuning and fuelling the max it could take 1.2 bar. More than that pistons and rings will koyak. Not instantaneously but after awhile

GTIEVO3

Jun 23, 2004
Hello ppl,

Standard boost for an e3 is 0.7-0.8 bar. If wanna boost higher, the safest level is 1.0 bar. If proper tuning and fuelling the max it could take 1.2 bar. More than that pistons and rings will koyak. Not instantaneously but after awhile. Currently im boosting at 0.9 bar (low boost) and 1.1 bar (high boost) all others stock standard except for SAFC2,AVCR, Ext Wastegate, Uprated fuel pump and Fuel Regulator. Used to boost >1.2 bar and after awhile the pistons, rings and turbine had to give way.

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
tat's mean evo juz need a boost controller to boost it up to 0.9 bar then its ok rite? then change air filter, plug n plug cable, ekzos system n throw in a mine's ecu...should be ok rite? i hv all those things but din boost up yet...coz no boost meter so dunno d current boost level...... :(

jinkl

May 22, 2004
fix a boost meter before it blows :)