Do i Need AMP ??

joequah

Sep 16, 2009
HI sifuss..
I'm currently using Pioneer DEH 1050E receiver, and 3way 6x9 for rear.
I'm planning to install a 2way 4" for front, a tweeter and a 4" 2 way tube subwoofer.
Is it necessary to install AMP in order to install subwoofer ??? Or can I install subwoofer without an AMP ???
And can tell me some knowledge about AMP ??? And what is 2 or 4 channel ??? Which one will suit my setup ???
Thank YOU.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
if youre sticking to coaxial speakers, no need an amp. no need additional tweeter also, as theres a tweeter inside the coaxial.

if your going 2 way components, then yes u need an amp. also yes for running subwoofers.

if u want a sub without buying an amp, look for active subs, its small and can fit under the seat, the amp is inbuilt into the sub box.

frankly id advise u to get a 4ch amp, a front component system and a subwoofer in a box.

MingFai

Apr 18, 2010
P.J Jln Gasing
ok in this case i recomand u to do this
but i dun know u ok or not only coz each ppl got their suka de ma~~
dun wan use 4inch la coz 4" component got siu siu bass not more.. 6.5" u can get more drum and bass sound treble wait the tweeter will do...
u using Pioneer DEH 1050E receiver already then juz sub 2 amp out...

this is my 2sens:
x1 - 6.5" component set come with tweeter
x1 - 2ch amp xxx watts(see what woofer u using)
x1 - 4ch amp xxx watts (see what component u using)
x1 - 12inch woofer

**Example:
X:Bass
Y:Mid bass
Z:Treble

A:Woofer
B:6.5"
C:Tweeter

if up this X,Y,Z mix togather hit on A or B or C sure damm cacat de...
Each speaker only do 1 voice only... then u try see the difference... try to equal it to 1 speaker 1 job~

Monoblock amp:
this amp is to block the mono(treble) to the woofer so the woofer juz hit the bass only
2ch amp:
Can whack woofer and component(but better is only woofer lo)
4ch amp:
best For component set coz there got 2 diff ch to adjust until ngam ngam hou~

* But depens de la see u wan play SQ(Very nice sound) or SPL(boom boom pow)

i dun know weather i got said wrong or not la but i am juz taking L licence to learn how to play sound system only~

Specialist For Audio And Accesories ???????????????????

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
seriously.... i dun understand what are u trying to say here

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
a simple ICE installation only need a 4 channel amp.. 2 channel for front and 2 channel bridged for sub as per zenn recommendation

MingFai

Apr 18, 2010
P.J Jln Gasing
kor kor ar newbie dun know ma~
ma exlpane longer lo~
for u memang easy lo...

joequah

Sep 16, 2009
Hi thanks for the advice.
I got a component set for front de.
Then next I will get a 4 ch to power my component and 3 way.
Sub will be the last things to do.
SQL =)

Waiora_ProTuner

Nov 29, 2006
Ming Fai: I dont understand your explanation..:confused:

mono (monoblock) is not stereo thus doesnt have left or right channel...its for subwoofer..
4 channel for component? unless ure using 2 pair of compenent (or 3x9) theres no need to use 4 channel..
normal use 4 channel amp, 2 for component, 2 bridge for subwoofer..

joequah: u dont need rear speaker (3x9) for SQL..

keep it simple..a component and a subwoofer...
1st get the component..then later, sub and amp...

MingFai

Apr 18, 2010
P.J Jln Gasing
oh ya~ lol
dun know...
ppl make for me geh...
zzzz
they said like this i ma tell like this lo
zzz

ylkien

May 17, 2005
KL/PJ
I am also wondering whether i need an amp or not. My current rear 6x9 speakers are not giving sufficient bass (even though i max the bass on my head unit). My setup :

Head Unit : Kenwood, 4ohm
Rear Speakers : Old Infinity Kappa 6x9, 2ohm (read that it goes up to 4ohm after warm up)

Do I need an amp to give my kappa more bass ?

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
adding an amp sure will help

however i doubt theyre 2ohm. and also the ohms dont increase/decrease with heat.

Hey guys

My Satria GTi has only minor upgrades ; mivec throttle body, adjustable cam pulleys + crank pulley, fuel regulator & apexi air-filter.

The cat converter has been removed.
Based on the minor modifications mentioned above, how many inches should my piping be?
From extractor to bullet to muffler?

Just got a 5zigen trumpet 2 inch inlet muffler, yet to fix it up.

Please advisee :burnout:

Cheers