difference between b8 180 and b8 210

-Y-

Oct 9, 2008
my mazda is already on the workshp. im changing to b8 210. i dont know much about b8. im afraid the worshop gives me 180 instead of 210. the physical looks the same. so how can i know whether it is 180 or 210? on physical and cam dyno detect?

drill

Damansara
both yes... the turbine for 210 is vj23, 180 is vj20. on dyno 180 will gives u around 168 minimal hp, 210 will gives u around 190 minimal (provided engine in good condition. y do u think the worksyop is cheating on u? which workshop (can pm if u dont want to tell it here).

-Y-

Oct 9, 2008
thanks for the reply bro. im kinda skeptical since my car is already been in the workshop for quite a long time. im sure he'll gives the right engine, but im afraid if any of his foreman took any of the unseen parts. since dyno can detect, i'll go with dyno. as for now, the engine looks same like 210 and the visible parts is also same. its ok bro, i'll check with the dyno 1st. many thanks for the info.

boi

Sep 4, 2008
both yes... the turbine for 210 is vj23, 180 is vj20. on dyno 180 will gives u around 168 minimal hp, 210 will gives u around 190 minimal (provided engine in good condition. y do u think the worksyop is cheating on u? which workshop (can pm if u dont want to tell it here).
ball bearing rite?...

drill

Damansara
err i dont think so... well at least its not for vj20... as i hv 1 in stock... and its not ball bearing.

evo5755

Jan 11, 2004
B8180 engine can be transformed to 210 engine "cosmetic" wise by just changing the turbo and turbo manifold. The internal components in the engine,intake manifold design,injectors,MAF are different from the 180's...You can always use google to find out the information that you need rather than posting a general questions like this..Try to google GTX vs GTR and you will find the answer :biggrin:

boi

Sep 4, 2008
If u r having VJ23, and it aint a bb, then you are not having a VJ23 :p It's bb, but its old technology bb....
oooo like that ar?...i didnt know coz im not playing mazda...i wondering coz many people sait its BB...
like u said old BB does it mean it is in between journal bearing and fully BB?...

drill

Damansara
B8180 engine can be transformed to 210 engine "cosmetic" wise by just changing the turbo and turbo manifold. The internal components in the engine,intake manifold design,injectors,MAF are different from the 180's...You can always use google to find out the information that you need rather than posting a general questions like this..Try to google GTX vs GTR and you will find the answer :biggrin:
yaa..agree... totally forgot bout those stuff.... even the ecu also diff. but physical wise i sincerely dunno.... as i never had a 210 in hand before... and my engine oso not a b8t... hehehe...

evo5755

Jan 11, 2004
oooo like that ar?...i didnt know coz im not playing mazda...i wondering coz many people sait its BB...
like u said old BB does it mean it is in between journal bearing and fully BB?...
U dont neccesarily need to play mazda to know about turbo type :) It's journal vs catridge bearing. Although it's an old turbo with old technology, it's still quite a good turbo but the turbo's response isnt that good compared to new age BB turbo. But due to the age of the turbo, it could be worn out and servicing an old IHI turbo like this, its better off to get a new turbo hehehe

---------- Post added at 11:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:36 AM ----------

yaa..agree... totally forgot bout those stuff.... even the ecu also diff. but physical wise i sincerely dunno.... as i never had a 210 in hand before... and my engine oso not a b8t... hehehe...
Well, i should stop posting as well because B8 was an old toy long time ago...but i still can remember the old days where we had B8 vs VR4 kinda battle hahaha