Bluebird U12 with GA16DE?

deja vu

Sep 2, 2005
Pg
Hi guys.

Just wondering. I find the U12 design quite nice but d only let down its the engine options of either a 1.8 (SR18Di or CA18?) or 2.0 (SR20DE) which has higher fc and road tax, s'more its more or less confirmed tat petrol will b up next yr).

Though tis sounds rather rediculous (i noe ppl would normally up-grade to higher cc or power engines), I was wondering if it is possible/wise to replace the 1.8 with a GA16DE from a halfcut Japan spec B14 (local B13 and B14 dun have d valve timing unit if not mistaken) since both have rather close outputs.

Below are the specifications for both SR18Di and GA16DE. (source: http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/nissan)

SR18Di
Displacement, cc: 1838
Engine model: SR18Di
Max.power (Net) kw(PS)/rpm: 110 ps (80.91 kw) / 6000 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm: 15.3 kg*m (150.04 N*m) / 4000 rpm
Power density: 9.55
Engine type: Water cooling serial 4 cylinder DOHC16 valve
Fuel system: NISSAN Ei (ECCS) electronic gasoline injection
Compression ratio: 9.5
Bore, mm: 82.5
Stroke, mm: 86
Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes, l/100km: 7.3
U12 chasis curb vehicle weight, kg: 1050

GA16DE
Displacement, cc: 1596
Engine model: GA16DE
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm: 120 ps (88.26 kw) / 6400 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm: 14.8 kg*m (145.14 N*m) / 4400 rpm
Power density: 8.83
Engine type: Water cooling serial 4 cylinder DOHC16 valve
Fuel system: NISSAN EGI (NISSAN ECCS)
Compression ratio: 9.9
Bore, mm: 76
Stroke, mm: 88
Fuel consumption at 10-15 modes, l/100km: 6.4
B14 chassis curb vehicle weight, kg: 1060

Hope all d sifus here can help. Thx

Raja_Mongkut

Apr 14, 2005
i think would be underpowered la.

u12 not light ok.. compared to b13

babywolfz

Dec 14, 2004
as raja mongkut says it seriously would be underpowered.. and thus causing a serious fuel comsuption cause when ur car is low in power we tend to step on it more.. making us use more fuel... my 2 kupang....

Raja_Mongkut

Apr 14, 2005
if u want fuel economy better swap in a CA18DS. this engine can be found stock on most u11 or u12 1.8L

brutus

Feb 7, 2005
you sure U12 1,050KG? i drive one with SR20DE converted. FC is in the region of 9.5 to 10.5L/100KM of mix mode driving and that is auto.
the original CA20 with auto also not too bad for town driving but for highway, the SR comes to life!

brutus

Feb 7, 2005
also do note the GA16 has a torque output much lower than the SR18. this would worsen the FC as compared with the 2 engines with everthing else being equal.

deja vu

Sep 2, 2005
Pg
I got another question.

Let say I get myself a U12. Would a CA18DS, CA18DE, CA18Di, SR18Di or SR18DE worth retaining/transplanting in terms of price, power n spare parts availability?

brutus

Feb 7, 2005
the only down side of U12 is the absorbers. other than than, it is easily to find the parts and running gear.

I installed fire king to my car...

Any 1 else installed this thing n came across any problems?

YouTube - Test 1 (Fire King)