blacktop problem

benjaminn78

Dec 31, 2005
Blacktop eat engine oil?...is that true? heard from friends with BT, they also facing this problem. my BT also ....change semi engine oil..10w40, after 3k , just left half tank engine oil...but no leaking oil..how to check if piston ring kong??...like no power, white smoke..........??

banzai

Nov 21, 2003
KL \ Ipoh
no it's not true. my blktop never have any significant loss after 5-6K of mileage. using 10w40 too. u need to check if your engine emits blue smoke.

hitz

Kepong, KL
Hahahaha... mine silvertop also same. But oil less whenever i high rev only. No blue or white smoke. Only black smoke when high revving. I also thinking where all the oil go.. ..

cynicks

Feb 29, 2004
Not true, my ex-car (BT) did not have this problem for 2 yrs before I part it from me. You should check on oil leaks , might be the leak only happens when you high rev. and its being burned out or blown off and dissipated while you are driving.

benjaminn78

Dec 31, 2005
check bottom car,,...totally no leaking...no white smoke...only some black smoke when suddenly full throttle(i think normal)....still figure out what is the problem.....

otismummum

Oct 28, 2005
huh!? strange . my friend also facing the same problem . BT. After 3K, engine oil will less. High rev got white smoke lo. But the car under power. No leaking already check every thing including put old newspaper unert the engine. No leak.

c70

based on my personal experince with engine oils, certain brands of semi synthetic oils will decrease after about 3k mileage.
I suggest you try with 100% synthetic and also different brands of 10/40W oil.
Just my 2 cents.

benjaminn78

Dec 31, 2005
only this choice...will change engine oil on tomorrow..and see waht is the result...but will change semi 10/40 oil....

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
so fast??
Eh... mind to tell me what brand of the oil u using? I got done a research, got certain brand is like that. after 3-4k it will be decrease liao (mean not full liao).

As i know the Penzoil oil, Castrol, Toyota Oil, Top 1 and many cheap oil are always like that. Previously my kancil also like that. after changed to Shell, Mobile 1, HKS, MIP, and Trust, the problem didn't found liao..

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
dreamy said:
hmm...not on my blacktop ......
currently using motul semi sin.....

wow... i heard many people told me that are good oil also...
Eh... what engine u for? how the performance? I willing to test it also..

benjaminn78

Dec 31, 2005
tomorrow i also change to motul 4100 turbolight 10/40...see what is the result...previously i using TRD semi 10/40...unbelieve it...suspect piston ring kong...

EG9

Subang Jaya
it can be pinton ring or valve seal, but normally piston ring stand higher chance.
SOlution:

1. Use thicker oil 20W-50W
2. Rebuilt engine

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Check for oil stain at all gasket/oil seal/O-ring.
It only leaking when the oils sum is working (when you run your engine).
It will stop leaking when you shut down the engine.

jaley

Apr 28, 2005
levin818 said:
Check for oil stain at all gasket/oil seal/O-ring.
It only leaking when the oils sum is working (when you run your engine).
It will stop leaking when you shut down the engine.

Yup, last time kena on my svt.... engine oil leak when the engine was running.
Replace the o-ring/oil seal at the place that hold the engine oil filter (dunno what it called). Got 2 pcs of them...ifter replaced then OK.

TRDae92

Mar 24, 2005
Malaysia....
www.cardomain.com
Just check the seal locate at the timing belt area u should get the ans soon. also check the flywheel side too......the seal behind the flywheel. if not white smoke, blue smoke or red smoke......mauahaah...still engine oil will less, better way just rebuild the engine~~~~

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
jaley said:
Yup, last time kena on my svt.... engine oil leak when the engine was running.
Replace the o-ring/oil seal at the place that hold the engine oil filter (dunno what it called). Got 2 pcs of them...ifter replaced then OK.
Me also had those O-rings replaced b4. After that were VVT solenoid's O-ring, distributor's O-ring, headcover's gasket (rubber). Now hardly see any oil stain at the engine. Hardly top up engine oil as well.

rollakid

Nov 9, 2004
Kuching Sarawak
how do i check whether it is the valve seal or piston ring that leaks? without opening up the engine?

bought EFN's engine last time, he say the valve seal might need replacing, but got ppl tell me its the piston ring also. i've been topping up oil once in a while. Average about 1 liter gone for every 1000km, sometime didn't even notice any reduction in oil level for weeks, sometime alot, especially if i drive it hard.

Amazingly, as you can see in the pictures after the jump, the Lada came out through the wall without any serious damages. We don’t know if the Russian driver was hurt, but if anything else, he must have lost a few years of his life the moment he saw that the crash was inevitable.

What if, Proton vs Concrete Wall...???