GUys, again my driveshaft was broken again.second time same position
the driver side(short one)..
Just can't think of the reason of it putus,since it is broken before(which
it is reasonable to be broken,the middle of the shalf got a buldge which
my mech told me it is kinda recon cantum),so get a new one solid steel rod
which is around 8months ago.

Ok,this is how it broke. First gear 7k rpm optimum power zone,shift to second
as usual,pop the clucth.Pak!!! then it lost power and cruise to stop.

my engine,a 4g15 previouslly is eci multi injection but changed it to carb.

i always check on my shaft boot,everything coz broken before,so it is in good
condition.

anyone can care to enlighten me about the cause of this,possible cause??

thanks guys

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
the place that fit the drive shaft misalligned adi ar??... try check with ur mech, dont jz simply buy another one and fit back in...
drive shaft should not be easy to break, unless subjected to extreme pressure (such as high revving)... last time i crashed my car, drive shaft also no broken or bent...

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
How much torque does your car have?
So hebat wan...can break driveshafts

verticalimit

Mar 27, 2005
just my 2 cents cos i kena before. my one cause from gearbox mounting pecah de so the joint not accurate. when i move the thing putus 2. cos change twin pot knuckle testing the brake so fun. jammed until mounting pecah hehe then gearbox mounting change ok already..]

zero4

verticalimit said:
just my 2 cents cos i kena before. my one cause from gearbox mounting pecah de so the joint not accurate. when i move the thing putus 2. cos change twin pot knuckle testing the brake so fun. jammed until mounting pecah hehe then gearbox mounting change ok already..]
like that also can....

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
I'm not suprised it broke so often.

2nd gear has very high gear eduction (i.e. gear reduction translate to torque).

Its suprising the syncromesh are still intact whereas the drive shaft snapped.

7K gear shifts is a death sentence to the entire gear and drivetrain.

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
Hai lat worrr if 9k shifting using normal drivesap from standstill... BTW... wholaaa launching liddat? Burnout competition kaaa?

zero4

nolah, normally ppl launch at 5-6krpm and shift during high rpms one loh, NA ler, turbo different, i can imagine how suffering the driveshafts gets, especially with full slicks

escaflowne

May 4, 2004
The first shaft broke when i launch at 5-6k rpm from stand still...
Thanks zero4 and guys,will try to go for the problem of miss align.I strongly feel it might be the reason,coz it only broke at the same spot.

I believe synchro mesh is to facillate the gear change without double de-clutch by the driver.
This is the info i found.
http://www.singster.co.uk/mascot mar-apr 2003 (4).html

keigo4552

Jul 25, 2005
kuala lumpur
drive shaft factory

how bout i recommend a shop make a shaft and got warranty?call me for detail....03-41430920
ah beh

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
Kopi said:
Hai lat worrr if 9k shifting using normal drivesap from standstill... BTW... wholaaa launching liddat? Burnout competition kaaa?
huh? 9k rpm got enough torque to play burnout meh? i thought max torque usually lower rpm...

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
i think when the wheel start to spin, the engine speed shouldnt be at 9k alrady la... perhaps drops to 6k-7k like that... thats why can wheel spin lo...
proton cars has slow response ma... the moment u press the gas pedal, it takes about half a second to start revving...

The LC500 Convertible is now in Malaysia. Debuted today, the ultra flamboyant open top GT car is said to be more than just a chopped top Lc500 coupe.

4.9 sec / 470hp / 540nm / 5L V8 NA / 10 speed automatic with paddle shifts / 270kmh / 1970kg / adaptive suspension / soft top opens 15 sec closes 16 sec max 50kmh / RM1,350,000.00...